3 Tier Bookcase With Doors: 3 Listings Compared
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The person typing 3 tier bookcase with doors wants a short shelf unit where some storage sits behind closed panels, and wants to know what each listing actually states about size and weight.
A 3 tier bookcase with doors is a short shelf unit with three levels, where part of the storage sits behind closed panels. Three of the eight listings in our research file fit: the Homes: Inside + Out Apexa, the Furinno LUDER, and the Hodedah 3-Shelf, 3-Door. Their stated weight limits run from 10 pounds to 130 pounds, described in different ways, so read the capacity section before you load one.
Quick answer
- The Furinno LUDER is the only one of the three whose listing gives a per-shelf figure (30 lb) and a total (130 lb). Its bullets say the cabinet holds 50 lb and the top panel 20 lb.
- The Apexa lists a 30-pound maximum and does not say whether that is per shelf or total.
- The Hodedah has three doors but the lowest stated maximum, 10 pounds, and its listing does not say whether that is per shelf or total.
- None of the three listings says whether its capacity assumes a stud. The CPSC guidance we opened says a furniture anchor is usually a wood screw that goes into a stud, not a drywall anchor. Anchor any tall unit that way.
How we chose
- Source date: the listing data in our research file was checked on 2026-10-15. The figures below are what each listing showed on that date.
- Considered: eight listings in the research file, which came from a search on the keyword and a fallback search on “3 tier bookcase.”
- Kept: three listings that state three shelves or tiers and at least one door, either in the spec fields or in the bullet text.
- Left out: five listings with open shelves and no door: the HOOBRO 31.5-inch industrial bookcase, the SpaceAid scalloped kids’ bookshelf, the Homeiju 3-tier bookshelf, the MNEETRUNG 3-tier industrial bookshelf, and the IOTXY extendable ladder bookshelf, which has six open cubbies.
We did not rank the three that remain. They give different kinds of figures, and a ranking would hide that.
Comparison of the three listings
The table uses only fields the listings state. “not stated” means the listing does not give that field.
| Product | ASIN | Doors | Shelves | Dimensions D x W x H | Item weight | Weight limit as stated | Material | Mounting as stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Homes: Inside + Out Apexa 3-Tier | B0CNT74FQC | 2 | 3 | 11.7 x 23.6 x 35.3 in | 34.5 lb | 30 lb maximum; per shelf or total not stated | Engineered wood | Floor Mount |
| Furinno LUDER 3-Tier | B0GVNHD4BL | not stated (bullets describe one lower door cabinet) | 3 (two open shelves plus cabinet) | 9.3 x 12 x 31.5 in | 14.3 lb | 130 lb total; 30 lb per shelf; 50 lb cabinet; 20 lb top panel (bullets) | Engineered wood (specs); particleboard (bullets) | Floor Mount |
| Hodedah 3-Shelf, 3-Door | B0051HGEEI | 3 | 3 | 12 x 16 x 35.6 in | 28 lb | 10 lb maximum; per shelf or total not stated | Wood | Floor Mount |
Product 1: Homes: Inside + Out Apexa 3-Tier Bookcase with Doors
The listing says:
- Doors: 2, flat panel style
- Shelves: 3, base type sled
- Dimensions: 11.7 in D x 23.6 in W x 35.3 in H
- Item weight: 34.5 pounds
- Weight Capacity Maximum: 30 pounds. The listing does not say per shelf or total, and does not say whether it assumes a stud.
- Material: engineered wood, laminated finish, rectangular shape
- Mounting type: Floor Mount
- Included components: hardware, shelves, user manual
- Manufacturer warranty: “Please refer to product description or store page.”
The bullets say the unit includes anti-toppling elements and wooden dowels, and that the doors have a sponge door stopper. The listing names the brand as Homes: Inside + Out but the manufacturer field as Furniture of America. We do not know which name the warranty runs under.
Skip if you need a figure per shelf. The listing gives one maximum for the whole unit.
Limitation: the listing does not say how long assembly takes or how the anti-toppling elements attach to the wall, if they are meant to attach at all.
