SUNLPH 6-Tier Wire Shelving Adjustable Shelves Unit Metal Storage Rack Review
Source note: every specification in this review comes from the product data for this model.
Garages, pantries and laundry corners often need the same thing: open shelves that stand on the floor, can be moved into place without tools and can be adjusted as storage needs change. The SUNLPH 6-Tier Wire Shelving Adjustable Shelves Unit is a black metal wire rack with six tiers, and the product data lists a 480-pound maximum weight capacity. The unit measures 11.4 inches deep, 16.6 inches wide and 64.6 inches high. This review turns those figures into practical decisions and sets out the checks to make before you buy. You can see the SUNLPH shelving unit on Amazon to compare the photos with the details below.
What the box contains
The included components field lists a rod, a shelf, a clip and leveling feet. The number of items is one, the unit count is one, and the number of packs is one. The data does not explain the role of each part, so check the parts count against the box before you start. The leveling feet are the parts that help the unit sit flat on the floor.
The naming is consistent for the brand, which reads SUNLPH in both the brand and manufacturer fields. The model number reads SU03001, and the model name reads “6-Tier Shelving Unit.” The product name in the data is longer, and it lists laundry, bathroom, kitchen, pantry and closet organization as uses.
Who this unit suits
- Anyone who needs a floor-standing rack with several levels in a small footprint. The footprint is 16.6 inches wide and 11.4 inches deep.
- Buyers who want to adjust the tiers. The data says you can adjust the height of each wire rack in 1-inch increments.
- Households with a garage, bathroom, living room or office storage need. The room type field lists those four rooms, and the recommended uses add kitchen.
- Anyone who wants a black metal finish. The color and furniture finish fields both read black, and the style reads modern.
Who should look at other units
- Anyone who needs a closed cabinet. The data describes an open wire rack with a backless design.
- Anyone who needs a wall-mounted shelf. The mounting type field reads floor mount.
- Anyone with a narrow doorway. The minimum door width reads 16.6 inches, and the unit’s height is 64.6 inches.
- Anyone who needs a shelf with a backing. The back style field reads backless.
Specifications in plain terms
| Listed detail | Listed value | What it means for you |
|—|—|—|
| Size | 16.6 in wide, 11.4 in deep, 64.6 in high | A narrow, tall rack. Measure the floor and the ceiling. |
| Tiers | Six | The product name and shelf count field read six. The feature bullet reads “five-layer.” |
| Weight capacity | 480 lb maximum | The load figure in the data. Per-shelf or per-unit split not stated. |
| Item weight | 11.5 lb | Light enough for one person to move with care. |
| Shelf thickness | 0.25 in | The thickness of each wire shelf, as listed. |
| Door width | 16.6 in minimum | Check the route before the box arrives. |
| Material | Metal | Steel, described as high-density steel in the feature bullets. |
| Finish | Powder coated; black | A coated black finish. The color field reads Black. |
| Mounting | Floor mount | Stands on the floor, not on the wall. |
| Back style | Backless | Open at the back. |
| Adjustment | 1-inch increments | Each rack can be set height by height in 1-inch steps. |
| Care | Wipe with dry cloth | One care instruction is given. |
| Warranty | Not stated in the listing | Check the seller page before you buy. |
Six tiers or five layers
The product name, the shelf count and the model name all describe six tiers, but one feature bullet says “five-layer shelf.” That is a conflict in the data. The number of shelves field reads 6, and the product name reads “6-Tier.” Before you buy, confirm the tier count on the box or on the seller page, and plan the storage height with six levels in mind only if the seller confirms it.
The size field and the product dimensions do not agree on which side is the length. The size field reads 16.6 inches long, 11.4 inches wide and 64.6 inches high, while the product dimensions read 11.4 inches deep, 16.6 inches wide and 64.6 inches high. Both sets of figures give the same height and the same footprint, only in a different order. Measure the floor in the direction the unit will face, and do not assume the length and depth labels match your wall.
Load: what 480 pounds means here
The data gives a maximum weight capacity of 480 pounds. The weight capacity field also reads “Minimum weight: 16 ounces,” which does not match the 480-pound maximum in the same data. The minimum figure is not a useful load plan, so treat the 480-pound maximum as the listed figure, and keep the lower tiers for the heaviest items.
The data does not say whether 480 pounds applies to each tier or to the whole unit. Plan for the unit as a whole, and keep each tier to a load you could lift onto the shelf without strain. The unit’s footprint of 11.4 inches deep limits how far items sit from the front edge, so set bulky boxes toward the back.
Adjustable tiers in 1-inch steps
The feature bullet says you can adjust the height of each wire rack by 1-inch increments. That lets you set the spacing for tall bottles, a stack of folded towels or a box of tools. The box list names a rod and a clip, but the data does not explain their role or how they are used. Check the parts on arrival, and set the tiers before you load the unit.
Use the 1-inch steps to plan each tier’s height against the items you will store. A tall bottle or a bulky bin needs more space than a stack of paper, so measure the items first. Once the tiers are set, check each one for level before you add weight.
Leveling feet and stability
The included components field lists leveling feet, and the feature bullets describe the rack as strong and stable. The data does not describe the feet’s height range or how they lock, so check the feet on the floor before you load the unit. Use them to set the unit level, since a tall rack that sits unevenly will feel less stable under load.
The data does not give a tip-over fixing or an anti-tip kit. The box includes leveling feet, not a wall anchor. Plan the floor position with that in mind, especially for the upper tiers.
Powder coat, steel and moisture
The finish type reads powder coated, and the feature bullets describe high-quality powder coating and high-density steel. The bullets also describe the shelf as “effectively water-proof, anti-rust and durable.” Those are listed claims. The data does not describe a test method, so treat them as listed features, not ratings.
