VEVOR vs Amazon Basics Storage Shelves: 200 lbs per Shelf, 800 vs 1,000 lbs Total

VEVOR vs Amazon Basics Storage Shelves: 200 lbs per Shelf, 800 vs 1,000 lbs Total

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases made through the homeshelving-20 links in this post.

VEVOR vs Amazon Basics storage shelving units comes down to two floor-standing steel racks for the garage. The VEVOR unit has four shelves, swivel casters and a stated 800 lbs total without casters. The Amazon Basics unit has five shelves and a stated 1,000 lbs total. Neither listing states an anti-tip device. Both listings were read in the 2026-10-28 research session, and this post goes no further than the figures they state.

Quick answer

  • Buyers who want to roll the rack: the VEVOR listing says swivel casters. With casters, its rating drops to 110 lbs per shelf and 440 lbs total.
  • Buyers who want more shelf levels and a higher stated total without casters: the Amazon Basics listing says 5 shelves, 200 lbs per shelf and 1,000 lbs total.
  • Buyers who need a stated anti-tip device or wall fixing: neither listing states one. Check with the seller before you buy.

The comparison table

Only the spec categories that both listings address are shown. Where a listing does not state a figure, the cell says “not stated”. The two listings do not contradict each other on any figure in this table.

Spec VEVOR (B0HHBYJY53) Amazon Basics (B09W2X5Y8F)
Shelves 4 5
Size (D x W x H) 12.3 x 30 x 63 in 13.4 x 23.2 x 60 in
Capacity per shelf 200 lbs without casters; 110 lbs with casters 200 lbs
Capacity total 800 lbs without casters; 440 lbs with casters 1,000 lbs
Mounting Floor Floor
Shelf height adjustment Adjustable shelf height Adjustable in 1-inch increments
Anti-tip device Not stated Not stated
Wall mounting Not stated Not stated

VEVOR spec block

VEVOR Storage Shelves, 4-Tier Garage Shelving with Wheels 30 x 12 x 63 in

  • Material: the listing says SPCC and Q235 carbon steel, powder coated.
  • Shelves: the listing says 4; shelf type is a storage system shelf.
  • Dimensions: the listing says 12.3 in D x 30 in W x 63 in H.
  • Weight capacity: the listing says 200 lbs per shelf and 800 lbs total without casters; 110 lbs per shelf and 440 lbs total with casters.
  • Casters: the listing says swivel casters.
  • Assembly: the listing says rivet-lock structure and screw-free installation.
  • Shelf surface: the listing says breathable, thickened wire-mesh steel shelves.
  • Room and mounting: the listing says garage and floor mount.
  • Anti-tip device: not stated.

View on Amazon

Amazon Basics spec block

Amazon Basics 5-Shelf Multipurpose Adjustable Steel Garage Shelving Unit

  • Material: the listing says alloy steel, black finish.
  • Shelves: the listing says 5, tiered.
  • Dimensions: the listing says 13.4 in D x 23.2 in W x 60 in H.
  • Weight capacity: the listing says 200 lbs per shelf and 1,000 lbs total.
  • Adjustment: the listing says height adjusts in 1-inch increments and the unit has 4 leveling feet.
  • Assembly: the listing says it assembles quickly with no tools needed.
  • Room and mounting: the listing says garage and floor mount, with uses listed as garage, laundry, kitchen, playroom, living or work space.
  • Anti-tip device: not stated.

View on Amazon

How we chose this pair

This pair comes from row 1 of the comparison plan for this site (COMPARE-10-20261028.csv). Both ASINs are in research/storage-shelving-units.json, which records the two listings as read on 2026-10-28. The same search also returned three other listings in that file (VDEVY B0FR4G8QCH, VEVOR 5-tier B0CC5JXSVB, and a Himimi bookshelf B081NP3W4C). They are left out because this post compares only the assigned pair. We did not rank either product against the others. The research file did not record price, ratings, reviews or badges, and none of them appear here.

What we could not verify

  • Whether either rack stays stable at full load. Neither listing states an anti-tip device, and the listing text does not describe floor conditions.
  • How either rack attaches to a wall. Neither listing states a wall-mounting method.
  • Whether the VEVOR per-shelf figure holds when the casters are in use on a particular floor. The listing states the 110 lbs figure with casters and says nothing about the floor surface.
  • Any change to either listing after 2026-10-28.

Buying checklist

  1. Write down the heaviest item you plan to store on one shelf. Compare it with 200 lbs per shelf (both listings) or 110 lbs per shelf (VEVOR with casters).
  2. Decide whether you need wheels. The VEVOR listing says swivel casters; the Amazon Basics listing says 4 leveling feet.
  3. Measure the floor space. VEVOR is 30 in wide and 63 in high; Amazon Basics is 23.2 in wide and 60 in high, both as stated in the listings.
  4. Ask the seller about anti-tip hardware and wall fixing if your garage has children or your load is top-heavy. Neither listing states either one.
  5. Check the total load against your plan. The listing totals assume the shelf ratings apply to every shelf at once.

Shelving of this kind usually ships as a set of posts and shelf boards, so count the parts before you start. Lay the boards on a clean floor and check each post against the diagram. Tighten the fixings in stages across the whole frame rather than fully on one side first. Keep a tape measure beside the unit while you work, since a frame that is out of square by a few millimetres will show under load. Read the product page again before you buy to confirm the figures you plan to use.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Using 200 lbs per shelf for the VEVOR with casters. The VEVOR listing gives 110 lbs per shelf with casters, so the lower figure applies to a wheeled setup.
  • Reading the 1,000 lbs Amazon Basics total as a casters rating. That listing states no casters. Its total is for the unit as described.
  • Treating casters as a stability feature. The VEVOR listing names casters, not a tip-resistance rating.
  • Planning a wall fixing. Neither listing states a wall-mount method, so plan on a floor-standing unit.

FAQ

Which rack has more shelves, VEVOR or Amazon Basics?

The Amazon Basics listing says 5 shelves. The VEVOR listing says 4.

Does the VEVOR rack come with wheels?

The VEVOR listing says swivel casters. Its per-shelf and total ratings are different with casters, at 110 lbs per shelf and 440 lbs total.

Which rack has the higher stated total capacity?

The Amazon Basics listing states 1,000 lbs total. The VEVOR listing states 800 lbs total without casters.

Does either rack have an anti-tip device?

Neither listing states one. Ask the seller before you buy if this matters for your space.

Are the two racks the same size?

No. The VEVOR listing says 12.3 in D x 30 in W x 63 in H. The Amazon Basics listing says 13.4 in D x 23.2 in W x 60 in H.

Bottom line

If you need wheels, the VEVOR listing is the one with casters, but its ratings drop when they are in use. If you need the higher stated total without casters, the Amazon Basics listing states 1,000 lbs.

Related guides

Sources

  1. Amazon listing: VEVOR Storage Shelves, 4-Tier Garage Shelving with Wheels 30 x 12 x 63 in. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0HHBYJY53 (read 2026-10-28, recorded in research/storage-shelving-units.json).
  2. Amazon listing: Amazon Basics 5-Shelf Multipurpose Adjustable Steel Garage Shelving Unit. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09W2X5Y8F (read 2026-10-28, recorded in research/storage-shelving-units.json).

Both listing pages are counted as two sources under the owner rule of 2026-10-19. They were read in the 2026-10-28 research session and were not reopened for this draft. No other pages were opened.

Footer disclosure: as an Amazon Associate, this site earns from qualifying purchases made via links that carry the homeshelving-20 tag.

Similar Posts