White wood over the toilet storage

Best White Wood Over The Toilet Storage

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Every fact in this guide comes from the product names, specification fields and seller descriptions on the 10 Amazon listings below. Those details have not been checked against the racks themselves, so treat them as the sellers’ published figures and confirm anything that matters to you on the product page before you order.

All ten listings give white as the color, so color will not separate them. Materials do. Most say wood or engineered wood, three describe bamboo, and one is mainly metal in its specification even though its title promises wooden shelves. The heights run from about 60 to nearly 70 inches, and the stated load ratings range from 17 pounds to 220 pounds. Several figures disagree within the same listing, and this guide marks those cases rather than picking a number.

Who this guide is for

This guide is for people who want to use the space above a toilet for towels, toilet paper, toiletries or decor, and who need the rack to fit the bathroom they have. The main concerns are the height and width of the rack, the clearance under the bottom shelf, whether the rack is solid enough for the load you plan, and whether an anti-tip kit is included. For a wider view of budget options, see the over-the-toilet storage guide for budget buyers.

It is not a ranking. No rack in this set is named the winner. A tall rack with a 220-pound rating suits a different room than a short, open 17-pound rack, and a cabinet with doors suits a different need than an open shelf. The sections below help you match the listing to your bathroom.

Quick comparison table

The table lists the main figures from each listing. “Not stated” means the listing does not give the figure. “Not confirmed” means the listing gives figures that disagree, and the notes explain each case once.

Listing Material (listed) Width x height (in) Shelves Load (listed) Clearance (listed) Anti-tip (listed)
PHOARTS 3-Tier Wooden Rack Wood 25.6 x 61.4 3 17 lb Not stated Not stated
HOOBRO 3-Tier Shelf Engineered wood and metal 24.8 x 64.2 3 33 lb (scope unclear) Not stated Anti-tip kit supplied
Spirich Cabinet with Doors Engineered wood 24.8 x 66 Not confirmed 100 lb Not stated (33.3 in toilet clearance in highlight) Anti-tip fitting
Kalrin 4-Tier Rack Metal and wood 23.8 x 68.1 4 (3 open plus basket) 120 lb Not stated Not stated
Homykic 3-Tier Bamboo Shelf Bamboo 24.8 x 66.7 3 90 lb Not stated Anti-tilt parts included
Nivisre 7-Shelf Cabinet Wood 32 x 65 7 Not stated Not confirmed Anti-tipping
Homde Bamboo Organizer Bamboo 31.1 x 65.4 7 220 lb Not stated Not stated
MAHANCRIS 4-Tier Rack Engineered wood and metal 23.6 x 68.3 4 Not confirmed (22 or 22.7 lb) Not stated Not stated
UTEX 3-Tier Bamboo Frame Shelf Bamboo and engineered wood 24 x 60 3 Not stated 34 in Anti-tip kit included
Tujurich 4-Tier Rack Metal (spec); wooden shelves (title) 24.4 x 69.3 4 Not stated Not stated Anti-tip kit (description)

Three things stand out. Clearance is the figure most buyers need and the one most listings leave out: only the UTEX gives a full clearance figure, and the Spirich gives a toilet-clearance figure in its highlight. Load ratings are missing from three listings and conflict in one. Anti-tip hardware is included or described in several listings, but it is not a standard part of every rack in the set.

Start with the clearance, then the height

Before you look at materials or looks, measure the space over the toilet. The bottom shelf of a rack has to sit above the toilet tank and the seat when the lid is up, and the listings give different figures for that.

The UTEX listing gives a bottom clearance of 34 inches from the floor, and its description says that fits many standard toilets. The Spirich highlight gives a toilet clearance of 33.3 inches. The Nivisre listing gives a “ground to item distance” of 65 inches, which is the same as its overall height. A bottom clearance of 65 inches would leave no room for a toilet, so that figure is clearly not the clearance and is Not confirmed.

Measure from the floor to the top of your tank and to the top of the seat with the lid up, and compare that with the bottom clearance in the listing. Allow a margin for the seat and the lid. The listings do not give a standard toilet height, so measure your own.

