best-bookcase-with-adjustable-shelves

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

The VASAGLE 6-Tier Open Bookcase is a floor-standing unit that is 23.6 inches wide, 9.4 inches deep and 63.3 inches tall, with six open tiers. Four of those tiers, the second, third, fifth and sixth, can be moved to three heights. The listing states a load of 22 pounds per shelf and 154 pounds in total, and it ships with an anti-tip kit. If you need a bookcase with adjustable shelves that fits a narrow wall and holds books, this review explains what the listing does and does not confirm, so you can decide whether it fits your room and your wall.

Quick answer

  • Size: 9.4 inches deep, 23.6 inches wide and 63.3 inches tall, per the listing. It suits a narrow wall or a corner with a 24-inch gap.
  • Adjustable shelves: The second, third, fifth and sixth tiers move up or down 1.2 inches across three positions. The first and fourth tiers are fixed.
  • Load: 22 pounds per shelf and 154 pounds total, as stated. Six shelves at 22 pounds come to 132 pounds, so plan your load around the per-shelf figure.
  • Safety: An anti-tip kit is included. Fix the unit to the wall, into studs or with rated anchors, before you load it.

What the listing states

The facts below come from the Amazon listing for ASIN B0BNJ2CF7W, which we opened on 2026-10-29. The title names the brand, the 23.6-inch width, the six-tier open design and the Ebony Black finish, and it matches the name on our list.

  • Product dimensions: 9.4 inches deep by 23.6 inches wide by 63.3 inches high.
  • Number of shelves: 6, in an open-front design with a closed back.
  • Material: Particleboard and MDF. The listing gives a shelf thickness of 0.6 inches.
  • Item weight: 45.1 pounds, per the listing.
  • Load per shelf: 22 pounds (10 kg), described as a maximum static load.
  • Load total: 154 pounds (70 kg), described as a maximum static load.
  • Adjustable tiers: The second, third, fifth and sixth tiers adjust to three heights, up or down 1.2 inches.
  • Package contents: One bookcase, one accessory kit, one anti-tip kit and one set of instructions.
  • Finish: Ebony Black, listed as the color.
  • Warranty: The listing says a manufacturer’s warranty can be requested from customer service.

The listing also shows other sizes of the same collection, including 3, 4, 5 and 6 tier versions in 23.6 and 31.5 inch widths, and a 2-pack option. The figures in this review apply only to the 6-tier, 23.6-inch, 1-pack version at this ASIN. A newer 4-tier model from the same collection appears on the page as a separate item, and this review does not cover it.

Weight capacity: what the numbers add up to

A bookcase has two load figures, and the difference between them matters. The listing gives 22 pounds per shelf and 154 pounds total. Six shelves at 22 pounds each come to 132 pounds, which is less than the 154-pound total. The listing does not explain how the two figures relate, so do not treat the total as extra room. A safe working rule is to keep each shelf under 22 pounds and keep the whole bookcase under 132 pounds.

Here is what that means in practice. A shelf of hardcover books can weigh more than a shelf of paperbacks. A standard hardcover can weigh about 1 to 2 pounds, so a single shelf of 12 to 15 large hardcovers can approach the 22-pound limit. Check the weight of your own books before you fill a tier. The listing does not give a limit for the middle of a shelf or for a load placed at one end, so spread weight evenly across each tier.

The static load rating is a limit for weight that sits still. Books placed and left in place are the case the listing describes. The listing does not state a dynamic rating, so do not climb the unit or hang weight from its sides.

Adjustable shelves: how far they move

The adjustment range is the most useful feature for mixed storage. The listing says the second, third, fifth and sixth tiers move up or down 1.2 inches, which gives three positions for each of those shelves. The first and fourth tiers do not adjust.

A 1.2-inch step is small, so plan the layout before you assemble. Tall art books, storage boxes and plants in pots usually need a different gap than paperbacks. Place the fixed tiers where the tallest items will go, and use the adjustable tiers for shorter items. The listing does not state the clear interior height of each tier, so measure your tallest item and compare it with the gap between the fixed tiers before you choose the positions.

Anchoring to the wall

At 63.3 inches tall, this bookcase is tall enough to tip if a child climbs it or if it is pulled from the top. The listing includes an anti-tip kit and says to attach the bookcase to the wall with it, so anchoring is part of the purchase, not an optional extra. The listing does not say which wall types the kit suits, and it does not state a stud requirement.

For general shelf-loading guidance, see our floating shelves weight guide. Use these steps before you load the unit:

  1. Find the studs with a stud finder and mark them at the height of the top tier.
  2. Fix the anti-tip hardware into a stud where possible. A stud gives the most reliable hold.
  3. If no stud lines up with the mounting point, use an anchor rated for the wall type. Drywall, plaster and masonry each need a different anchor, so check the wall before you buy one.
  4. Read the hardware notes in the box. The listing does not state the load that any anchor can hold, so do not assume a load from the kit alone.

