Best Floating Shelves: Which One for Which Job
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
A floating shelf looks like a plank growing out of the wall, and that is exactly why the number on the listing matters: nothing visible is holding it up. A hidden bracket takes the whole load, and the wall behind it decides whether that bracket stays put. This guide compares four floating shelf sets using only what their Amazon listings state, and it tells you what each listing leaves out, including whether the capacity is per shelf, and whether it depends on hitting a stud.
Quick answer: which floating shelf for which job
- Heaviest stated load: Homeforia 24-inch solid pine set. The listing says 50 lb per shelf and ties the full rating to screwing into studs.
- A long run of three matching shelves: Amada 23.6-inch set of 3. The listing says 22 lb per shelf and names three wall types (16-inch wood studs, solid concrete, drywall).
- Most mounting hardware in the box: Ballucci 24-inch set of 2 (30 lb stated, but the listing does not say per shelf or total).
- Light items in a humid room: BAYKA 22.5-inch set of 2 (22 lb per shelf stated; the sealant claim comes from the seller).
Whichever you choose: weigh what you plan to put on it, compare that to the listing’s number, and mount into studs where you can. See how to hang floating shelves for the steps and shelf weight capacity explained for how to read the figures.
How floating shelves attach to the wall
Most floating shelves use a hidden metal bracket. You fasten the bracket to the wall, then slide the shelf body over its arms. The Amada listing describes the sequence: position and level the brackets, mark the holes, drill and insert anchors where needed, fasten the brackets with the screws provided, slide the shelves on, and lock them with small screws underneath. The Homeforia listing describes a bracket that sits entirely inside the shelf body.
Two things follow from that design:
- The bracket is the weak point, and so is the wall. A shelf that is perfectly strong still fails if its screws are in thin drywall. The maker’s number only applies to the mounting the maker describes.
- Studs change the answer. A wall stud is the vertical wooden or metal framing member behind the wall surface. Screws driven into a stud hold far better than anchors in hollow drywall. Studs are commonly 16 inches apart center to center, and 24 inches in some newer construction, but older homes can vary, so confirm each one instead of assuming (This Old House, wall stud guide). Homeforia’s listing states this plainly: hit studs for the full 50 lb rating, or use the included anchors where only drywall is available. Notice what that implies: anchors in drywall do not get you the full 50 lb.
Check your wall type before you buy. Drywall, plaster over lath and masonry all need different fasteners, and electronic stud finders can be fooled by lath in old plaster. If your wall is anything other than ordinary drywall, read the product’s hardware notes and the anchor packaging before you drill.
Worked example: checking a load before you hang a shelf
Say you want a 24-inch floating shelf to hold a row of books that adds up to about 30 lb. Start with the shelf’s own rated load from its listing and bracket instructions, because that is the limit the shelf was built for. Then check the wall fixing. The Spruce gives a figure of 25 to 35 lb for each winged plastic anchor used in drywall. That number describes one anchor, not the whole shelf, so two anchors do not make a 50 to 70 lb shelf. If the shelf sits on a wall stud, or uses fixings rated for the load, the wall side is stronger. If the total is close to the limit, or the wall is plaster or hollow block, pick a heavier-duty fixing or a different shelf.
The four floating shelf sets compared
Specs below were read from each Amazon listing on 2026-10-10. Where a listing contradicts itself, the table uses the figure that appears in the description text and the notes below the table say what conflicts.
| Set | Shelves in the box | Size per shelf (W x D x thick) | Material (per listing) | Stated capacity | Studs required? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Homeforia 24 in | 2 | 24 x 6.5 x 1.75 in | Solid pine | 50 lb per shelf | Full rating needs studs; anchors included for drywall-only walls |
| Ballucci 24 in | 2 | 23.6 x 6 x about 1.1 in | Engineered wood | 30 lb (per shelf or total not stated) | Not stated |
| Amada 23.6 in | 3 | 23.6 x 6.69 x 1.2 in | Engineered wood (MDF), metal brackets | 22 lb per shelf | Not stated; listing names studs, concrete or drywall |
| BAYKA 22.5 in | 2 | 22.5 x 6.7 x 1.1 in | Engineered wood; listing says not solid wood | 22 lb per shelf | Not stated |
Reading the table: thickness is the easiest clue to how substantial a shelf looks, but it is not a capacity rating. The listings give no deflection or sag figures, so none appear here.