The height of the rack matters too. The shortest rack in the set is UTEX at 60 inches, and the tallest is Tujurich at 69.3 inches. A rack taller than the room’s ceiling or the top of a door frame can be awkward to fit and may not be the right choice for a low ceiling.

Materials and what they mean for a bathroom

All ten listings are described for a bathroom, and bathrooms are humid. The material determines how the rack handles moisture, cleaning and weight.

Solid or engineered wood. The PHOARTS listing describes 100 percent solid pine, and it is finished with paint. Several others, including HOOBRO, Spirich, Nivisre and MAHANCRIS, use engineered wood, which is made from wood fibers and glue. Engineered wood is typically heavier than the bamboo racks, and its edges and finish matter more in a humid room. The HOOBRO listing includes waterproof among its features, which is a seller claim.

Bamboo. The Homykic, Homde and UTEX listings describe bamboo, and Homde says its bamboo is treated with PU paint for strength and easy cleaning. The Homykic listing says it is lightweight and rust proof. Bamboo racks are lighter than most of the wood racks in the set, which is useful when you move the rack for cleaning.

Metal. The Kalrin, HOOBRO, MAHANCRIS and Tujurich listings include metal. The Tujurich specification field lists metal only, and its title says wooden shelves, so the material is Not confirmed. The listings describe rust resistance for Tujurich and Homykic.

Finish. Most listings say the finish is painted or lacquered. The MAHANCRIS listing says unfinished in one field and painted or coated white in another, and the Nivisre listing describes both a white finish and a walnut-grain finish. Both are Not confirmed until the seller states one finish.

Wipe-with-dry-cloth is the care instruction in most listings, so plan for a dry cloth and a quick wipe after cleaning. Avoid soaking any of these racks, and dry any splashes quickly.

Load ratings and what they mean

Load ratings in these listings describe either the whole rack or each shelf, and the listings do not always say which. Read the field name carefully.

The Homde listing gives 220 pounds for the whole rack, and says so in its description. The Kalrin listing gives 120 pounds, and the Spirich cabinet gives 100 pounds. The Homykic gives 90 pounds. The PHOARTS gives 17 pounds, the lowest in the set with a stated figure.

The HOOBRO listing gives 33 pounds in its maximum weight field and states a static load of 33 pounds per shelf in another field. The two may describe different things, and the total load for the rack is Not confirmed until the seller states it. Do not add up the per-shelf figure across three shelves unless the seller confirms that the rack can take it.

The MAHANCRIS listing gives 22 pounds in its maximum field and 22.7 pounds in its minimum field. Those two figures conflict, so the rating is Not confirmed, and it should be treated as roughly 22 pounds until the seller confirms it.

The Nivisre, UTEX and Tujurich listings do not state a load rating, so their load is Not stated in the listing.

Two points matter more than the numbers. First, a load rating is for an evenly spread load, not one heavy item on one edge. Second, a rack’s stability depends on the anti-tip hardware and the floor, not only the rating. A rack that is not anchored can tip even when the load is inside its rating, so the anti-tip section below matters as much as the load figure.

Anti-tip kits and wall safety

Several listings include or describe an anti-tip kit. That hardware fixes the rack to the wall so it cannot tip forward, and it is especially useful for tall, narrow racks.

The HOOBRO listing says to fix the rack to the wall with the supplied anti-tip kit before use. The UTEX listing includes an anti-tip device and says it should be secured to the wall with that kit. The Tujurich listing describes a no-drill adhesive anti-tip kit, and the Spirich listing describes an anti-tip fitting that can anchor to the wall. The Homykic listing includes anti-tilt parts. The Nivisre listing describes anti-tipping, and the Nivisre description does not say whether the kit is included beyond an installation kit.

The PHOARTS and Kalrin listings do not name an anti-tip kit or anti-tipping feature. MAHANCRIS and Homde do not name one either. For those racks, plan to fix the unit to the wall, check the seller’s instructions, and confirm whether the kit is included.

Adhesive anti-tip kits depend on a clean, dry, smooth wall surface, and their grip can weaken over time. Screw-in kits need a stud or a suitable wall anchor. Those are general points for any rack, not listing claims.

How to choose a rack from this set

Work through these questions in order. Each one removes a group of listings.

