Two free-standing wire shelving units organizing cookware and pantry items in a kitchen.

Best Free Standing Wire Shelves for Kitchen

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Free standing wire shelves for a kitchen give you open, adjustable storage for pantry goods, appliances and cookware without drilling into a wall. This page compares six wire shelving units by their stated size, shelf count and weight limit. Widths run from 12.7 to 36 inches and heights from 53.5 to 72.05 inches, so the first job is to measure your space.

Tall wire shelving can tip, so check the maker’s notes on anchoring before you load it.

Quick answer

The Amazon Basics 5-shelf rack is the widest at 36 x 14 x 72 inches, with a stated 1750-pound maximum. The Homdox has 6 tiers on caster wheels at 21.26 inches wide, but its capacity fields conflict. The REGILLER (16.6 inches wide, 53.5 inches high) and the GIOTORENT (12.7 or 16.9 inches wide, depending on which field is right) suit narrow gaps. The IZEUK is a white rack at 29.5 inches wide, and the 18 x 18 inch corner tower fits a free corner.

If you would rather go onto the wall, see Best White Kitchen with Floating Shelves or Best Floating Corner Shelves for Living Room.

Comparison table

Rack Size (D x W x H, inches) Shelves Stated maximum Color in title
Homdox 11.42 x 21.26 x 72.05 6, on caster wheels 240.4 kg, but a 315.7 pound minimum also listed Silver gray
Amazon Basics 14 x 36 x 72 5 1750 pounds Black
REGILLER 11.8 x 16.6 x 53.5 5 500 pounds Black
IZEUK 11.8 x 29.5 x 59.5 5 1250 pounds White
Corner tower 18 x 18 x 60 5 500 pounds, but a 17.5 pound minimum also listed Not stated
GIOTORENT 16.9 x 12.7 x 65.1 (another field swaps depth and width) 6 720 pounds Not stated

The six racks

Homdox 6-tier rack on casters

A silver gray 6-tier wire shelving unit with caster wheels and stainless side hooks. It lists 11.42 x 21.26 x 72.05 inches. The capacity fields conflict: a maximum of 240.4 kg and a minimum weight of 315.7 pounds. Which one is right is not clear from the listing.

Suits: a kitchen where you want to roll the rack out to reach the back, in about 21 inches of width.

  • Pros: casters; 6 tiers; side hooks.
  • Cons: conflicting capacity fields; it is 72.05 inches tall and needs anti-tip care; wheels on a tall rack are another reason to check stability.

Skip if: you need an unambiguous capacity figure.

View the Homdox rack on Amazon (affiliate link)

Amazon Basics 5-shelf wire rack

A black heavy duty steel wire rack with 5 adjustable shelves, titled for garage or kitchen use with easy assembly. It lists 14 x 36 x 72 inches and a 1750-pound maximum. The listing does not say whether that limit is per shelf or for the whole unit.

Suits: a wide wall or pantry where you want the largest stated capacity.

  • Pros: highest stated maximum at 1750 pounds; 5 adjustable shelves; easy assembly per the title.
  • Cons: needs 36 inches of clear width and 14 inches of depth; the limit is not labeled.

Skip if: your wall is narrower than 36 inches.

View the Amazon Basics rack on Amazon (affiliate link)

REGILLER 5-tier wire shelving

A black 5-tier adjustable wire rack titled for laundry, bathroom, kitchen, pantry and closet. It lists 11.8 x 16.6 x 53.5 inches and a 500-pound maximum.

Suits: a gap of about 17 inches, such as beside a fridge or in a pantry corner.

  • Pros: narrow footprint; the shortest rack here at 53.5 inches; 500-pound maximum stated.
  • Cons: shelves are only 16.6 inches wide; the limit is not labeled per shelf or total.

Skip if: you need wider shelves.

View the REGILLER rack on Amazon (affiliate link)

IZEUK 5-tier white wire shelving

A white metal 5-tier rack titled for garage, kitchen, bathroom, laundry or closet use. It lists 11.8 x 29.5 x 59.5 inches and a 1250-pound maximum.

Suits: a kitchen or laundry where a white rack fits the look and a mid-width wall is free.

  • Pros: white finish; 1250-pound maximum stated; mid-size footprint.
  • Cons: needs 29.5 inches of width; the limit is not labeled per shelf or total.

Skip if: you need a unit narrower than 29.5 inches.

View the IZEUK rack on Amazon (affiliate link)

18 x 18 inch corner wire tower

A corner metal shelving unit with 5 adjustable tiers, titled for garage, kitchen or bathroom. It lists 18 x 18 x 60 inches and a 500-pound maximum, with a conflicting 17.5 pound minimum weight in another field.

Suits: a free corner that can hold an 18 inch square footprint.

  • Pros: square footprint for a corner; 5 adjustable tiers.
  • Cons: conflicting capacity fields; no color is stated.

Skip if: you need a narrower unit or a clear capacity.

View the corner tower on Amazon (affiliate link)

GIOTORENT 6-tier wire shelf

A 6-tier standing metal rack titled for bathroom, laundry, kitchen and pantry use. It lists 16.9 x 12.7 x 65.1 inches as depth x width x height, with a 720-pound maximum. Another field gives 12.7D x 16.9W, which swaps depth and width, so check which side is which before you measure.

Suits: a tight space where a 12.7 inch side fits.

  • Pros: 6 tiers in a small footprint; 720-pound maximum stated.
  • Cons: conflicting depth and width; the limit is not labeled per shelf or total.

Skip if: your ceiling or doorway cannot take 65.1 inches.

View the GIOTORENT rack on Amazon (affiliate link)

Buying checklist

  • Measure width, depth and height, including the doorway you carry it through.
  • Choose by footprint first: 36, 29.5, 21.26, 18 or about 17 inches wide.
  • Read the weight limit literally. Do not divide a whole-unit figure across shelves.
  • Treat conflicting capacity or size fields as unresolved until the product page is clear.
  • Anchor tall racks to the wall as the maker advises, and install any anti-tip device supplied.
  • Check what assembly parts and hardware come in the box.

FAQ

Which rack has the highest stated capacity?

The Amazon Basics lists 1750 pounds, then the IZEUK at 1250 and the GIOTORENT at 720. The listings do not say whether those limits are per shelf or total.

Which rack suits a narrow gap?

The REGILLER is 16.6 inches wide and the GIOTORENT is 12.7 inches on its narrow side. The 18 x 18 inch corner tower suits a free corner.

Why are the Homdox and corner tower capacities unclear?

Their listings give both a maximum and a minimum weight that do not match. Confirm the right figure on the product page before you load either rack.

Do free standing racks need to be anchored?

Tall units can tip. The CPSC advises securing top-heavy furniture and using supplied anti-tip devices, so follow the maker’s instructions for the 72 inch racks in particular.

What if a listing shows two sizes?

Treat it as unresolved. The GIOTORENT shows 16.9 x 12.7 in one field and 12.7 x 16.9 in another, so confirm on the product page which side is depth.

Closing note

Start with the wall you have: the Amazon Basics for 36 inches, the IZEUK for 29.5 inches, the Homdox if you want casters, and the REGILLER, GIOTORENT or corner tower when floor space is tight. Do not trust a capacity figure that conflicts with another field, and anchor tall units according to the maker’s instructions.

Sources

Similar Posts