Best Bookcases For Storage

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Bookcases for storage do more than hold books: they hide clutter in a drawer, a closed back or a wire tier and keep the rest of the room open. This guide compares four bookcases from the product data, covering shelf count, the load each shelf is rated to hold, depth and width, the anti-tip hardware and any drawer or door. Each figure below comes from the listing. Where a listing gives two sizes, both are shown, because the packed size and the assembled size are different things.

Quick answer

  • For the most shelves in a tall, slim footprint, the IRONCK bookcase lists six shelves, 22 lb per shelf, and a 70.8-inch height.
  • For a kids room with storage that is not on open display, the UTEX bookshelf includes a full-width drawer and lists its shelf loads separately.
  • For a corner or a tree-style display, the XBurmo seven-tier bookshelf lists 22 lb per shelf and anti-tip hardware with wall anchors.
  • For a low, deep bookcase under a window, the HOMISSUE three-tier bookshelf is the widest and lowest of the four.

How to choose a bookcase for storage

Start with the job. A bookcase that stores books on open shelves needs a shelf depth that fits the spines. A bookcase that stores toys, boxes or bins needs a drawer or a closed back. The four listings in this pack cover both jobs. The UTEX unit has three shelves and a full-width drawer, and the HOMISSUE unit has three deep shelves. The IRONCK and XBurmo units are open bookcases with several tiers.

Next, check the load on each shelf. Bookcase load figures are usually given per shelf, not for the whole unit, so a shelf rating matters more than the total. The IRONCK listing gives 22 lb for each shelf. The XBurmo listing gives 22 lb for each shelf. The UTEX listing gives 20 lb for the top, 25 lb for the other shelves and 15 lb for the drawer. The HOMISSUE listing does not give a per-shelf figure, so ask the seller before you load it with heavy books.

Finally, measure the depth. Depth decides whether a book sits flush or sticks out. The IRONCK bookcase is 9.3 inches deep. The XBurmo is 8 inches deep. The UTEX unit is 12 inches deep, and the HOMISSUE is about 12 inches deep. A deeper shelf holds more, but it takes more floor space and may not fit a narrow corner.

Comparison of the four bookcases

Bookcase Shelves or tiers Listed size Load figure in listing Extra features
IRONCK industrial bookcase, vintage brown 6 shelves 23.8 W x 9.3 D x 70.8 H in 22 lb per shelf Tip-over resistance device
UTEX kids bookshelf with drawer, white 3 shelves plus 1 drawer 12 D x 24 W x 37 H in Top 20 lb; shelves 25 lb; drawer 15 lb Anti-tilt wall mounts; FSC-certified wood
XBurmo 7-tier tree bookshelf, rustic brown 7 tiers 8 D x 15 W x 45 H in 22 lb per shelf Anti-tip hardware, wall anchors and non-slip pads
HOMISSUE 3-tier deep bookshelf, rustic brown 3 shelves 11.8 D x 33.78 W x 30.9 H in (spec table) Not stated Support tubes under the two lower boards; adjustable feet

The table reports the figures as the listings state them. The HOMISSUE bullets give 35.43 inches of width and 12.6 inches of depth, while the spec table gives 33.78 inches and 11.8 inches, so both are shown. The UTEX listing gives a 20 lb top limit in its bullets, and its spec table gives a 25 lb maximum and a 15 lb minimum, which is the same design read two ways.

Materials and finish

The materials cover three types. The IRONCK bookcase is MDF board with a laminated finish, and its bullets describe a rustic and industrial look. The UTEX bookshelf is engineered wood with a lacquered white finish, metal drawer glides and pine legs. The XBurmo unit is described as premium hardwood in its bullets, while the spec table lists the material as wood with a laminated finish. The HOMISSUE unit uses MDF with metal support tubes and a brushed finish.