Our picks
1. Homeforia 24 Inch Floating Shelves, Solid Pine, Set of 2 (black) — heaviest stated load
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-10): Set of 2. Each shelf is 24 inches wide, 6.5 inches deep and 1.75 inches thick. Solid pine (the listing table also lists metal for the bracket). Black painted finish in the variant we read. Hidden metal bracket inside the shelf. Bracket, screws and wall anchors included. The listing says each shelf holds 50 lb and that the full rating is for studs.
Pros: The only set here that ties its stated number to studs in plain words. Real wood grain, and the thickest shelf of the four. Hardware for both stud and drywall mounting is in the box.
Cons: The product table shows two capacity rows (a 50 lb maximum and a 100 lb “minimum”), which contradict each other. We quote only the 50 lb per shelf from the description. The listing says knots and grain vary from shelf to shelf, so two shelves will not match exactly. Depth is 6.5 inches, which is shallow for large books.
Best for: Books, plants and kitchen items where you can reach a stud. Skip if: Your wall has no accessible studs at the spot you want, because the full rating would not apply.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. Amada 23.6″ Floating Shelves, Set of 3, Black — a long run of matching shelves
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-10): Set of 3 shelves with 3 brackets. Each shelf is 23.6 inches wide, 6.69 inches deep and 1.2 inches thick. Engineered wood (MDF) with metal brackets. The listing says 22 lb per shelf. Mounting is described for 16-inch wood studs, solid concrete or drywall. Hardware in the box includes drywall anchors, concrete anchors, long and short lag screws.
Pros: Three shelves in one box, with a hardware mix that covers several wall types. The listing says the shelves can be lined up into a run of nearly six feet or staggered.
Cons: The lowest per-shelf number in this comparison. The listing does not say whether 22 lb assumes studs. The product table lists the finish as “unfinished” while the title says black, so check the photos against the description.
Best for: Decor, toiletries and light items spread over a wall. Skip if: You need to hold a full row of hardcover books on one shelf.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. Ballucci 24″ Wood Wall Shelf, Set of 2, Rustic Brown — most hardware included
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-10): Set of 2. Each shelf is listed as 23.6 inches wide, 6 inches deep and 1.1 inches high. Engineered wood, rustic brown. Two metal hidden brackets. Hardware list: 10 concrete or wood anchors, 10 drywall anchors, 10 screws and an instruction document. The listing says the mounting hardware “allows a 30 lb. weight capacity” and describes no assembly.
Pros: The longest hardware list of the four, with separate anchors for drywall and for concrete or wood. A 30 lb figure sits above the other two engineered-wood sets.
Cons: The 30 lb figure does not say per shelf or total, and it does not say whether studs are needed. The product table swaps the depth and width numbers (it shows 23.62 deep by 5.91 wide), so use the 23.6 x 6 from the description, and measure your space with that in mind.
Best for: A pair of shelves for decor, towels or plants where you want choices of anchor. Skip if: You need an explicit per-shelf rating.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. BAYKA 22.5″ Rustic Brown Floating Shelves, Set of 2 — light items in humid rooms
Specs (from the listing, checked 2026-10-10): Set of 2. Each shelf is 22.5 inches wide, 6.7 inches deep and 1.1 inches thick. Engineered wood; the listing says plainly “Not solid wood” and names MDF. The seller says each shelf is treated with a protective sealant against humidity. The listing says each shelf supports up to 22 lb. A level tool and instructions are included, and the listing says accessories for wood, brick, drywall and cement walls are supplied (quantities not listed).
Pros: Honest material labeling. The listing spells out the 22 lb per-shelf figure. A level is included.
Cons: The humidity and warp-resistance claims are the seller’s, and we have no independent source for them. The listing does not say if studs are required. The table says “Unit Count 1″ while the description says two shelves, so confirm the quantity before ordering.
Best for: Light toiletries, candles and small decor. Skip if: You want solid wood or a higher stated capacity.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
How to choose a floating shelf
Capacity: read the conditions, not just the number
Three questions to ask of every listing:
- Per shelf or total? “Holds 30 lb” for a set of two could mean 30 lb on each or 30 lb across both. Of the four sets above, only three say “per shelf”.
- With studs or with anchors? A figure that assumes studs is not a figure for a drywall anchor. If the listing is silent, assume nothing and use studs.
