Best Over-the-Door Spice Racks
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
An over-the-door spice rack hangs on the back of a pantry or cabinet door by hooks, so the jars sit in tiers where the door was wasted space. The person searching for one wants a rack that clears their door, their pantry depth and their jars. This page compares eight over-the-door racks from their Amazon listings, using only the numbers each listing states, and flags where the numbers disagree. Magnetic and under-cabinet racks are not included. Check the current price on Amazon; this page does not list prices.
Quick answer
The right rack depends on the clearance behind your door. If your pantry has about 5.2 inches of space, the Delamu 6-tier rack asks for the least of the racks that state a clearance figure: more than 5.2 inches. For a narrow door, the Delamu 8-tier rack is 12.09 inches wide and states 10 lb per basket. For the most jars, the JKsmart rack states room for 90 four-ounce jars across six shelves. The SONGMICS rack states the most load, 66 lb total, but needs the most clearance. Read the clearance line in the table before you choose.
Specs checked on 2026-10-17 from the Amazon listing of each product.
How we chose
Each rack here hangs over a door with hooks and is sold as a spice rack, a pantry door organizer, or both. We left out magnetic racks and racks that only mount on a wall. We compare the width, depth and height from the listing, the clearance the listing asks for behind the door, and the load only where the listing states one. The listings do not say how a rack was tested or what door type it suits, so this page makes no claim about either.
Comparison at a glance
| Rack | W x D x H (listing) | Tiers | Material | Clearance or door size the listing asks for | Load (listing) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Delamu 6-tier | 18 x 5 x 50 in | 6 | Metal, powder coated | Pantry depth over 5.2 in; gap over 0.06 in; door under 1.6 in thick | 10 lb per tier, 60 lb total |
| Delamu 8-tier, 12 in | 12.09 x 4.92 x 74.27 in (bullet); 12.3 x 5 x 74.27 in (table) | 8 | Metal, mesh baskets | Pantry depth over 5.6 in; gap over 0.06 in; two hook sets, 1.45 and 1.85 in | 10 lb per basket |
| Moforoco 9-tier | 16.5 x 5.2 x 74.8 in | 9 | Metal (material field is unclear) | Door wide enough for a 16.5 in shelf | Spec field: 5 lb, not clear if per shelf |
| Eastherry 9-tier | 16 x 6 x 74.8 in (table); frame 75.6 in (bullet) | 9 | Metal | Door wider than 15.7 in excluding the handle; pantry space over 5.6 in | Not stated |
| JKsmart 6-tier | 16.8 x 4.7 x 37.5 in | 6 shelves | Carbon steel wire, powder coated | No clearance stated | Not stated; jar counts only |
| Evelots 6-tier, white | 37.25 x 16.25 x 2.75 in (bullet); 38 x 16.6 x 3.88 in (table, order differs) | 6 | Metal, powder coated | None stated | Not stated; holds 54 spices |
| ClosetMaid 97535 | 18 x 6.6 x 77.5 in | 8 baskets | Epoxy-coated steel | None stated; each basket is 4.5 in deep | Not stated |
| SONGMICS 6-tier, clear | 17.4 x 8.7 x 53 in | 6 | Alloy steel, PET baskets | Over 6.4 in clearance; over 0.08 in gap; door over 20 in wide; trim under 0.5 in | 11 lb per basket, 66 lb total |
The racks
1. Delamu 6-Tier Over the Door Pantry Organizer, 18 inch wide
Specs (listing, checked 2026-10-17): 18 in wide, 5 in deep, 50 in tall; six baskets 16.22 x 4.65 x 2.95 in; the listing states 10 lb per tier and 60 lb in total; powder-coated metal; removable baskets; EVA adhesive pads against swaying; door hooks sized for doors under 1.6 in thick; screws and a manual included.
Conflict to know about: The text says to hang it on the door with the included screws and also calls it a no-drill hook rack. It also lists door and wall mounting. Read the manual before you drill.