The finish affects how the unit cleans and wears. The UTEX listing says the surface is scratch and stain resistant and can be wiped with a damp cloth. The IRONCK listing describes a laminated finish. The XBurmo listing describes a coated surface that resists moisture and scratches. The HOMISSUE listing describes a brushed finish. Choose the one that matches your room and the kind of cleaning you expect to do.

Who each bookcase suits

  • A living room or office with many books: the IRONCK bookcase gives six shelves at a height of 70.8 inches and a footprint of about 24 inches wide.
  • A kids room or playroom: the UTEX bookshelf has three shelves and a drawer for toys and small items, and its listing mentions a Montessori style layout.
  • A corner or a narrow spot: the XBurmo tree bookshelf is 15 inches wide and 8 inches deep, and it stands tall in a tight space.
  • A low spot under a window or a hallway wall: the HOMISSUE three-tier bookshelf is 30.9 inches tall and gives three deep shelves.

Mistakes to avoid

The first mistake is loading a shelf to the total weight instead of the shelf rating. The IRONCK shelves are each rated at 22 lb, so a full set of heavy hardcovers can overload a shelf before the unit reaches its height limit. Spread the books across the shelves rather than piling them on one.

The second mistake is skipping the anti-tip hardware. The XBurmo listing describes anti-tip hardware, wall anchors and non-slip pads, and the HOMISSUE listing advises installing the anti-tilt tool on the wall. The UTEX listing describes anti-tilt wall mounts. A tall bookcase can tip when a child climbs it, so anchor it to the wall when the listing includes the hardware.

The third mistake is ignoring the panel orientation. The XBurmo bullets say panel D is not reversible and the hole spacing differs at the top and bottom. Check the holes before you assemble. The HOMISSUE listing says the depth of its shelves is 12.6 inches in the bullets, so confirm the depth against the space you have.

Roundup: four bookcases for storage

1. IRONCK Industrial Bookcase, 6 Shelf Display Storage, Vintage Brown

The IRONCK bookcase is a six-tier unit with 22 lb per shelf, made of MDF with a laminated vintage brown finish. The listing gives the overall size as 23.82 inches wide, 9.25 inches deep and 70.87 inches high, and it weighs 37.2 pounds. The bullets describe strengthened screws and a tip-over resistance device for stability. The style is listed as industrial, rustic and modern. The package includes the bookcase, hardware and instructions. The listing says it suits a home office, a living room, a bedroom or a study room.

View on Amazon

2. UTEX Kids Bookshelf with Drawer, Toy Storage Organizer, White

The UTEX bookshelf has three storage shelves and a full-width drawer on the bottom. The listing gives the size as 12 inches deep, 24 inches wide and 37 inches high. The bullets give 20 lb for the top shelf, 25 lb for the other shelves and 15 lb for the drawer. The bullets also say the unit is certified by ASTM and CPSIA and that it includes anti-tilt wall mounts. The frame is engineered wood with tapered pine legs and metal glides on the drawer. The listing says it is made with FSC-certified wood and takes about 30 minutes to assemble.

View on Amazon

3. XBurmo 7-Tier Tree Bookshelf, Corner Bookshelf for Living Room

The XBurmo unit is a seven-tier tree bookshelf that measures 8 inches deep, 15 inches wide and 45 inches high. The bullets give 22 lb for each reinforced shelf and describe anti-tip hardware, wall anchors and non-slip pads. The finish is laminated and the bullets describe it as moisture and scratch resistant. The bullets say assembly takes about 20 minutes with labeled parts. The listing includes an important note that panel D is not reversible and the hole spacing differs at the top and bottom, so check the holes before fitting the panel.

View on Amazon

4. HOMISSUE Three-Tier Deep Bookshelf, Rustic Brown with Storage

The HOMISSUE unit is a low, deep bookcase with three shelves. The bullets give a size of 35.43 inches wide, 12.6 inches deep and 30.9 inches high, while the spec table gives 33.78 inches wide and 11.8 inches deep. It is made of MDF and metal, with support tubes under the two lower boards and adjustable feet. The listing says the unit weighs 32.6 pounds and includes the hardware and instructions. It suits a bedroom, a living room or an office. The bullets advise installing the anti-tilt tool on the wall for stability.

