Best Cabinet Shelves for Spices: Size and Layout
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
A cabinet spice shelf has to fit an opening that no listing can see, so size and layout decide the purchase more than styling does. This guide compares four spice shelves from kitchen listings. Every figure below is quoted from the seller’s listing, and where two fields in one listing disagree, both values are given.
All four listings were checked on 18 October 2026. Two are designed to sit inside a cabinet and two are described for either a cabinet or a countertop, so read the mounting field before you measure.
Quick answer
Measure the opening first. The Copco organizer is the one to test against a tight cabinet, because its listing gives two different widths. The Spicy Shelf Deluxe is the adjustable option, with a width range of 7.5 to 17 inches and a stated 40-pound limit. The X-cosrack shelf adjusts in length from 15.5 to 25.5 inches and lists a 100-pound maximum, but it is designed as a counter-or-cabinet shelf rather than a fixed in-cabinet rack.
The four listings at a glance
| Shelf | Layout | Size figures (as written) | Load figure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spicy Shelf Deluxe, set of 2 | 2 tiers, in-cabinet, adjustable width | Width adjusts 7.5 to 17 inches; depth 10 3/8 inches (bullet); fields list 10.5 deep, 32.76 wide, 17 high | 40 pounds, basis not stated |
| Copco 3-tier organizer | 3 tiers, in-cabinet or countertop, no assembly | Fields: 15.16 deep, 9.06 wide, 3.54 high; bullet: 15 wide, 9 deep, 3 high | Not stated |
| Simple Trending bamboo shelves, set of 2 | 2 tiers, tabletop, stackable | 7.7 deep, 11.7 wide, 6.2 high inches | 33 pounds per shelf per bullet |
| X-cosrack expandable shelf, 2-pack | 2 tiers, cabinet or counter, expandable | 12 deep, 25.5 wide, 8.72 high inches; length adjusts from 15.5 to 25.5 inches | Up to 100 pounds per bullet; a field labeled minimum reads 80 pounds |
How we chose these four
We kept listings that name spices or a spice-style use and that describe a shelf for a cabinet or countertop. FOTOSOK’s 6-tier bamboo unit was set aside because its listing describes a floor-mounted shelf, not a cabinet shelf. Cidaziya’s metal shelves were left out because their listed uses are pots, pans and small appliances rather than spices. The Spicy Shelf and Copco listings were added from the extra product set, and the other two come from the research set.
1. Spicy Shelf Deluxe expandable spice rack, set of 2
The Spicy Shelf Deluxe listing gives a width range, from 7.5 inches to 17 inches, that is meant for fitting inside a cabinet. The bullets describe a grey rubber surface meant to stop bottles from sliding, and they say the set can organize up to 64 spices. The listing also states that the shelf is not only for spices and can hold pill bottles and other small containers.
Two figures need checking. The stated shelf weight capacity is 40 pounds, and one bullet repeats the 40-pound figure without saying whether it applies to each shelf or to the set. The item fields list a width of 32.76 inches, which does not match the adjustable range in the bullet, and the listing does not explain the difference. The item weight is 3.3 pounds.
Listing: Spicy Shelf Deluxe on Amazon.
2. Copco 3-tier spice rack organizer for cabinets
The Copco organizer is a three-tier plastic step shelf that the listing describes as needing no assembly. Its mounting field names both in-cabinet and countertop use. The bullets state that each tier has a non-skid lining and that each shelf is about 2.75 inches deep. The item weight is 14.24 ounces.
The size figures are the most inconsistent in this group. The item fields give 15.16 inches as depth and 9.06 inches as width. The bullet gives 15 inches as width and 9 inches as depth, with a 3-inch height. The width differs by about 6 inches between the two readings, and the height differs too, at 3.54 inches in the fields and 3 inches in the bullet, so measure the cabinet before you trust either number. The listing gives no load figure.
Listing: Copco 3-tier spice organizer on Amazon.
3. Simple Trending bamboo cabinet organizer shelf, set of 2
The Simple Trending listing describes two bamboo and metal shelves that can be stacked, nested, used separately or set into an L-shape. Its item fields give 7.7 inches deep, 11.7 inches wide and 6.2 inches high, and the mounting field says tabletop. The bullets say the two shelves are different sizes, with one slightly smaller than the other, which makes them useful for a counter as much as a cabinet.
The bullet gives a capacity of up to 33 pounds per shelf, and the shelf weight capacity field agrees at 33 pounds. The listing’s item count field says 1, which conflicts with the set of 2 in the title, so confirm the number of shelves in the box. The model number is ST58665.
