Six spice storage systems are compared in a bright modern kitchen.

Best Spice Storage: Sizes, Access and Layout

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Start with the spot where the spices will live. A drawer insert, a countertop rack and a cabinet shelf each suit a different height and reach, and each depends on measurements. Count the jars you own, note their heights, and measure the cabinet opening or drawer depth first.

A note on this list: three of the six products are purpose-built spice racks, the Fousdou wall-mount racks, the Copco three-tier rack and the SpiceNest pull-out racks. The other three, the Rubbermaid containers, the Vtopmart drawers and the caktraie baskets, are general storage that could hold or corral jars if the size works. If you want more rack options, see the pull-down under-cabinet spice rack and kitchen cabinet door spice rack guides.

Quick answer

If you want a rack, start with the Copco 3-tier rack (15.16 x 9.06 x 3.54 inches, for cabinet or countertop), the SpiceNest pull-out racks for narrow cabinets (4.5 inches wide each) or the Fousdou 4 pack of clear acrylic wall racks. If you want to decant spices into clear airtight containers, the Rubbermaid Brilliance 10 piece set (clear, BPA free plastic) is the one to check for container sizes. For a narrow shelf, the Vtopmart 4 pack of small clear stackable drawers is the closer fit. The caktraie 5 pack of white closet baskets is a simple way to corral jars on a deep shelf.

Comparison table

Product What it is Size stated Material Fit for spices
Rubbermaid Brilliance set 10 piece airtight pantry containers Not stated Clear plastic, BPA free Possible, check container sizes
Vtopmart 4 pack Small clear stackable drawers Not stated Plastic Possible, check drawer sizes
caktraie 5 pack Stackable closet baskets 16.6 x 13.1 x 7.32 in Not named Possible for corralling jars
Fousdou 4 pack Clear wall-mount spice racks 9.52 x 3.18 x 2 in each Acrylic Yes, made as a spice rack
Copco 3-tier rack Step spice rack for cabinet or counter 15.16 x 9.06 x 3.54 in Plastic Yes, made as a spice rack
SpiceNest 3 pack Pull-out 2-tier cabinet racks 4.5 x 10.5 x 8 in each Plastic baskets, metal frame Yes, made as a spice rack

Product reviews

Rubbermaid Brilliance 10 piece pantry set

The listing title is Rubbermaid Brilliance Pantry 10 Piece Set, Clear and Airtight Food and Pantry Storage Containers. It is listed as clear plastic with the material feature BPA free. Item weight is 5.7 pounds. Container sizes are not stated in the details here, and the listing does not mention spices.

Who it suits: Someone who wants to decant dry goods into clear airtight containers and will check the container sizes against their spice jars and shelf.

Pros

  • Clear, airtight containers per the title
  • BPA free plastic is stated
  • Ten pieces in the set

Cons

  • Individual container sizes are not stated here
  • Not described as a spice product

Skip if: You need a rack or drawer insert that holds jars in place, or you need stated container dimensions.

View the Rubbermaid Brilliance set on Amazon (affiliate link)

Vtopmart 4 pack small clear stackable drawers

The listing title is Vtopmart 4 Pack Small Clear Stackable Storage Drawers, Fits Narrow Spaces. It is clear plastic with a plastic frame. Item weight is 5.1 pounds. Drawer dimensions are not stated in the details here.

Who it suits: Someone who wants small stackable drawers for a narrow shelf or cabinet corner and will confirm they fit their jar heights.

Pros

  • Stackable drawers sized for narrow spaces per the title
  • Clear plastic lets you see what is inside
  • Four drawers in the pack

Cons

  • Dimensions are not stated here
  • Not described as a spice product

Skip if: You need stated drawer sizes or a tiered rack.

View the Vtopmart drawer set on Amazon (affiliate link)

caktraie 5 pack stackable closet baskets

The listing title is caktraie 5 Pack Stackable Closet Storage Basket, Stackable Storage Bins. It is white and listed at 16.6 x 13.1 x 7.32 inches. Item weight is 350 g. The material field reads #1 Top-Rated, which does not name a material.

Who it suits: Someone with a deep, wide shelf who wants stackable baskets to corral jars.

Pros

  • Size is stated: 16.6 x 13.1 x 7.32 inches
  • Stackable five-pack
  • Light at 350 g

Cons

  • The material is not named
  • Built as a closet basket, so 7.32 inch height may leave unused space above short jars

Skip if: You want a drawer insert or a tiered layout that shows every label.