How much clearance do you have? Measure the space over the toilet, and compare with the bottom clearance in the listing. UTEX (34 inches) and Spirich (33.3 inches toilet clearance) give the clearest figures. For the rest, measure the toilet and check with the seller before you buy.

How tall can the rack be? The height runs from 60 to 69.3 inches. Measure the wall height from the floor to the ceiling or the top of the door frame, and allow room for the rack and for any tilt when you install it.

Do you want open shelves or a cabinet with doors? The Spirich and Nivisre listings are cabinets with doors. The rest are open shelves or baskets. Cabinets hide clutter, but they are heavier and take more room to open.

How much will you store? A load of 17 pounds suits towels and light toiletries. A load of 90 pounds or more suits a fuller rack of supplies. Use the figure that matches the field you trust.

Do you need an anti-tip kit? If the rack is tall and the bathroom has children or pets, check that the kit is included and that you can fix it to a wall. The UTEX and HOOBRO listings are the clearest on that point.

What material suits the room? Bamboo and metal are lighter for moving. Engineered wood gives a more solid look but is heavier. Solid pine is described for PHOARTS.

Measure before you buy

These checks take a few minutes and prevent most returns.

  1. Measure the toilet clearance. Measure from the floor to the top of the tank and to the seat with the lid up, and compare with the bottom clearance in the listing.
  2. Measure the wall space. Check the width and depth against the space on the wall, and allow for the rack’s depth from the wall.
  3. Check the height. Compare the overall height with the ceiling or door frame.
  4. Confirm the load. Use the figure that matches the field you trust, and confirm the scope if two fields disagree.
  5. Check the anti-tip kit. Confirm whether the kit is included, and whether your wall can take it.
  6. Confirm the included parts. The Tujurich listing lists only adjustable feet in its included field. The Spirich listing lists shelves only, even though it has doors and a handle.
  7. Check the warranty. PHOARTS states a free warranty for product quality problems within one year. Most of the other listings state no warranty in the listing.

Product-by-product notes

The notes follow the order of the table. Each one covers the listed facts, the points that need checking, and who the rack suits.

PHOARTS 3-Tier Over-The-Toilet Wooden Rack

The PHOARTS 3-Tier Over-The-Toilet Wooden Rack is a white painted rack made of solid pine, according to its description. It has three shelves, measures 11 inches deep, 25.6 inches wide and 61.4 inches high, and weighs about 13 pounds at 5.9 kilograms. The listing gives a load of 17 pounds for the rack. The title mentions a toilet paper holder and hooks, and the included components field lists hardware only.

The listing gives a free one-year warranty for product quality problems. It does not name an anti-tip kit or give a toilet clearance, so confirm both before you order. The care instruction is to wipe with a dry cloth.

Best for: a light, solid-pine rack for towels and toiletries, where the load is modest and the toilet clearance is confirmed.

Avoid if: you need a clearance figure or an anti-tip kit stated in the listing, or you plan a load above 17 pounds.

HOOBRO 3-Tier Over The Toilet Storage

The HOOBRO 3-Tier Over The Toilet Storage is an engineered wood and metal rack with three shelves and a closed back. It measures 9.4 inches deep, 24.8 inches wide and 64.2 inches high, and the product weight is 18.7 pounds. The listing says the rack is waterproof, and the description says it is made of particleboard with a white metal frame.

The listing gives 33 pounds in its maximum weight field and a static load of 33 pounds per shelf in another field. The scope of the figure is Not confirmed. The listing also states three drawers in one field, but its shelves are the only components described. The number of drawers is Not confirmed.

The listing tells the buyer to fix the rack to the wall with the supplied anti-tip kit before use. The package includes an accessory kit, an Allen key and instructions.

Best for: a closed-back rack for a bathroom with a wall to fix to, and a buyer who will confirm the load scope and the drawers.

Avoid if: you need the drawers confirmed or a total load figure stated, or you cannot fix the rack to a wall.

Spirich Over The Toilet Storage Cabinet with Doors

The Spirich Over The Toilet Storage Cabinet with Doors is a white engineered wood cabinet with two doors, a raised-panel style and nickel hardware. It measures 9 inches deep, 24.8 inches wide and 66 inches high. The listing gives a maximum weight of 100 pounds, and it describes a 33.3-inch toilet clearance and an adjustable crossbar.

