Best Spicy Shelf Spice Rack

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A spicy shelf spice rack is a small tiered or pull-out rack that sits inside a cabinet or on a countertop so that jars and bottles can be seen and reached without moving the others. The seven racks below come from listings that state their width range, number of tiers, weight limit, and material. The Spicy Shelf brand makes an expandable two-tier rack, and several other makers offer close alternatives in metal, iron, or bamboo. The right choice depends on the depth of your cabinet, the size of your jars, and whether you want the rack inside the cabinet or on the counter. Where a listing does not give a figure, this guide says “not stated.”

Quick answer

  • For the widest range of cabinet sizes, the Spicy Shelf Deluxe lists an adjustable width from 7.5 to 17 inches and a 40-pound shelf capacity.
  • For the most tiers in a shallow cabinet, the SANKEU 4-tier rack lists 4 steps and a length from 13 to 21.4 inches.
  • For a bamboo look with pull-out drawers, the RONGSENDAY rack is the only pull-out option in this set.
  • Check the cabinet depth and the jar height before you buy. Most listings in this set give a depth or width you can measure against.

How to pick the right size

Measure the cabinet opening first. Expandable spice racks in this set adjust to a range, and the range is what decides whether the rack will fit. The Spicy Shelf 3.0 lists a width from 9.75 to 16.76 inches and a shelf depth of 10.25 inches. The Spicy Shelf Deluxe lists 7.5 to 17 inches and a depth of 10 3/8 inches. The Umomi rack lists 14.37 to 26.02 inches and a tier depth of 3.26 inches. Pick a rack whose range covers the space you have, and leave a little room at each end for the door hinge or the cabinet wall.

Then measure your jars. The BOIVSHI listing says each spice size is 13 by 10 by 6.5 inches, with a depth of 2.5 inches, and it says the rack holds 48 spice jars. The SANKEU listing says each tier holds up to 40 standard spice jars for the 4-tier model and 30 for the 3-tier model. The Umomi listing says each tier is 3.26 inches deep and is suited to 4 to 8 ounce jars. If your jars are taller than the tier height, look for a rack with a wider or deeper step, or plan to store the tall jars on the bottom.

Materials and load

Material changes how a rack feels and how it handles moisture. The Spicy Shelf 3.0 is listed as high-grade material, and the Spicy Shelf Deluxe is listed as rubber with a grey non-slip surface. Both Spicy Shelf models say the surface keeps bottles from sliding. The BOIVSHI, SANKEU, and Umomi racks are metal. The SANKEU racks are powder-coated iron, and the Umomi rack is painted metal that the listing describes as waterproof and rustproof. The Magheo unit is carbon steel with a painted coating. The RONGSENDAY rack is natural bamboo.

Load limits are listed in different ways. The Spicy Shelf 3.0 lists 35 pounds, the Spicy Shelf Deluxe lists 40 pounds for the shelves, the SANKEU racks list 13 pounds per tier, and the Umomi rack lists 12 pounds per tier. The BOIVSHI rack does not state a load limit. The RONGSENDAY listing does not state one either. For spices and oils, the load is rarely a problem, but a full rack of canned goods can be heavy, so check the limit before you add cans.

Rack Tiers or drawers Width or length range Listed load Material
Spicy Shelf 3.0 Premium 2 tiers 9.75 to 16.76 in 35 lb minimum High-grade material
Spicy Shelf Deluxe 2 shelves 7.5 to 17 in 40 lb shelf capacity Rubber
BOIVSHI 4-tier, gray 4 tiers Depth adjustable, 10 in deep Not stated Metal
SANKEU 4-tier, black 4 tiers 13 to 21.5 in 13 lb per tier Powder-coated iron
SANKEU 3-tier, black 3 tiers 13 to 21.4 in 13 lb per tier Powder-coated iron
Umomi 3-tier, black 3 tiers 14.37 to 26.02 in 12 lb per tier Painted metal
RONGSENDAY bamboo, 2 drawers 2 drawers, 1 shelf 9.84 in wide Not stated Natural bamboo

Racks compared, one by one

Spicy Shelf 3.0 Premium, 2 tiers

The Spicy Shelf 3.0 is the base model in the Spicy Shelf line. It has two tiers, an overall size of 33.5 inches wide, 10.5 inches deep, and 16.76 inches high, and the listing gives a width adjustment down to 9.75 inches. It is listed for kitchen use and for in-cabinet mounting. The listing says it fits pill bottles and craft supplies as well as spices. It is a practical pick for a cabinet that is not very wide, since its listed range stops at 16.76 inches.