View on Amazon

Review: IRONCK Industrial Bookcase in depth

The IRONCK bookcase is the best choice in this pack for a tall, open display of books or decor. It is the only unit here with six shelves, and its listing gives the most complete set of figures: an overall size, a shelf load, a finish, a weight and a stability feature. Those numbers make it easier to decide whether it fits your wall.

The size is the first check. The listing gives an overall size of 23.82 inches wide, 9.25 inches deep and 70.87 inches high. That depth is shallower than a standard shelf, so the bookcase suits paperbacks and boxes better than oversized hardcovers. The listing gives a minimum required door width of 23.8 inches, which matters if the bookcase has to pass through a narrow doorway during delivery.

The load figure is per shelf. The bullets say each shelf holds up to 22 lb. That is a useful number for planning, because a shelf of heavy books can reach that figure quickly. Spread the weight across the six shelves, and keep the heaviest items on the lowest shelves. The listing says the unit is made of durable MDF with strengthened screws, and that a tip-over resistance device adds stability. Anchor the bookcase to the wall when your home has children or pets.

The finish is a laminated vintage brown, and the style is described as industrial, rustic and modern. The spec table lists the material as engineered wood and the furniture finish as engineered wood. Laminated surfaces wipe clean, but they can chip at the corners, so handle the unit carefully during assembly and moving.

Two alternatives in the pack suit different needs. The UTEX bookshelf adds a drawer and a lower depth, which suits toys. The XBurmo tree bookshelf stands in a corner and gives seven tiers in a narrower footprint. The IRONCK bookcase is the one to choose when you want the most open shelves in one unit.

FAQ

What is the best bookcase for storage with a drawer?

The UTEX kids bookshelf has a full-width drawer and three shelves. Its listing gives 15 lb for the drawer, 25 lb for the shelves and 20 lb for the top. It is the only bookcase in this group with a drawer.

How much weight can each bookshelf shelf hold?

The IRONCK and XBurmo listings give 22 lb per shelf. The UTEX bookshelf is rated at 20 lb for the top, 25 lb for the other shelves and 15 lb for the drawer. The HOMISSUE listing does not state a shelf load.

Do these bookcases need to be anchored?

All four include some anti-tip or stability feature. The IRONCK bookcase has a tip-over resistance device. The UTEX bookshelf includes anti-tilt wall mounts. The XBurmo unit includes anti-tip hardware and wall anchors. The HOMISSUE listing advises installing an anti-tilt tool on the wall.

How deep is a standard bookcase?

The listings in this pack range from about 8 inches to 12 inches of depth. The XBurmo tree shelf is 8 inches deep, the IRONCK is 9.3 inches, and the UTEX and HOMISSUE units are about 12 inches. Choose a depth that fits the books you own.

Are these bookcases made of solid wood?

Most are engineered wood or MDF. The UTEX bookshelf uses engineered wood with pine legs. The XBurmo bullets describe premium hardwood, while the spec table lists wood with a laminated finish. Check the material field on the exact listing before you assume the construction.

How long does assembly take?

The UTEX listing says about 30 minutes, and the XBurmo listing says about 20 minutes. The IRONCK and HOMISSUE listings describe clear instructions and labeled hardware, but they do not state a time.

Bottom line

For bookcases for storage, choose by the job. The IRONCK bookcase is the tall, open choice with six shelves rated at 22 lb each. The UTEX bookshelf is the one to pick when you need a drawer for toys. The XBurmo tree bookshelf fits a corner, and the HOMISSUE unit gives three deep shelves in a low profile. Read the shelf load, anchor the unit when the listing includes hardware, and measure the depth before you buy.

For a closed option, see our guide to enclosed bookcases with doors, cabinets and stability. For wire shelf coverage in a closet or pantry, read our review of SpaceAid 40 x 16 shelf covers for reserve storage.

Similar Posts