Best Bookshelf For A Small Room
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
A bookshelf for a small room has to fit the floor space first and the books second. This guide compares six bookshelves using only what their listings state: outside size, number of shelves, weight capacity, material and how each one is set up.
Where a listing leaves something out, this guide says not stated so you know to check the product page before you buy.
Quick answer
If floor space is your main limit, look at the TUTOTAK (14.5 in wide, 65.3 in tall, 6 shelves), the Furinno LUDER (15.8 in wide, 52 in tall, 5 shelves) and the MAHANCRIS corner unit (11.8 in by 11.8 in at the base). If you want the highest stated load, the TVU lists 240 pounds. The SpaceAid is a low 27.6 in toddler bookcase, so it suits a kids corner rather than a tall book wall. No listing says whether its weight limit applies per shelf or to the whole unit.
Comparison table
| Bookshelf | Outside size (D x W x H) | Shelves | Stated weight capacity | Material |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Furinno LUDER | 9.4 x 15.8 x 52 in | 5 | 150 lb maximum | Not stated |
| VASAGLE | 11.8 x 26 x 60.2 in | 5 | 110 lb maximum | Not stated |
| SpaceAid (toddler) | 10.7 x 29.6 x 27.6 in | 3 | Not stated (minimum 3 lb listed) | Wood |
| TVU | 11.8 x 31.5 x 65.2 in | 5 | 240 lb maximum | Not stated |
| MAHANCRIS (rotating corner) | 11.8 x 11.8 x 62.5 in | 5 | 44 lb maximum | Not stated |
| TUTOTAK | 10.7 x 14.5 x 65.3 in | 6 | Not stated | Engineered Wood |
Bookshelf reviews
All six are bookshelves, but they differ a lot in size and purpose. Sizes below are outside measurements of the assembled shelf, not the space between shelves.
Furinno LUDER 5-Tier Bookshelf
What it is: A 5-tier open bookcase. The listing title mentions open shelves, easy assembly, use in a living room, bedroom or home office, and a Blackwood finish. Stated outside size is 9.4 in D x 15.8 in W x 52 in H.
Who it suits: A reader with a narrow wall section or a spot beside a door who wants a shallow bookcase with 5 shelves.
Pros
- Only 9.4 in deep, the shallowest of the six.
- At 52 in tall it is the shortest of the five upright units.
- Lists a maximum weight capacity of 150 pounds.
Cons
- The listing does not say whether the 150 pounds applies per shelf or to the whole unit.
- A minimum weight of 30 pounds is also listed with no explanation.
- Material and mounting type are not stated.
Skip it if: Your space is narrower than 15.8 in or lower than 52 in, or you need to know the material before buying.
View the Furinno LUDER on Amazon (affiliate link)
VASAGLE 5-Tier Bookshelf
What it is: A 5-tier bookcase described in its title as a storage shelf for the living room. Stated outside size is 11.8 in D x 26 in W x 60.2 in H.
Who it suits: Someone who wants a wider bookcase for a living room wall and has about 60 in of height to give it.
Pros
- At 26 in wide it gives wider shelves than the Furinno LUDER or TUTOTAK.
- Lists a maximum weight capacity of 110 pounds.
- 5 shelves.
Cons
- The 110 pounds is not labeled per shelf or whole unit.
- Material and mounting type are not stated.
Skip it if: Your wall space is narrower than 26 in or lower than 60.2 in, or you plan to store more than the stated 110 pounds.
View the VASAGLE bookshelf on Amazon (affiliate link)
SpaceAid 3-Tier Scalloped Bookshelf (Montessori, for Toddlers)
What it is: A wooden 3-tier scalloped bookcase. The title describes it as a Montessori bookcase for toddlers, aimed at kids rooms, playrooms, nurseries and classrooms. Stated outside size is 10.7 in D x 29.6 in W x 27.6 in H, and the Material field says Wood.
Who it suits: A parent or teacher who wants a low book display in a children’s corner.
Pros
- Only 27.6 in tall, the lowest of the six.
- Material is named as wood.
- Wide at 29.6 in for a 3-shelf unit.
Cons
- No maximum weight is stated; the listing shows only a minimum weight of 3 pounds.
- Only 3 shelves.
- It is a toddler bookcase, so it is not built around an adult book collection.
Skip it if: You need a tall bookcase for adult books or a stated load limit.