- Is it consistent? We read other floating shelf listings that gave three different capacity numbers in the bullets, the product table and the highlight line, and others that mixed “per linear foot” and “per shelf”. When a listing disagrees with itself, treat the number as unreliable and pick another product.
The same conditions apply to every shelf type. Shelf weight capacity explained covers per-shelf versus total, spread-out versus point loads, and why brackets and fasteners usually fail before the board does.
Depth, length and thickness
All four sets here are about 6 to 6.7 inches deep. That suits paperbacks, picture frames, plants in small pots and bathroom items. Larger books, platters and big cookbooks may overhang a shelf this shallow, so measure the biggest thing you plan to store. Length also matters for studs: a 24-inch shelf is long enough to reach at least one stud on 16-inch spacing, but where that stud lands depends on your wall, not on the shelf.
Material
One set here is solid pine and three are engineered wood (MDF). Listings describe MDF as lighter and resistant to warping, and solid wood as heavier with natural grain variation. We do not have load or sag data for either material from these sellers, so the stated capacity on the listing is the only number to use.
Bracket and hardware
Look for what the hardware list actually contains: screw count, anchor types for your wall, and whether a level is included. If you want to hang a shelf with your own brackets instead, see best shelf brackets for DIY shelves.
Original check: match the shelf to what you store
This worksheet is ours, built from the listing numbers above. It is not an industry standard.
| You want to store | Do this first | Compare against |
|---|---|---|
| Books | Pick the books for one shelf, put them on a bathroom scale, note the total and the deepest book | The listing’s per-shelf number and depth (6 to 6.7 in for these four) |
| Potted plants | Weigh a watered pot with its saucer | Per-shelf capacity, with a margin; keep water spills off the wall |
| Dishes and glassware | Weigh a typical stack | Per-shelf capacity; mount into studs |
| Decor and frames | A kitchen scale is enough | Any of the four will list more than most decor weighs, but check |
Leave a margin below the stated figure. That habit is ours, not a rule. Load heavy items gradually after installing and watch for movement.
What floating shelves will not do
- They will not hold a stated number if the wall fasteners are wrong for your wall. The number is the maker’s for the maker’s mounting.
- They are not made for a person to lean or pull on.
- They are not a substitute for a bookcase when you have a lot of books. A row of hardcovers adds weight quickly, which is why we suggest weighing the load first.
- If a shelf sits above a crib, bed or seating area, think about what happens if it ever comes loose, and prefer studs.
FAQ
How much weight can a floating shelf hold?
Only as much as its maker states for the mounting the maker describes. Among the four sets here, the stated figures are 50 lb per shelf (with studs) for Homeforia, 30 lb for Ballucci (per shelf or total not stated), and 22 lb per shelf for both Amada and BAYKA. Do not extrapolate from one product to another. See shelf weight capacity explained.
Do I need studs for floating shelves?
For anything heavy, yes, studs are the better choice. Homeforia’s listing says the full rating applies when you hit studs and that anchors are for walls where only drywall is available. Other listings do not say. Where a listing is silent, plan on studs and follow the hardware instructions.
Can I use floating shelves in a bathroom?
Some listings mention bathrooms, and BAYKA says its shelves are sealed against humidity, but that is the seller’s claim and we have no outside data. Keep shelves away from direct spray, wipe up moisture and check the finish description on the listing.
How deep should a shelf be for books?
Deep enough for the deepest book you own. These sets are roughly 6 to 6.7 inches deep, which is shallow for large hardcovers. Measure first.
How do I hang floating shelves straight?
Find the studs, mark them, and use a level on the bracket before fastening it. The full steps are in how to hang floating shelves.
Bottom line
If you can reach studs and need to carry real weight, the Homeforia set has the highest stated capacity and the clearest stud condition. For a run of lighter shelves, Amada gives three in a box with hardware for several wall types. Ballucci and BAYKA suit light decor, and Ballucci’s listing needs a closer read on what its 30 lb figure covers. Whichever you pick, check the current price and availability on Amazon, and see the shelving buying guide for other shelf types.
How we choose and where the data comes from
We have not tested these shelves. Every specification above was read from the product’s Amazon listing on 2026-10-10, and the stud-spacing information comes from the This Old House guide linked above. Listings change, so confirm the details on the page before you buy.