View the caktraie basket set on Amazon (affiliate link)

Fousdou 4 pack acrylic wall-mount spice racks

The listing title is Spice Organizer for Cabinet, Spice Rack Storage Wall Mount, 4 Pack. The racks are transparent acrylic, described as 3 mm reinforced, and each is listed at 9.52 x 3.18 x 2 inches. They are meant for the inside of cabinet doors, pantries or walls, and mount with an adhesive strip that needs 24 hours to bond before the rack is loaded; no drilling is needed. The listing says they can be disassembled and washed with water, and the corners are rounded. No weight limit is stated.

Who it suits: Someone who wants to use the inside of a cabinet door or a bare wall section for spice bottles, sauces or oils.

Pros

  • Four racks in the pack
  • No-drill adhesive mounting
  • Clear acrylic, washable

Cons

  • No weight limit stated
  • Each rack is small, at 9.52 inches long

Skip if: You need a stated load limit or want a rack that stands on a shelf.

View the Fousdou spice racks on Amazon (affiliate link)

Copco 3-tier spice rack organizer, 15 inch

The listing title is Copco 3-Tier Spice Rack Organizer for Cabinet, 15 Inch Non-Skid Pantry Organizer. It is a white and gray plastic step rack with three shelves, listed at 15.16 inches deep, 9.06 inches wide and 3.54 inches high, and 14.24 ounces. The description says 15 wide by 9 deep, so confirm the orientation before measuring a cabinet. Each tier has a non-slip surface, it needs no assembly, and it can sit in a cabinet or on a countertop. No weight limit is stated.

Who it suits: Someone with a cabinet or pantry shelf who wants stepped tiers so every label shows.

Pros

  • Three stepped tiers
  • Non-skid surface on each tier
  • No assembly required

Cons

  • No weight limit stated
  • Fixed size, with no width adjustment stated

Skip if: You need a rack that adjusts in width or a stated load limit.

View the Copco spice rack on Amazon (affiliate link)

SpiceNest 3 pack pull-out 2-tier spice racks

The listing title is Pull Out Spice Rack, 3 Pack 2-Tier Cabinet Organizer, Black. Each unit measures 4.5 inches wide, 10.5 inches deep and 8 inches high, and needs at least 12 inches of height, 11 inches of depth and 5 inches of width of clear cabinet interior. Each tier is stated to hold up to 10 small spice jars, which is up to 20 per unit and 60 across the pack. The rails are ball-bearing metal, the baskets are BPA-free ABS, and each rack mounts with four screws or a nano-adhesive option. No weight limit is stated.

Who it suits: Someone with a narrow cabinet where jars at the back are hard to reach.

Pros

  • Full-extension slides
  • Three units in the pack
  • Screw or no-drill mounting options

Cons

  • Not suitable where a cabinet face frame blocks the slide-out path
  • No weight limit stated

Skip if: Your cabinet has less than 12 x 11 x 5 inches of clear interior space.

View the SpiceNest pull-out racks on Amazon (affiliate link)

Buying checklist

  • Measure the shelf, drawer or cabinet opening and your tallest jar.
  • Choose a layout that lets you see every label.
  • Confirm product dimensions on the page when they are not stated.
  • For a pull-out rack, measure the clear cabinet interior, including hinges and any face frame.
  • Check the material and any care wording on the listing.
  • If you want more rack options, look at a spice rack guide as well.

FAQ

Is any product here a dedicated spice rack?

Yes, three are. The Fousdou wall-mount racks, the Copco three-tier rack and the SpiceNest pull-out racks are sold as spice racks. The Rubbermaid, Vtopmart and caktraie listings do not mention spices, so use them with some care.

Which products suit narrow spaces?

The SpiceNest units are 4.5 inches wide each but need 12 x 11 x 5 inches of clear cabinet interior. The Fousdou racks are 9.52 x 3.18 x 2 inches each and mount on a door or wall. The Vtopmart drawers are described as fitting narrow spaces, though their sizes are not stated here.

What should I measure first?

Measure the shelf, drawer or cabinet opening, and the heights of your tallest jars. Then compare against any stated product dimensions, such as the caktraie 16.6 x 13.1 x 7.32 inches or the Copco 15.16 x 9.06 x 3.54 inches.

Do the Rubbermaid and Vtopmart listings state sizes?

Not in the details used here. Check the product page for container or drawer dimensions before ordering.

Where can I find more spice rack options?

Look for a pull-down under-cabinet spice rack or a kitchen cabinet door spice rack, as covered in the guides linked in the introduction.

Closing note

Spice storage starts with your jars and your space. The Copco, the SpiceNest and the Fousdou are the three made as spice racks, and the Rubbermaid set, the Vtopmart drawers and the caktraie baskets are worth checking against your measurements if you prefer general storage.

Similar Posts