Best for: A shallow pantry that leaves about 5.2 inches of depth. Skip if: Your door is 1.6 inches thick or more.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. Delamu 8-Tier Over the Door Pantry Organizer, 12 inch narrow
Specs (listing, checked 2026-10-17): 12.09 x 4.92 x 74.27 in per the bullet and 12.3 x 5 x 74.27 in per the table; eight baskets (2 large, 3 medium, 3 small, from 12.09 x 4.92 x 3.54 in down to 10.43 x 3.66 x 2.76 in); 10 lb per basket; mesh baskets; two sets of hooks, 1.45 in and 1.85 in; four adhesive stickers; the listing says it can be hung or wall mounted, with no tools or drilling.
Best for: A narrow door and a door thicker than 1.6 inches, because it has two hook sizes. Skip if: Your pantry has under 5.6 inches of depth, since that is the clearance the listing asks for.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. JKsmart 6-Tier Spice Rack Organizer with Door Hook, two sizes
Specs (listing, checked 2026-10-17): 16.8 in wide, 4.7 in deep, 37.5 in tall; six wire racks, three small (16.3 x 2.6 x 5.7 in) and three large (16.8 x 4.7 x 6.7 in); carbon steel with a black powder coat. The listing says six shelves hold 90 four-ounce, 81 six-ounce or 72 eight-ounce jars, and that it fixes to a door or wall with the supplied screws.
Conflict to know about: The listing does not state a weight limit, only jar counts. Treat the load as unknown.
Best for: Many small jars on a door or wall; the two rack sizes can be combined. Skip if: You want a no-screw hang and a stated load.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. Evelots Over the Door Spice Rack Organizer, 6-Tier, Holds 54 Spices
Specs (listing, checked 2026-10-17): About 37.25 x 16.25 x 2.75 in hanging per the bullet; the table reads 16.6 in deep, 38 in wide and 3.88 in high, which is the same shape in a different order; six adjustable metal baskets; powder-coated; adjustable over-the-door hooks; the listing says it holds 54 spices and installs without tools; white.
Best for: A short rack for spice jars alone, with a stated count of 54 spices. Skip if: You want cans or heavy bottles; the listing states no load and describes spices and small bathroom items.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. Moforoco 9-Tier Over the Door Pantry Organizer, black
Specs (listing, checked 2026-10-17): 16.5 in wide, 5.2 in deep, 74.8 in tall; nine shelves (3 large at 15.3 x 4.9 x 4.1 in, 3 medium, 3 small); metal; hardware and screws included; a 2-year warranty. The listing says that if the door will not close, you can remove the foam under the hook.
Conflict to know about: The listing says no tools or drilling are required, yet it includes screws. The weight capacity field reads 5 lb with no note on whether that is per shelf or total, and the material field holds a door-width note instead of a material. Treat the load as unclear.
Best for: A full-height door with many tiers for jars. Skip if: Your door is under 16.5 inches wide.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. Eastherry 9-Tier Over the Door Pantry Organizer, black
Specs (listing, checked 2026-10-17): 16 in wide, 6 in deep, 74.8 in tall in the table, and a 75.6 in frame in the bullet; nine tiers with adjustable baskets; metal with a weighted support rod; a screwdriver and eight sticky trays included. The listing says the door must be wider than 15.7 in excluding the handle, with pantry space over 5.6 in.
Best for: A wide, tall door where you want to move baskets up and down. Skip if: You need a stated load; the listing gives none.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
7. ClosetMaid 97535 Wall or Door Adjustable 8-Basket Organizer
Specs (listing, checked 2026-10-17): 18 in wide, 6.6 in deep, 77.5 in tall; eight baskets, each 4.5 in deep; epoxy-coated steel; adjustable tiers; mounts over the door or on the wall; baskets, door hooks, hardware and standards included; a 30-day replacement warranty for defective parts.
Conflict to know about: The table gives an item weight of 1 lb for an eight-basket steel unit, which looks wrong. The listing states no load.