The care instruction is to wipe with a dry cloth. That is a narrower instruction than the moisture claim suggests, so keep the unit dry, and dry any spills on the wire or the coating before you put items back on the tier.
Assembly
The feature bullets say no tools are needed and that the unit is super easy to assemble without tools. The data does not give an assembly time or step count. The leveling feet, rod, clip and shelves are the parts to check against the list before you begin.
The data says that if parts are missing or assembly is difficult, the buyer should contact the seller through Buyer Message. That is the only support route the data mentions. Contact the seller before you start the build if a part is missing.
Uses by room
Garage. The room type field lists the garage, and the specific uses are not stated. Use the lower tiers for heavier items such as tool boxes, and keep the upper tiers for lighter objects.
Bathroom. The room type and recommended uses both list the bathroom. The data describes the coating as water-proof, but the care line says wipe with a dry cloth. Keep towels and toiletries dry, and check the unit after any damp spell.
Kitchen and pantry. The recommended uses list the kitchen, while the room type field does not. The product name also mentions pantry, so the data names the pantry as a use. Keep canned goods and light containers on the upper tiers.
Living room and office. The room type field lists both rooms. The data does not give specific items, so choose items that match the load and the tier height.
Laundry and closet. The product name lists laundry and closet organization. The data does not describe the laundry or closet items separately, so plan those uses from your own needs and the load figure.
Limits to weigh
- The tier count is six in the field and product name, but one bullet says five layers.
- The minimum weight field reads 16 ounces, which does not match the maximum.
- The unit is floor mounted and backless, so it does not fit a wall-fixed or closed-cabinet need.
- The data gives no anti-tip fixing and no wall anchor.
- The minimum door width is 16.6 inches, so a narrow route is a problem.
- The warranty is not stated in the listing.
Category comparison criteria
Wire shelving units are compared on tier count, height, width, depth, load rating, material, finish, adjustment method, included parts and whether a backing is included. The data includes a different unit from the Amazon Basics category research, a five-shelf adjustable wire rack in alloy steel with a chrome finish. That product is not the SUNLPH unit, and its figures apply only to itself.
The Amazon Basics listing is 36 inches deep, 14 inches wide and 72 inches high, with a 28-pound item weight. Its maximum weight capacity is 793.7 pounds, and its data states 350 pounds per shelf and 1,750 pounds total. Its adjustment is in 1-inch increments, and it includes four leveling feet. The SUNLPH unit is 11.4 inches deep, 16.6 inches wide and 64.6 inches high, with a 480-pound maximum. If you need a wider and deeper shelf, the Amazon Basics figures are the ones to compare. If you need a narrower footprint for a tight corner, the SUNLPH data gives the figures to check.
Questions buyers ask
How many shelves does it have? Six, according to the shelf count field and the product name. One feature bullet says five layers, so confirm the count with the seller.
What is the weight capacity? 480 pounds maximum. The minimum weight field reads 16 ounces, which the data does not explain.
Can the shelves be adjusted? Yes. The data says each rack adjusts in 1-inch increments.
Does it need tools? The feature bullets say no tools are needed.
Is there a wall fixing? The data does not give a wall anchor or an anti-tip kit.
Is it waterproof? The feature bullets describe the coating as water-proof, and the care line says wipe with a dry cloth. Treat the moisture claim as a listed feature, and keep the unit dry.
Is there a warranty? Not stated in the listing.
Checks to make before you buy
- Measure the floor in the direction the unit will face, with 16.6 inches wide and 11.4 inches deep.
- Measure the ceiling height against the 64.6-inch height.
- Measure the narrowest doorway on the delivery route: the minimum is 16.6 inches.
- Confirm the tier count with the seller, since the data gives both six and five layers.
- Plan the load: heaviest items on the lower tiers, with the 480-pound maximum as the listed limit.
- Check the box for the rod, shelves, clip and leveling feet before you start.
Buying the SUNLPH unit by situation
- A garage wall with a floor position. The room type field lists the garage, and the 16.6-inch width suits a narrow wall. Set the tiers at 1-inch steps for tools and boxes.
- A bathroom corner with towels. The room type and recommended uses both list bathroom. Keep items dry and wipe the unit with a dry cloth.
- A pantry or kitchen shelf. The recommended uses list the kitchen, and the product name mentions the pantry. Keep light containers on the upper tiers.
- A narrow closet or laundry corner. The footprint is narrow, but the height is tall. Check the ceiling clearance and the floor position.
- A living room or office. The room type field lists both rooms. Check the items and the load before you add them.
Measure before you buy
| Check | How to measure | Listed figure to compare |
|—|—|—|
| Floor width | Measure the wall or floor position in the direction the unit faces | 16.6 in wide |
| Floor depth | Measure from the wall outward | 11.4 in deep |
| Height | Measure from the floor to the ceiling | 64.6 in high |
| Door route | Measure the narrowest doorway on the delivery path | 16.6 in minimum door width |
| Tier spacing | Set each tier in 1-inch steps against your items | 1-inch increments |
| Load plan | Estimate the heaviest item you plan to place | 480 lb maximum; per tier or per unit not stated |
Final verdict
The SUNLPH 6-Tier Wire Shelving Adjustable Shelves Unit suits a floor position that needs an open, adjustable metal rack in a narrow footprint, with a listed 480-pound maximum. It works for garages, bathrooms, living rooms, offices and the pantry or kitchen use the data names. It is not a fit for a closed cabinet, a wall-mounted shelf or a narrow doorway. Confirm the tier count, measure the floor and the doorway, and plan the heaviest items for the lower tiers. You can check the current SUNLPH listing on Amazon for the details that apply to the unit you are buying.