The shelf count is Not confirmed. The number of shelves is 3 in one field, but the number of levels is 1 and the number of racks is 2. The mount is also Not confirmed: one field says wall mount, while the installation field says freestanding and the description mentions an anti-tip fitting that can anchor to the wall. The included-components field lists shelves only, even though the listing describes doors and hardware. The listing gives no warranty.

Best for: a bathroom where a cabinet with doors is preferred, and the toilet clearance and anti-tip fitting are confirmed.

Avoid if: you need the shelf count, the mount type or the included items confirmed.

Kalrin 4-Tier Over-The-Toilet Storage Rack

The Kalrin 4-Tier Over-The-Toilet Storage Rack is a pure white metal and wood rack with an H-shaped frame and a cross back. It measures 9.84 inches deep, 23.82 inches wide and 68.11 inches high. The item weighs 18.3 pounds, and the listing gives a maximum weight of 120 pounds. The finish is lacquered and glossy.

The listing describes three open shelves and a storage basket, plus three removable hooks and a toilet paper holder. The count of four tiers is consistent with that description. The recommended uses include bathroom, kitchen and office. The listing does not name an anti-tip kit, a toilet clearance or a warranty.

Best for: a bathroom that needs a high load limit and four tiers of open storage, with a metal and wood look.

Avoid if: you need the clearance or an anti-tip kit stated, or you want a solid wood rack.

Homykic 3-Tier Bamboo Over The Toilet Shelf

The Homykic 3-Tier Bamboo Over The Toilet Shelf is a white bamboo rack with three shelves. It measures 10.24 inches deep, 24.8 inches wide and 66.73 inches high, and it weighs 15.2 pounds. The listing gives a maximum weight of 90 pounds. It includes hardware and anti-tilt parts, and the description says it has three hooks and towel shelves.

Two fields are Not confirmed. The shelf thickness field reads 35.6 inches, which is not a shelf thickness, and the minimum required door width field reads 24.8 inches, which matches the rack’s width rather than a door. The model number field repeats the title rather than giving a model number, so the model is Not stated in the listing.

Best for: a lightweight bamboo rack for towels and toiletries, with anti-tilt parts included.

Avoid if: you need the shelf thickness, door width or model number confirmed.

Nivisre 7-Shelf Over The Toilet Storage Cabinet

The Nivisre 7-Shelf Over The Toilet Storage Cabinet is a wood cabinet with seven shelves and two doors. It measures 9.8 inches deep, 32 inches wide and 65 inches high, and weighs 44 pounds, which makes it the heaviest in the set. The listing describes an anti-tipping feature and an installation kit.

Three points need checking. The title says imitation walnut grain, the color field says white, and the description describes a walnut finish, so the finish is Not confirmed. The ground-to-item distance is 65 inches, which is the rack’s total height rather than a clearance, so the bottom clearance is Not confirmed. The lock type field reads electronic, and nothing else in the listing describes a lock, so that field is also Not confirmed.

Best for: a bathroom that needs a wide cabinet with several shelves and doors, once the clearance and finish are confirmed.

Avoid if: you need the clearance, finish or lock type confirmed, or you need a light rack to move.

Homde Bamboo Over The Toilet Storage Organizer

The Homde Bamboo Over The Toilet Storage Organizer is a white bamboo rack with seven shelves and an adjustable design. It measures 9.17 inches deep, 31.1 inches wide and 65.35 inches high, and weighs 17.2 pounds. The listing gives a maximum load of 220 pounds for the whole rack, which the description repeats. It has a waterproof foot pad design, according to the highlight.

The title says basket and drawer, but the included-components field lists shelves only, and the specification does not describe a basket or drawer. Those items are Not confirmed. The minimum required door width field reads 31.1 inches, which is the rack’s width and not a door measurement, so do not use it to check your door. The listing gives no warranty.

Best for: a wide bamboo rack with a high load rating and several shelves, where the title’s basket and drawer are confirmed.

Avoid if: you need the basket or drawer confirmed, or you need a door check based on the width field.