Best for: A tall pantry or utility door where you may later move it to a wall. Skip if: You need a stated load or a clearance figure; the listing gives neither.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
8. SONGMICS Over the Door Cabinet Organizer, 6-Tier Clear PET Baskets
Specs (listing, checked 2026-10-17): 17.4 in wide, 8.7 in deep, 53 in tall; six clear PET baskets that move to different heights; 11 lb per basket and 66 lb in total; tool-free spring-button assembly; top hooks and reusable bottom stickers. The listing asks for over 6.4 in clearance, over 0.08 in gap, a door over 20 in wide and trim under 0.5 in.
Conflict to know about: The item type field calls this a pull-out spice rack for inside cabinets, but the title and bullets describe an over-the-door organizer. We followed the title.
Best for: A wide door, clear baskets you can see through, and the highest stated load. Skip if: Your clearance is under 6.4 inches or your door trim is 0.5 inch or more.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
How to check that a rack will clear your door
Three numbers decide it: the door thickness, the clearance between the door and what is behind it, and the door width. Measure with the door closed. Hooks that are too small will not seat over a thick door, and a rack that is too deep will stop the door from closing.
Worked example: a pantry door is 1.75 inches thick, 24 inches wide, and has 5.5 inches of clearance behind it. By the listings, the Delamu 6-tier rack fits the clearance (over 5.2 in) but its hooks are for doors under 1.6 in. The Delamu 8-tier rack has a 1.85 in hook set but wants over 5.6 in, so it is 0.1 in short. The Eastherry rack wants 5.6 in as well. The SONGMICS rack wants over 6.4 in. In this case none of the four racks that state a clearance clears on every number, so you would look at the racks that state no clearance and measure them yourself.
Jar counts help too. The Evelots listing says six shelves hold 54 spices, about 9 per shelf. The JKsmart listing says 90 four-ounce jars on six shelves, about 15 per shelf. If you own 40 jars, both counts cover it, but the Evelots one has less margin.
About the door: none of the listings states a door type or a limit for the door itself. Check the door’s thickness and condition, and do not hang more than a figure the listing states.
Mistakes to avoid
- Measuring the door width but not the depth behind it. The rack must clear the shelves or wall behind the door.
- Reading a per-basket load as a total. The Delamu 6-tier and SONGMICS listings state both; Moforoco’s 5 lb is unclear.
- Buying for jar capacity when the baskets are 2.76 to 4.65 inches deep, which suits small jars better than tall bottles.
- Assuming a no-tools rack is also no-screws. Several listings include screws as well.
Who should skip an over-the-door rack
If the door has no clearance behind it, a rack on the door will block it. A wall-mounted or drawer organizer is a better choice; see the related guides below.
Related guides on this site
- spice organizer for pantry
- kitchen organizer for spices
- spice shelves for the kitchen
- condiments storage rack
Frequently asked questions
How much clearance does an over-the-door spice rack need?
It depends on the rack. The Delamu 6-tier listing asks for more than 5.2 inches, the Delamu 8-tier and Eastherry listings ask for more than 5.6 inches, and the SONGMICS listing asks for more than 6.4 inches. Several listings state no figure.
How much weight can an over-the-door spice rack hold?
Only some listings state it. Delamu states 10 lb per basket, SONGMICS states 11 lb per basket and 66 lb in total, and Moforoco’s field reads 5 lb without saying if that is per shelf. The others give no figure.
Will it fit a thick door?
Check the hook size. The Delamu 6-tier listing says its hooks are for doors under 1.6 inches thick, the Delamu 8-tier listing includes 1.45 and 1.85 inch hook sets, and the SONGMICS listing asks for trim under 0.5 inch.
Do I need to drill?
Several listings call the rack tool-free, but some also include screws for wall or door mounting. Read the listing and manual for the version you buy.
Can it hold things other than spices?
The listings mention cans, jars, toiletries and cleaning supplies, but the baskets are only 2.76 to 4.65 inches deep, so large items may not fit.
Conclusion
Measure the door thickness, the clearance behind the door and the door width, then match them to the numbers in the table. Pick the Delamu 6-tier for shallow clearance, the Delamu 8-tier for a narrow door, the JKsmart or Evelots for many jars, and the SONGMICS for the highest stated load. Treat any load the listing does not state as unknown.