Product 2: Furinno LUDER 3-Tier Bookshelf with Cabinet
The listing says:
- Shelves: 3, described in the bullets as two open shelves with a lower door cabinet
- Dimensions: 9.3 in D x 12 in W x 31.5 in H
- Item weight: 14.3 pounds
- Weight Capacity Maximum: 130 pounds. The bullets add 30 lb per shelf, 50 lb in the cabinet, 20 lb on the top panel, and 130 lb total.
- Material: engineered wood in the specs; particleboard with FSC certification in the bullets
- Mounting type: Floor Mount; installation type: Freestanding
- Included components: assembly instruction, hardware, shelf panels
- Manufacturer warranty: 1 year limited manufacturer
The bullets say the unit includes anti-tip hardware and should be placed on a flat surface. They also say the bookcase “is not suitable to hold heavy weight.” That sits next to a 130-pound total, so read the per-shelf and cabinet figures, not only the total.
Skip if you want a door on every tier. The listing describes one lower cabinet door and two open shelves above it.
Limitation: the 9.3-inch depth is the narrowest of the three. The listing does not say whether the per-shelf figure changes with the cabinet door open.
Product 3: Hodedah 3-Shelf, 3-Door Bookcase in Cherry
The listing says:
- Doors: 3 (size field reads “3 Door”)
- Shelves: 3, shelf type cubby
- Dimensions: 12 in D x 16 in W x 35.6 in H
- Item weight: 28 pounds
- Weight Capacity Maximum: 10 pounds. Per-shelf or total is not stated, and no stud requirement appears.
- Material: wood; finish: cherry
- Mounting type: Floor Mount; installation type: Freestanding
- Recommended uses: files and folders
- Manufacturer warranty: “Please refer to product description or store page.”
- Bullets: “Assembles in minutes” and “Available in multiple colors.”
The 10-pound figure is the lowest of the three, and the listing’s own recommended use is files and folders. Some fields are unclear: the shelf thickness field reads 35.6 inches, which is the height, so we do not use it.
Skip if you plan to store books or anything heavier than 10 pounds on the unit, since 10 pounds is the only figure the listing gives.
Limitation: the listing gives no per-shelf figure and no anchoring instruction.
Weight capacity: what the three listings say
Weight capacity is the most important number on this page, and the three listings give it in three different forms:
- Apexa: one maximum, 30 pounds, with no per-shelf or total wording.
- Furinno: a total of 130 pounds, with 30 pounds per shelf and 50 pounds in the cabinet, all from the bullets. The spec field matches the 130-pound total.
- Hodedah: one maximum, 10 pounds, with no per-shelf or total wording.
None of the three says whether its figure assumes the unit is anchored to a stud. Do not read a single-shelf load from a total figure.
Anchoring a tall unit
The CPSC document we opened, Preliminary Evaluation of Anchoring Furniture and Televisions Without Tools, is a staff report on anti-tip hardware. It says the ASTM furniture standard it discusses covers “other clothing storage units taller than 30 inches.” Those are clothing storage units, not bookcases, so we use the report as guidance for tall units rather than as a rule for these three.
The report also explains why wall anchors are a weak point. It says that “a wood screw is usually provided and must be installed in a stud,” and that “drywall anchors are not typically provided” because drywall cannot typically withstand the pull force the standard requires. It adds that “the drywall anchor that holds the strap to the wall has no strength requirement” under the standards it reviewed.
For the three bookcases here, which are 31.5 to 35.6 inches tall, the practical steps are:
- Find a stud with a stud finder and mark it before you choose hardware.
- Use the anti-tip hardware in the box, if the listing includes it. Two of the three listings do.
- Read the hardware notes in the manual. The listings do not state a load for a generic wall anchor, and we do not give one.
- If your wall is plaster or masonry, the CPSC report does not cover that case, so ask a hardware store or a contractor.
What we could not verify
- Apart from the Furinno, none of the three listings says whether its weight limit is per shelf or total.
- None states whether its capacity figure assumes a stud or an anchor.
- The Apexa names two different companies in its brand and manufacturer fields, and its warranty text refers to the store page. We could not confirm which company stands behind the warranty.
- The Furinno’s door count is not in its spec fields, only in the bullet text.
- The CPSC report does not cover these bookcase models or their hardware.
- The listings’ safety statements are not checked against any standard here, and we do not repeat them.