MAHANCRIS 4-Tier Over The Toilet Storage Rack

The MAHANCRIS 4-Tier Over The Toilet Storage Rack is an engineered wood and metal rack with four shelves. It measures 9.5 inches deep, 23.6 inches wide and 68.3 inches high, and weighs 22 pounds. The listing says it includes an assembly kit, instructions and the rack. It has two hooks, and each shelf has protective bars on the sides and back.

The load is Not confirmed. The maximum weight field reads 22 pounds, and the minimum weight field reads 22.7 pounds, so the two cannot both be right. The finish is also Not confirmed: one field says unfinished, another says painted or coated white. The listing describes the design as industrial and simple, and its style field reads country rustic.

The listing’s recommended uses include storage rack, bookshelf, plant rack and display rack. Those are the seller’s suggested uses, and they do not describe a toilet installation by themselves.

Best for: a four-tier rack with protective bars on each shelf, where the load and finish are confirmed.

Avoid if: you need a confirmed load or finish, or you need an anti-tip kit stated in the listing.

UTEX 3-Tier Over the Toilet Storage Shelf with Bamboo Frame

The UTEX 3-Tier Over the Toilet Storage Shelf with Bamboo Frame is a white rack with a bamboo frame and engineered wood shelves. It measures 10.2 inches deep, 24 inches wide and 60 inches high, and it weighs 17.5 pounds. The listing gives a 34-inch floor clearance, which is the clearest clearance figure in the set, and the description says it fits many standard toilets.

The listing includes an anti-tip device and shelves. It describes a reinforced X-bar frame and non-slip rubber feet. The mounting type field says wall mount, but the installation field says freestanding, with the anti-tip kit fixing the unit to the wall. The mount type is therefore Not confirmed, though the kit is included. The load rating and the warranty are not stated.

Best for: a bathroom where the 34-inch clearance fits the toilet, and the anti-tip kit is wanted and included.

Avoid if: you need a load rating or a warranty stated, or your toilet clearance is under 34 inches.

Tujurich 4-Tier Over-the-Toilet Storage Rack

The Tujurich 4-Tier Over-the-Toilet Storage Rack is a white rack with four shelves and an open net basket, according to its title. It measures 9.4 inches deep, 24.4 inches wide and 69.3 inches high, which makes it the tallest in the set. The specification fields list the material as metal and the finish as semi-gloss. The title describes one-piece wooden shelves.

The material is Not confirmed, because the title says wood and the specification says metal. The included-components field lists adjustable feet only, but the title and the description describe a no-drill adhesive anti-tip kit, so the kit is Not confirmed as included. The recommended-uses field says towels, while the description covers towels, toilet paper, plants and baskets. No load rating or warranty is given in that listing.

Best for: a tall, open rack for towels and baskets, where the material and anti-tip kit are confirmed.

Avoid if: you need the material, the included kit or a load rating confirmed, or your ceiling is lower than 69 inches.

Who should buy one of these, and who should skip them

Buy a rack with a stated clearance if you have a toilet with a known height and you want a clear fit. The UTEX rack gives the clearest figure, and the Spirich rack gives a toilet clearance in its highlight.

Buy a high-load rack if you plan to store heavier supplies. Homde (220 pounds for the whole rack), Kalrin (120 pounds) and Spirich (100 pounds) give the highest stated figures.

Buy a light, open rack if you mainly store towels and toiletries and want something easy to move. PHOARTS, Homykic and UTEX are the lightest in the set with stated weights below 20 pounds.

Buy a cabinet if you want to hide clutter. Spirich and Nivisre are the two cabinets in the set. Confirm the shelf count and the mount type for either.

Skip the racks with unconfirmed loads if you plan a full load. HOOBRO, MAHANCRIS and the Nivisre, UTEX and Tujurich listings do not give a confirmed load for their full rack.

Skip any rack that does not fit your clearance. Measure the toilet first. The Nivisre listing’s clearance figure cannot be used.

Use situations

Towels and bath linens. The Tujurich and Homykic listings describe towel use, and the UTEX listing describes towels and towel storage. Open shelves are easier to reach than a cabinet.

Toilet paper and spares. The PHOARTS listing includes a toilet paper holder in its title. The Kalrin listing includes a toilet paper holder and a basket.