View on Amazon

Spicy Shelf Deluxe, expandable

The Deluxe model is the most flexible rack in the Spicy Shelf line. The listing gives a width range of 7.5 to 17 inches and a shelf depth of 10 3/8 inches, and it says the shelves hold up to 40 pounds. The overall product size is 32.76 inches wide and 17 inches high, and the rack weighs 3.3 pounds. It is rubber and carries the non-slip surface that the listing describes. The listing says it is for tools, spices, and bottles, so it suits a mixed cabinet as well as a spice cabinet.

View on Amazon

BOIVSHI 4-tier spice rack, gray

This rack is a four-tier metal unit with a depth you can change. The listing says the four shelves can be combined to adjust the depth, and it is sold as a two-pack. Each unit is 10 inches deep, 13.4 inches wide, and 6.3 inches high, and the listing gives a weight of 2.9 pounds. It needs no screws, and the listing says it folds for assembly. The listing says jars are not included, so buy your own. It suits a cabinet with a mix of jar sizes, or a countertop for toiletries and craft supplies.

View on Amazon

SANKEU expandable 4-tier rack, black

The SANKEU 4-tier rack is the tallest stepped rack in this set. It expands from 13 to 21.5 inches in length, and it has guardrails on each tier that the listing says keep jars from sliding off. The overall size is 10.7 inches deep, 21.4 inches wide, and 5.6 inches high. It sits on a countertop, and the listing says the wrought-iron frame is powder-coated black. The listing says reverse installation fits larger bottles such as oil and vinegar. It is a good match for a deep cabinet where stepped access matters.

View on Amazon

SANKEU expandable 3-tier rack, black

This is the three-tier version of the SANKEU design. It expands from 13 to 21.4 inches, and its overall size is 9.4 inches deep, 21.4 inches wide, and 4.5 inches high. The listing gives the same 13 pounds per tier and the same guardrail design, and it lists 30 standard spice jars rather than 40. It takes less counter height than the four-tier model, which makes it a better choice under a low shelf or inside a shallow cabinet.

View on Amazon

Umomi expandable 3-tier rack, black

The Umomi rack expands from 14.37 to 26.02 inches, which makes it the widest range in this roundup. It has three tiers, each 3.26 inches deep, and the listing says each tier holds up to 12 pounds. The metal is described as painted, waterproof, and rustproof, which suits a pantry or a steam-prone cabinet. The overall size is 10.67 inches deep, 14.37 inches wide, and 5.63 inches high, and the rack weighs 3.7 pounds. The listing says it can be used for seasonings, oils, coffee syrups, and toiletries, and it includes screws and a stand.

View on Amazon

RONGSENDAY bamboo pull-out spice rack

This rack is different from the others because it pulls out. It has two drawers on full-extension slides, and each drawer has an oval cutout that the listing says lets you pull a jar in one motion. The bamboo is listed as resistant to warping and odors. The overall size is 10.63 inches deep, 9.84 inches wide, and 5.98 inches high, and it weighs 5 pounds. The listing says it fits standard upper cabinets and it lists cabinet, countertop, and pantry uses. It is a good pick for a cabinet where you cannot see the back jars without pulling the front ones.

View on Amazon

Review: the Spicy Shelf Deluxe in depth

The Spicy Shelf Deluxe is the rack in this set with the most listing facts, so it is worth a closer look. It is sold as a set of two shelves, and the listing gives a width range of 7.5 to 17 inches. That range covers the narrow cabinets that many kitchens have, as well as a wider corner. The listing gives the depth as 10 3/8 inches, which fits most standard spice jars.

Fit and placement

Set the shelves at the width you need, then check that the tiers clear the cabinet door. The listing says the rack is designed for an in-cabinet mount. Because the rack is expandable, you can change the width for a different cabinet later. The listing does not state a mounting kit, so plan on the included hardware and the cabinet wall.