View the SpaceAid bookcase on Amazon (affiliate link)
TVU 5-Tier Wooden Bookshelf (65.2 in Tall, Farmhouse Style)
What it is: A 5-tier open bookcase in a farmhouse style and Walnut Brown, listed for a study room or living room. Stated outside size is 11.8 in D x 31.5 in W x 65.2 in H.
Who it suits: A shopper with a wide, tall wall section who wants the highest stated weight capacity of the group.
Pros
- Lists a maximum weight capacity of 240 pounds, the highest of the six.
- At 31.5 in wide it is the widest upright unit.
- 5 shelves.
Cons
- The 240 pounds is not labeled per shelf or whole unit.
- The title says wooden, but the Material field is not stated.
- Takes the most wall width and is nearly the tallest.
Skip it if: Your wall is narrower than 31.5 in or lower than 65.2 in.
View the TVU bookshelf on Amazon (affiliate link)
MAHANCRIS 5-Tier Rotating Corner Bookshelf
What it is: A freestanding 5-tier bookshelf that spins 360 degrees, with an industrial style frame and rails. Listed for a living room or bedroom. Stated outside size is 11.8 in D x 11.8 in W x 62.5 in H.
Who it suits: A reader with a small corner who would rather turn the shelf than walk around it.
Pros
- The smallest footprint of the six at 11.8 in by 11.8 in.
- The 360 degree spin lets you reach every side from one spot.
- 5 shelves.
Cons
- Lowest stated maximum weight capacity at 44 pounds, with no note on per shelf or whole unit.
- Material and mounting type are not stated.
Skip it if: You plan to load it with many heavy books, since the stated limit is only 44 pounds.
View the MAHANCRIS bookshelf on Amazon (affiliate link)
TUTOTAK 6-Tier Tall Narrow Bookshelf
What it is: A 6-tier bookshelf sold for small spaces. Stated outside size is 10.7 in D x 14.5 in W x 65.3 in H. The listing names Engineered Wood as the material and Assemble as the mounting type.
Who it suits: Anyone who needs the most shelves from the least floor width, such as a gap beside a door or desk.
Pros
- At 14.5 in wide it is the narrowest upright unit.
- 6 shelves, the most of the group.
- Material is named as engineered wood.
Cons
- No weight capacity is stated.
- At 65.3 in it is the tallest of the six.
Skip it if: You need a stated load limit before buying, or your space is lower than 65.3 in.
View the TUTOTAK bookshelf on Amazon (affiliate link)
Buying checklist
- Measure the width, depth and height of the space, and allow for door swing, baseboards and trim.
- Compare outside size only with outside size; the space between shelves is not stated for any of these.
- Check the weight limit and whether it is per shelf or for the whole unit; none of these listings says.
- Confirm the material if it matters to you; four of the six do not state one.
- For any unit 52 in or taller, plan to anchor it to the wall and follow the maker’s instructions.
- Check what hardware is included before you choose a wall type or anchor.
FAQ
Which of these bookshelves takes up the least floor space?
The MAHANCRIS corner bookshelf has the smallest base at 11.8 in by 11.8 in. Among the standard shapes, the Furinno LUDER is the shallowest at 9.4 in D x 15.8 in W, and the TUTOTAK is the narrowest at 10.7 in D x 14.5 in W.
Which one has the highest stated weight limit?
The TVU lists 240 pounds, then the Furinno LUDER at 150, the VASAGLE at 110 and the MAHANCRIS at 44. The SpaceAid and TUTOTAK listings do not state a maximum. None of the listings says whether its limit applies per shelf or to the whole unit.
Should I anchor a tall bookshelf to the wall?
Yes. The CPSC advises securing top-heavy furniture and installing any supplied anti-tip devices. Five of these six units are 52 in tall or more, so follow the maker’s instructions and check what hardware comes with the one you choose.
Is the SpaceAid a good choice for an adult room?
It is listed as a 3-tier Montessori bookcase for toddlers and kids rooms, and it stands 27.6 in tall. It suits a children’s book corner better than a wall of adult books.
What does not stated mean in this guide?
It means the listing details we have do not give that figure. Check the product page before you buy, especially for weight capacity, material and mounting.
Closing note
Pick the bookshelf whose stated size fits the space you measured, then look at weight capacity and material. Treat every not stated entry as a question to settle on the product page, and anchor tall units following the maker’s instructions.
Safety reference: CPSC Anchor It guidance on securing top-heavy furniture.