Toiletries and bottles. The Homde and Homykic listings describe storage for toiletries. Check the shelf depth against the bottles you use. The depths run from 9 inches to 11 inches across the set.

Decor and plants. The Homykic listing describes decorative items and plants. The MAHANCRIS listing describes plant and display racks.

Small bathrooms and laundry rooms. The UTEX listing describes compact bathrooms, apartments, laundry rooms and powder rooms. The HOOBRO listing describes laundry-room use.

Care and maintenance

Most listings say to wipe with a dry cloth. That is the safest routine for painted wood, engineered wood and bamboo, because damp cloths and standing water can damage the finish and the edges over time.

Check the anti-tip kit and the wall fixings every few months. A kit that has loosened can let a tall rack tip, and a rack that is not level can shift its load. Level the feet first, then check the kit.

Keep the shelves clear of standing water. Bathroom humidity is the main wear factor for wood and bamboo, and drying the shelves after a bath or shower helps protect them. Those are general steps rather than listing instructions.

Common mistakes

Buying before measuring the toilet clearance. The bottom shelf has to clear the tank and the seat. Measure first.

Trusting one weight figure. The HOOBRO and MAHANCRIS listings give figures that disagree or describe different things. Confirm the figure before you load the rack.

Using the width field as the door width. The Homykic, Homde and Generic-style width fields describe the rack, not the door.

Ignoring the material conflict. Tujurich says wood in its title and metal in its specification. Check the material on the page you buy from.

Assuming an anti-tip kit is included. Some listings include one, others do not state it, and the Tujurich kit is not confirmed as included.

Choosing by height alone. A 69-inch rack may not fit a low ceiling or a door frame, and a 60-inch rack may leave less clearance above the toilet than you need.

Decision rules

  1. If you have a known toilet height, shortlist only the racks whose clearance you can confirm: UTEX (34 inches) and Spirich (toilet clearance 33.3 inches in its highlight).
  2. If you need a high load, shortlist Homde (220 pounds for the whole rack), Kalrin (120 pounds) and Spirich (100 pounds). Confirm the scope of each figure.
  3. If you need a light, movable rack, shortlist PHOARTS, Homykic and UTEX.
  4. If you need a cabinet with doors, shortlist Spirich or Nivisre, and confirm the shelf count, the mount and the clearance first.
  5. If you need an anti-tip kit included, shortlist UTEX and HOOBRO, and confirm the kit before ordering.
  6. If the load, finish or material is not confirmed for the rack you want, do not order until the seller confirms it.

Weight limits and what they cover

Listings give weight limits in different ways, so read the wording. The PHOARTS 3-tier rack lists a maximum weight of 17 pounds for the whole unit. The HOOBRO 3-tier lists 33 pounds per shelf. The Kalrin 4-tier lists 120 pounds as a maximum for the unit and says each layer holds up to 30 pounds. The Homykic bamboo rack lists 90 pounds, and the Homde bamboo rack lists 220 pounds. A low maximum is fine for towels and toiletries, but a heavy item such as a full laundry basket needs a rack with a higher figure.

Heights, clearances and fit

Check the clearance under the bottom shelf before you buy. The Homykic listing puts the bottom shelf 35.6 inches from the floor. The UTEX listing gives a 34-inch floor clearance and a bamboo frame with white engineered-wood shelves. The Spirich cabinet lists 33.3 inches of toilet clearance. Measure your toilet’s tank height and the distance from the floor to the lid before you order.

Anti-tip and wall fixing

Most of these racks include an anti-tip kit, and the wording varies. The PHOARTS listing says to use the included anchors to secure the unit to the wall. The HOOBRO listing includes two sets of anti-tipping kits and two adjustable feet. The Tujurich listing describes a no-drill adhesive anti-tip kit. Fix the rack to the wall where the listing says to, especially if it sits near a child’s reach.

Warranty and finish

The PHOARTS listing offers a replacement within two years for problems, and the Nivisre cabinet has seven shelves and a 32-inch width. The MAHANCRIS rack is listed as unfinished. A painted or varnished finish on the Homde rack and a lacquered finish on the Kalrin rack are listed.