Buying checklist
- Check the weight limit: is it per shelf, total, or both? If the listing gives one figure only, plan around the lowest number you see.
- Count the doors and see which tiers they cover. The Apexa and Hodedah list doors across the unit. The Furinno lists one cabinet door.
- Measure the wall space. The listed depths run from 9.3 to 12 inches, and the listed heights from 31.5 to 35.6 inches.
- Check the hardware. The Furinno and Apexa list anti-tip items; the Hodedah lists only “Hardware.”
- Find a stud before you order any anchor kit.
- Read the current listing on the day you buy, since the figures here come from 2026-10-15.
Mistakes to avoid
- Treating 130 pounds as the limit for every shelf. The Furinno bullets give 30 pounds per shelf and 50 pounds in the cabinet.
- Loading the Hodedah with books. Its listing gives 10 pounds and names files and folders as the recommended use.
- Assuming a drywall anchor will hold a tall unit. The CPSC report says drywall anchors are not typically provided for furniture because they cannot typically hold the pull force.
- Using the Apexa’s 30-pound maximum as a per-shelf figure. The listing does not say what it applies to.
- Assuming all three have doors on every shelf. Only the Apexa and Hodedah list doors across the unit; the Furinno has one lower cabinet door.
FAQ
Does a 3 tier bookcase with doors need to be anchored to the wall?
The CPSC report we opened says furniture anti-tip systems usually use a wood screw in a stud, and that drywall anchors are not typically provided. The three listings here are 31.5 to 35.6 inches tall. Two of them mention anti-tip items in their bullets, so use those and anchor into a stud.
How much weight can a 3 tier bookcase with doors hold?
It depends on the listing. The Apexa lists 30 pounds, the Furinno lists 130 pounds total with 30 pounds per shelf and 50 pounds in the cabinet, and the Hodedah lists 10 pounds. Use the figure from the listing you buy, and check whether it is per shelf or total.
Is the Hodedah 3-Shelf, 3-Door bookcase good for books?
Its listing names files and folders as the recommended use and gives 10 pounds as the maximum. The listing does not say it is unsuitable for books, but a 10-pound figure leaves little room for a full shelf of books.
Does the Furinno LUDER have doors on every shelf?
No. Its bullets describe two open shelves and one lower cabinet with a door. The spec fields do not give a door count.
Which of the three should I buy?
This page does not rank them, because the listings give different kinds of figures. Choose by how many doors you need and how much weight you will store, then check the current listing.
Are the listing figures current?
They are the figures the listings showed when our research file was checked, on 2026-10-15. Check the live page before you buy.
Bottom line
If a listing gives one weight limit and does not say it is per shelf, plan around the lowest figure you see, and anchor any unit taller than your reach into a stud.
Related guides
- floating shelves that can hold weight, for how stated capacities compare across shelf types
- bookcase ideas for small rooms, for slim and tall options in tight spaces
- bookshelves for a small room, for footprint and door choices
- small wall shelves for a living room, for wall-mounted alternatives
- wire shelf weight limits, for how a per-shelf figure is stated on other units
- a six-shelf bookcase, for a taller open-shelf comparison
- a 5-tier ladder bookshelf, for a taller unit with open shelves
- 5-tier metal shelving, for a metal option with a stated shelf count
- bookshelves for apartment living rooms, for smaller-footprint units
Sources
- Amazon listing, Homes: Inside + Out Apexa 3-Tier (ASIN B0CNT74FQC), checked 2026-10-15: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CNT74FQC
- Amazon listing, Furinno LUDER 3-Tier (ASIN B0GVNHD4BL), checked 2026-10-15: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0GVNHD4BL
- Amazon listing, Hodedah 3-Shelf, 3-Door (ASIN B0051HGEEI), checked 2026-10-15: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0051HGEEI
- CPSC, Preliminary Evaluation of Anchoring Furniture and Televisions Without Tools (CPSC/EXHR/TR-15/001), opened 2026-10-27: https://www.cpsc.gov/s3fs-public/pdfs/Tipover-Prevention-Project-Anchors-without-Tools.pdf
Some links on this page go to Amazon, and a qualifying purchase can pay this site a commission at no extra cost to you.