Load and grip

The listing gives 40 pounds for the shelves, which is the highest shelf load in this set. The rubber surface is listed as non-slip, and the listing says bottles do not slide around. This matters most on a tier that holds bottles with rounded sides. For heavier items such as cans, keep the load on the lower shelf and spread it evenly.

Materials and care

The material is listed as rubber, and the listing gives indoor use as the usage type. The finish is listed as polished, and the color is listed as Spicy Shelf Organizer. The listing does not state a care method, so wipe the rubber with a damp cloth and let it dry before you put bottles back on it.

Who it suits

The Deluxe is a good fit for a cabinet with mixed items, such as spices, pill bottles, nail polish, and tools. It is less suited to a deep cabinet where you need stepped access, because it has two shelves rather than four steps. If you need more tiers, the SANKEU 4-tier rack is the closer match.

Alternatives from the pack

The Spicy Shelf 3.0 is the closest alternative. It has a narrower width range of 9.75 to 16.76 inches, a 35-pound minimum load, and a 10.25-inch shelf depth. The SANKEU 4-tier rack is the choice if you want four steps and a countertop mount.

View the Spicy Shelf Deluxe on Amazon

Common mistakes with spice racks

  • Measuring the cabinet door instead of the cabinet interior. A rack can fit the opening and still rub the door.
  • Buying by tier count alone. A 4-tier rack that is 4.5 inches high may be shorter than your tallest jar.
  • Assuming every listing gives a load limit. The BOIVSHI and RONGSENDAY listings do not state one.
  • Putting heavy cans on a rack that is only rated for spices. Check the per-tier or per-shelf limit first.
  • Ignoring the mounting type. Countertop racks and in-cabinet racks look alike but fit different spaces.

FAQ

What is a spicy shelf spice rack?

A spicy shelf spice rack is a small tiered or pull-out rack that holds jars and bottles in a cabinet or on a countertop. The Spicy Shelf brand is one maker, and the listings in this set also include racks from BOIVSHI, SANKEU, Umomi, Magheo, and RONGSENDAY. All are listed for kitchen use, and several are listed for bathrooms and pantries as well.

How do I know which width to buy?

Measure the cabinet interior and compare it with the listed range. The Spicy Shelf Deluxe covers 7.5 to 17 inches, the Spicy Shelf 3.0 covers 9.75 to 16.76 inches, the Umomi rack covers 14.37 to 26.02 inches, and the SANKEU racks cover 13 to 21.5 inches. Leave a little room at the edges so the door can close.

Can a spice rack hold canned goods?

Some listings say they can. The Umomi rack lists canned goods among its uses, and the SANKEU listing lists food canning among its recommended uses. Check the per-tier load before you add cans. The Spicy Shelf 3.0 lists a 35-pound minimum, and the SANKEU racks list 13 pounds per tier.

Is a bamboo spice rack good for a kitchen?

The RONGSENDAY listing says the bamboo resists warping and odors, and it describes the rack as suited to cabinet, countertop, and pantry use. The listing does not state a load limit. A bamboo rack is a good match for a wood-toned kitchen, but check the mounting type before you buy.

Do spice racks need screws?

It depends on the rack. The BOIVSHI listing says it needs no screws and folds for assembly. The Umomi rack includes screws and a stand. The SANKEU listing says all hardware is included with clear instructions. Read the listing for the rack you choose, since the assembly steps differ.

Is a spice rack the same as a shelf organizer?

A spice rack is one type of shelf organizer. The Spicy Shelf listings also describe use for pill bottles, craft supplies, and tools, so the product can serve more than one room. If you need a deep shelf for larger containers, look at the depth first.

Bottom line

Pick a spicy shelf spice rack by its width range first and its tier count second. The Spicy Shelf Deluxe is the most flexible two-shelf option, the SANKEU 4-tier rack gives the most steps, the Umomi rack has the widest range, and the RONGSENDAY bamboo rack is the only pull-out. Measure your cabinet interior, check the load limit, and choose the mounting type that matches where the rack will sit.

For a closer look at one of the bamboo options, read our guide to bamboo spice shelves that compares four racks by fit and load before you decide.

Similar Posts