Shelf count and storage style

The PHOARTS rack has three shelves and includes a towel hook and a roll holder. The Nivisre cabinet has two doors for towels and toilet paper, open shelves, and a three-position adjustable shelf that can be moved or removed. The Homde rack has seven open shelves, a long middle shelf with adjustable height, and storage on both sides that can be swapped to suit the layout. A cabinet with doors hides clutter, and an open rack lets you see what you have, so pick the style that matches how you use the space.

Weight limits and what they mean

Over-the-toilet racks in this set list very different weight limits. The PHOARTS rack is listed at 17 pounds, the HOOBRO rack at 33 pounds, the Homykic bamboo rack at 90 pounds, and the Kalrin four-tier rack at 120 pounds. A limit of 17 pounds suits towels and small bottles, while a heavier limit suits a full shelf of supplies. Check the listed limit against what you plan to store, and remember that a rack that stands on the floor carries its load on its feet, not on the wall.

Solid wood, particleboard and bamboo

The material is the second thing to compare. The PHOARTS listing says it is 100 percent solid pine, which the listing describes as safer and more durable than other wood. The HOOBRO listing is engineered wood and metal, and says the cabinet is made of premium particleboard. The Homykic rack is bamboo and is listed as rust-proof. The Spirich cabinet is FSC-certified MDF with a beadboard design. Solid wood is heavier and can warp in a humid bathroom, while particleboard swells if it gets wet, so keep it dry and ventilated.

Cabinet with doors or open shelves

Some racks are open and some are enclosed. The Spirich listing is a cabinet with doors and an adjustable shelf, and it has an anti-tip fitting. Its listing gives a height of 66 inches and a width of 24.8 inches. The open racks, such as the PHOARTS and Kalrin, keep items visible but show every bottle. A cabinet keeps items out of sight, which suits a shared bathroom, while open shelves are easier to reach in a rush. For a closed-door option, see the over-the-toilet cabinet with glass doors.

Height and clearance

Height decides whether the rack fits over the toilet. The PHOARTS rack is 61.42 inches tall, the HOOBRO rack 64.2 inches, the Spirich cabinet 66 inches and the Homykic rack 66.73 inches. The Homykic listing says its bottom shelf sits 35.6 inches from the floor, which sets how much clearance the toilet tank needs. Measure from the floor to the ceiling and to the top of the tank before you choose a rack. For shorter options, see the short over-the-toilet storage cabinet.

Anti-tip fittings

A tall rack can tip if it is loaded unevenly or bumped. The Spirich listing includes an anti-tip fitting, and the Kalrin listing describes adjustable shelves and a storage basket. Fix the rack to the wall with the anti-tip fitting where the listing provides one, especially in a room with children or pets.

Worked example: the height spread

The shortest rack is UTEX at 60 inches and the tallest is Tujurich at 69.3 inches, so the set spans 9.3 inches (69.3 – 60). The UTEX bottom clearance of 34 inches and the Spirich toilet clearance of 33.3 inches differ by 0.7 inch (34 – 33.3), a small gap when you measure your own toilet. Compare your own figure with the clearance the listing gives, not with the rack’s overall height.

Frequently asked questions

Are all of these white? Yes. All ten listings give white as the color, though the Nivisre title mentions imitation walnut grain.

Which rack has the most clearance information? UTEX gives a 34-inch floor clearance and says it fits many standard toilets. Spirich gives a 33.3-inch toilet clearance in its highlight.

Which can take the most weight? The Homde listing gives 220 pounds for the whole rack. Kalrin gives 120 pounds, and Spirich gives 100 pounds.

Do these need to be fixed to the wall? Several listings include an anti-tip kit or describe one, and HOOBRO says to fix the rack to the wall before use. Plan to fix any tall rack to the wall, and check the listing for the kit.

Which racks are made of wood? PHOARTS describes solid pine. HOOBRO, Spirich, MAHANCRIS and UTEX describe engineered wood, and Nivisre describes wood. Homykic, Homde and UTEX describe bamboo in some form. Tujurich is metal in its specification and wood in its title, so its material is not confirmed.

Can I use one of these for a laundry room? The UTEX and HOOBRO listings describe laundry or compact-room use. Confirm the clearance and the anti-tip kit for the space before you order.

Similar Posts