house-spice-jars

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

“House spice jars” usually means small house-shaped jars sold as a village set, plus the wall rack built to display them. On Amazon the two are sold separately: many racks say “shelf only” and jars are not included. This guide covers one jar kit and four display racks. Every figure comes from the listing text, and the listings disagree in a few places, so those conflicts are shown rather than settled. One storage point applies before you hang anything: Ohio State University Extension advises against keeping spices on the counter close to the stove because heat and light shorten their shelf life, and recommends airtight containers in a dry place away from sunlight (fact sheet HYG-5401, dated 2010).

Quick answer

If you already own village-style jars, you need a rack, and the first thing to check is the jar count and depth: the Chunful 3-tier states 18 jars, the other three racks state 24. If you do not own jars yet, the Kritkin listing is the only item here that includes them, as six paint-it-yourself ceramic houses 3 inches high, and it says its jars fit most village style racks. The racks differ in how they mount. Chunful 4-tier states 2 hooks and 15 screws, Bailiyake states a screw pack, Sintuff says pre-drilled holes or counter use, and the Chunful 3-tier title says hanging but the text read states no hardware. For other spice storage ideas, see this 3-tier spice shelf guide, this kitchen spice shelves guide, and this kitchen spice shelf guide.

How we chose

Each item was included because its Amazon title or first bullets name house-shaped jars, a village style rack, or a house-shaped rack. Standard cabinet racks and round-jar sets were left out because they do not match the keyword. The picks are one jar kit and four racks because that is the mix the search returned; I did not find a second jar set whose listing I could open and check in this pass. Sizes, mounting hardware, and capacities are the listings’ own statements, and “not stated” means the text read gave no figure.

Comparison table

Item Type (as stated) Size (as stated) Capacity (as stated) Mounting or care (as stated)
Kritkin DIY jar kit (B0H29Z3NQ4) 6 white ceramic house jars, paint kit 3 in high, 5 oz each 6 jars Colour fixed by baking in the oven; silicone ring on each jar
Chunful 4-tier, pink (B0H13Z7QCB) Wooden rack with extra drawer, shelf only 22.25 x 17.25 x 3.75 in Up to 24 jars Wall mount; 2 hooks, 15 screws, screwdriver
Bailiyake village rack, brown (B0GVKHFX45) Wooden 4-tier rack with bottom drawer 22 x 17 x 4 in Up to 24 house-shaped jars Wall-mounted; screw pack included
Chunful 3-tier house-shaped (B0GZVZ4RGL) House-shaped wooden rack, shelf only About 14.76 x 15.43 x 3.94 in 18 jars Title says hanging; hardware not stated in the text read
Sintuff 4-tier, white (B0GWZTGS2W) Solid wood rack with scalloped top 21.42 x 14.02 x 3.31 in Up to 24 jars Counter use, or wall mount via pre-drilled holes

Worked example: planning a 24 jar wall

This example uses made-up numbers to show the method. It is not from any listing. Assume you own 24 house-shaped jars that are each 3 inches high (the same height as the Kritkin jars) and you have a clear wall section 24 inches wide and 20 inches tall.

  • Capacity: 24 jars means one of the 24-jar racks. The Chunful 3-tier states only 18 jars, so it would leave 6 jars without a place unless you buy a second rack.
  • Width: the 24-jar racks state 22.25 in, 22 in, and 21.42 in wide. All fit a 24 inch section, with about 1.75 to 2.6 inches spare.
  • Height: the rack heights stated are 17.25 in (Chunful 4-tier), 17 in (Bailiyake), and 14.02 in (Sintuff). Against a 20 inch section, those leave 2.75, 3, and 5.98 inches of clearance.
  • Depth: stated depths run from 3.31 in to 4 in. A 3 inch tall jar is a height, not a depth. The listings do not give a jar footprint, so check how deep your own jars are against those figures before ordering.
  • Result: all three 24-jar racks pass width and height in this example, so the deciding questions become depth against your jars and the mounting method. That is why the table has a mounting column.

The five picks and who each one suits

1. Kritkin 6 Pcs Ceramic Spice Jar House to Paint (B0H29Z3NQ4)

Specs from the listing (checked on 2026-10-18):

  • Contents: 6 white ceramic house jars, 3 inches high and 5 oz each
  • Paint: the title says 12 color paints and 2 brushes, while the package list says 6 x 12 color acrylic paint sets (conflict on how much paint comes in the box)
  • Finish: the listing says colour is fixed by baking in the oven after painting, and calls the ceramic oven safe
  • Seal: a food grade silicone ring on each jar, described as airtight
  • Fit: the listing says the jars fit neatly on most village style spice racks
  • Category: the page lists it under painting kits, not kitchen storage

Best for: crafters who want to paint their own village set and need jars that are sold with the paint.
Skip if: you want finished, decorated jars out of the box, or you do not want to bake painted ceramic.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. Chunful Vintage Wooden Spice Rack, 4 Tier, Pink House Shape (B0H13Z7QCB)

Specs from the listing (checked on 2026-10-18; the Pink Cottagecore style is shown):