We did not open a furniture safety guide for this draft, so the anchoring steps above rest on the listing and on common practice. Read the anti-tip instructions that come with the unit before you fix it to the wall.

Fit and placement

The 9.4-inch depth is shallow for a bookcase of this height, which helps in a hallway, beside a door or in a narrow corner. The 23.6-inch width suits a space of about 24 inches or more. Leave a small gap for the anti-tip hardware at the back. The unit is 63.3 inches tall, so check the height against any ceiling fixture, doorframe or window sill that sits above the top tier.

The closed back and the open front suit books and decor, and our small-room bookshelf roundup covers other shallow units for tight spaces. The shelves are open, so dust collects on them. A bookcase with doors would be a different product, and the listing does not describe a doored version of this model.

Assembly

The listing says the parts are labeled and that the instructions are detailed. It does not state how long assembly takes, and it does not say whether a drill or any other tool is needed. Plan for a second person to lift the upper half into place if your unit ships in two sections, and check the parts against the instructions before you start. The package includes an accessory kit, so keep the small parts together until the end.

How we chose

We chose this bookcase because its listing gives the figures a buyer needs to judge a bookcase with adjustable shelves: the size, the number of tiers, which tiers adjust and by how much, a load per shelf and a load total, and an anti-tip kit. A listing that gives those figures lets a reader check the product against a room. We did not choose it on price or on the ratings and reviews shown on the page. Those are outside the scope of this review.

What we could not verify

  • The listing does not state the interior clear height of each tier, so we cannot confirm which items fit each gap.
  • The listing does not state whether tools are needed, how long assembly takes, or the wall anchors the kit supports.
  • The listing does not state how the 154-pound total relates to the 22-pound per-shelf figure.
  • The listing does not describe the long-term behavior of the particleboard and MDF under sustained load.
  • The warranty terms are not stated on the page. The listing says to request them from customer service.
  • No second independent source was opened for this draft. The facts here come from the listing alone.

FAQ

How much weight can each shelf hold?

The listing states 22 pounds per shelf as a maximum static load. Keep each tier under that figure and spread the weight evenly across it.

Is the 154-pound total limit the same as the per-shelf limit added up?

No. Six shelves at 22 pounds come to 132 pounds, which is less than the stated total of 154 pounds. The listing does not explain the gap, so plan around the lower figure.

Does the bookcase need to be anchored?

The listing includes an anti-tip kit and tells you to attach the bookcase to the wall. Anchor it, because a tall, lightly loaded unit can still tip.

Which shelves adjust?

The second, third, fifth and sixth tiers adjust to three heights, up or down 1.2 inches. Tiers one and four stay in place.

Will it fit a 24-inch wall space?

The listed width is 23.6 inches and the depth is 9.4 inches. A 24-inch space fits the width, but check the wall for the anti-tip hardware before you place the unit.

Can I use it outdoors?

The listing does not state outdoor use. It is made of particleboard and MDF, so keep it indoors unless the manufacturer confirms otherwise.

Bottom line

Choose this bookcase if you want a tall, narrow unit with six tiers and four adjustable shelves, and if you can anchor it to a stud or a rated wall anchor. Plan the load at 22 pounds per shelf, keep the total under 132 pounds, and place the fixed tiers where your tallest items will sit.

Sources

  • Amazon listing for VASAGLE Bookshelf, 23.6 Inches Wide, 6-Tier Open Bookcase, ASIN B0BNJ2CF7W, opened 2026-10-29: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BNJ2CF7W

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

View on Amazon

Similar Posts

  • How to Clean Pantry Shelves

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How to clean pantry shelves comes down to a fixed order: empty the shelves, vacuum the corners and cracks, wash with soap and water, dry completely, and only then restock. A University of California pest guide and a University of Georgia food-preservation blog agree on the…

  • pot-rack

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details The person typing pot rack wants to hang pots, pans and lids off the wall or from the ceiling so the cabinet space they had been using is free again. A pot rack is a rail or shelf with hooks, and the three numbers that…

  • Best Storage Drawers Under Sink

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details This guide helps you decide among the listed choices by checking drawer travel, pipe clearance, and cabinet depth before secondary features. Under-sink-drawer-specific it also separates stated measurements from assumptions, because a useful dimension or limit belongs only to the variant that supplies it. Under-sink-drawer-specific start…

  • laundry-cart

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details The person typing “laundry cart” wants a rolling unit that holds dirty clothes, detergent or both, and moves to the washer, the dryer or the closet. A laundry cart is a wheeled frame with shelves, bins or a sorting bag. Some are slim units that…