Listing: Simple Trending bamboo shelves on Amazon.
4. X-cosrack expandable kitchen storage shelf, 2-pack
The X-cosrack shelf is the only iron shelf in this group, with a painted white finish. Its length adjusts from 15.5 inches to 25.5 inches, and the listing gives three height options of 4.5, 5.7 and 7.3 inches. The bullet says the shelf supports up to 100 pounds, the highest maximum in this group. The title says 12 inches wide, while the item fields give 12 inches as depth and 25.5 inches as width.
The weight fields are less clear. One field is labeled minimum weight and reads 80 pounds, which is an unusual term for a capacity. The item count also conflicts, with a field of 2 items and a unit count of 1. The listing names cabinet, counter, pantry and garage use, and it names spice bottles among the items it holds.
Listing: X-cosrack expandable shelf on Amazon.
Worked example: fitting the Copco organizer in a 16-inch cabinet
Suppose the cabinet opening is 16 inches wide and you want the Copco organizer to sit inside it with room for a hand. Using the bullet’s 15-inch width, the organizer leaves 1 inch on the cabinet floor, which is not enough to slide the tray in and out. Using the field’s 9.06-inch width, the organizer leaves about 6.9 inches, which is comfortable. The listing does not say which figure is the true width, so measure the product in a store or on the product page before you buy.
A second check uses the Spicy Shelf’s adjustable range. The shelf can be set between 7.5 and 17 inches wide, so a 16-inch opening falls inside its range. The shelf’s stated 40-pound figure can then be compared with the weight of a full tier of bottles, once the basis of that figure is confirmed.
Layout choices that change the fit
Set the depth of each tier against the bottles you own. The Copco listing gives about 2.75 inches of depth per shelf, which suits short jars. The Simple Trending shelves are described as shelves of different sizes, which lets one stand sit above another. The X-cosrack shelf gives three height options, 4.5, 5.7 and 7.3 inches, so the gap between tiers can be set to suit your tallest bottle. Choose the layout that matches the tallest container you will store, not the average one.
What the listings do not say
None of the four listings gives a load figure that is clearly per shelf for every product, and the Copco listing gives no load figure at all. The size figures conflict with the title or bullets in three of the four listings, and the item counts conflict in two. Confirm the dimensions and load basis on the live product page, and measure the cabinet opening before ordering.
Related buying guides
For a tall, narrow spice unit that uses the height of a cabinet, see Best Tall Spice Cabinet. A smaller footprint is covered in Best Small Spice Cabinet, and a pantry-focused layout is in Best Spice Organizer for Pantry. Drawer-based storage is in Best Spice Drawer Cabinet.
Frequently asked questions
Which shelf is the best fit for a narrow cabinet?
The Spicy Shelf Deluxe is the most flexible, because its width adjusts from 7.5 to 17 inches. The Copco organizer can fit a narrow cabinet too, but its two width figures disagree, so measure the actual product before choosing it.
Do the listings give a weight limit for each shelf?
Only the Simple Trending listing ties its figure to each shelf, at 33 pounds. The Spicy Shelf figure of 40 pounds does not say whether it applies to each shelf or to the set. The Copco listing gives no load figure, and the X-cosrack listing gives a maximum of 100 pounds without a clear per-shelf statement.
Can these shelves go on a countertop as well as in a cabinet?
The Copco and X-cosrack listings name countertop use, and the Simple Trending listing is set for a tabletop. The Spicy Shelf listing names an in-cabinet mount. Check the mounting field before ordering, and do not assume that a cabinet product will sit securely on a counter.
Why do some listings have two different sizes?
The item fields and the bullets are written separately, and in the Copco and Spicy Shelf listings the numbers do not agree. The listings do not explain the difference, so measure the product or the cabinet rather than relying on one field.
How many tiers should I buy for a typical spice set?
The number of tiers depends on the height of the containers you own and how many you plan to store. Two tiers suit a shallow cabinet, and three tiers suit a taller one. The listings describe three tiers for Copco and two tiers for the others, so pick the count that fits the tallest bottle in your collection.
Bottom line
For a cabinet that is narrower than average, measure twice and buy the adjustable shelf or the layout whose width is confirmed on the product page. The Copco and Spicy Shelf listings need the most checking, because their size figures disagree. The X-cosrack shelf gives the highest stated maximum, but its layout is more general. Whatever you buy, confirm the width and the load basis before you fill the shelf.
Amazon links
Spicy Shelf Deluxe on Amazon · Copco 3-tier organizer on Amazon · Simple Trending shelves on Amazon · X-cosrack shelf on Amazon