  • Size: 22.25 x 17.25 x 3.75 inches
  • Layout: 4 tiers plus an additional drawer; holds up to 24 spice jars
  • Mounting: wall mount with 2 hooks, 15 screws, and a screwdriver
  • Material: wooden, with a pink finish and carved top trim
  • Included: the rack only (title says “shelf only”)
  • Other styles on the page: Carving, Classic, Sage Green, Rustic and more

Best for: a pastel kitchen where the rack is part of the decor and you want a drawer.
Skip if: you need a stated weight limit, since the listing gives none.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Bailiyake Vintage Spice Village Wooden Rack, 24 Jars (B0GVKHFX45)

Specs from the listing (checked on 2026-10-18; Brown, Vintage shape is shown):

  • Size: 22 x 17 x 4 inches
  • Layout: 4 tiers plus a bottom drawer for labels, notes, or small tools
  • Capacity: up to 24 house-shaped spice jars; jars not included
  • Mounting: wall-mounted, with a screw pack included
  • Weight capacity: not stated
  • Style options on the page: Brown and Vintage, with a Village shape mentioned

Best for: collectors who want the largest stated depth (4 inches) and a drawer.
Skip if: you need a weight limit or an explicit list of included hardware beyond “screw pack”.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. Chunful Vintage Spice Jar Rack, 3 Tier House Shaped, 18 Jars (B0GZVZ4RGL)

Specs from the listing (checked on 2026-10-18):

  • Shape: a house with a pink corrugated roof and heart-shaped window, white body
  • Size: about 14.76 x 15.43 x 3.94 inches
  • Capacity: 3 open tiers for 18 spice jars
  • Material: the bullet says solid wood; the specification line says wood
  • Mounting: the title says hanging, but the text read does not state any hardware
  • Included: shelf only

Best for: a small wall where 18 jars is enough and a house-shaped silhouette is the goal.
Skip if: you own more than 18 jars, or need to see the mounting hardware before ordering.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. Sintuff Vintage Spice Rack, 4 Tier, 24 Jars (B0GWZTGS2W)

Specs from the listing (checked on 2026-10-18):

  • Size: 21.42 x 14.02 x 3.31 inches (the title says 22 x 14 inches)
  • Capacity: up to 24 spice jars; jar size not stated
  • Mounting: place it on a counter, or mount it using pre-drilled holes
  • Material: solid wood with a white finish and scalloped top
  • Included: accessories and instructions, no jars
  • Weight capacity: not stated

Best for: shoppers who want the choice of counter or wall and the shallowest stated depth (3.31 inches).
Skip if: your jars are deeper than the stated depth; the listing says “crafted to fit spice jar sets” without naming a set.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

What we could not verify

No listing gives a weight rating for any rack, and no listing gives a jar footprint, so the fit checks above use the rack sizes only. The Chunful 3-tier does not state its hardware in the text we read. We did not open a second jar set’s listing, so this guide covers one kit. The Kritkin claims about oven-baked colour, the food-grade silicone ring and the airtight seal come from the listing alone; no independent source was opened to check them. The Ohio State extension sheet covers spice storage conditions, not the wall rack or the paint.

Mistakes to avoid

Assuming a rack includes jars

The Chunful titles say “shelf only”, the Bailiyake bullet says spice jars are not included, and the Sintuff package lists the rack alone. Only the Kritkin item includes jars, and those are unpainted.

Hanging the display over the stove

Ohio State University Extension advises against storing spices on the counter close to the stove because heat and light shorten shelf life. A wall rack beside a range puts jars in the same heat and light, so pick a spot away from it, especially if the jars are ground spices.

Reading the jar count as proof of fit

The rack capacities say 18 or 24 jars but none gives a jar footprint. The Kritkin listing states 3 inches high and 5 oz, but gives no width or depth. Measure your own jars against the stated rack depth.

Trusting a mounting method the listing does not show

The Chunful 3-tier calls itself hanging but the text I read lists no hardware. Check the product images and the Q&A before you order.

Who should skip buying

  • Anyone who wants to store large amounts of spice. The jars here are decorative size, 5 oz at most in the one listing that states it.
  • Anyone who wants a stated weight rating for the shelves. None of the four racks gives one.
  • Renters who cannot drill into walls. Only the Sintuff listing says it can sit on a counter.

FAQ

What are house spice jars?

They are small house-shaped jars sold as a village-style set. The racks here are built to display them, usually 18 or 24 at a time.

Do the racks come with jars?

No. Chunful says shelf only, Bailiyake and Sintuff list the rack without jars. The Kritkin kit includes six unpainted jars.

Can I use the jars for food?

The Kritkin listing says the jars have a food grade silicone ring and an airtight seal, and also describes the ceramic as non-porous. I have not verified those claims, so check the seller details before using them for food.

Which rack holds the most?

Chunful 4-tier, Bailiyake, and Sintuff each state up to 24 jars. The Chunful 3-tier states 18.

Where should I hang a spice display?

Away from the stove and out of direct sun, following the Ohio State University Extension advice that heat and light shorten shelf life.

Sources

Similar Posts