Best Vintage Magazine Rack

Best Vintage Magazine Rack

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A vintage magazine rack is an open rack with a retro, aged or rustic finish that holds magazines, books and small household items. None of the products in this set is listed as a magazine rack. The closest matches are racks and shelves with a vintage brown or rustic finish, plus one kids bookshelf that its listing describes as a magazine storage and display shelf. Each pick below is described only with the facts its listing gives, and the mismatch is stated for every product.

Quick answer

  • For a magazine display in a room, the Costzon 5-tier bookshelf is the only listing that names magazine storage in its title. It is 22.5 inches wide and 23 inches high, and lists 38.5 pounds.
  • For a vintage brown rack that stands beside a toilet, the Kalrin and Dataroad racks are listed at 23.82 and 24 inches wide, with four shelves each.
  • For a wall-mounted vintage look, the livnhood ladder shelf is rustic brown and black, has five shelves and is listed at 72.3 inches high.
  • If you need a true magazine rack with pockets or a slot for each title, none of the listings states that feature, so check the product page before ordering.

How to choose a vintage rack for magazines

Start with the job. A magazine rack holds upright or flat issues, and most listings do not say how the shelf is sized for a magazine. The Costzon listing is the only one that names magazines in its title and bullets. The other racks are shelves for bathroom, kitchen or living room use. If you need a rack that holds magazines in a set order, measure a magazine and check the shelf depth against it before you buy.

Next, look at the finish. The word vintage appears in several titles in this set, and the listings describe brown or rustic brown finishes. The Kalrin, Dataroad and OUTWOLF racks are listed as vintage brown. The livnhood ladder shelf is listed as rustic brown and black. The Costzon unit is listed as a rustic brown wood finish. The guide does not state whether any of these finishes is a true antique finish.

Then check the weight limit. The listings give figures that cover different things. The Kalrin listing gives 120 pounds for the unit and up to 30 pounds per layer. The Dataroad listing gives up to 35 pounds per layer. The OUTWOLF listing does not state a limit. The livnhood listing does not state a limit. A magazine load is usually light, but a heavy book set needs the limit to be checked.

Finally, decide on mounting. Freestanding racks stand on the floor and need no drilling. Wall-mounted shelves need a stud or an anchor. The OUTWOLF and Dataroad racks have adjustable feet or straps for stability, and the livnhood ladder shelf is wall mounted.

Sizing and fit

The table below uses the dimensions and capacities printed in each listing. The listed figures sometimes differ between the specs and the bullets, and the table uses the specs.

Product (listing color) Shelves Width Depth Height Listed weight figure
Kalrin Over-the-Toilet Storage Rack (vintage brown) 4 23.82 in 9.84 in 68.11 in 120 lb unit; 30 lb per layer
Costzon 5-Tier Kids Bookshelf (brown) 5 22.5 in 10.5 in 23 in 38.5 lb item weight
Dataroad Over-the-Toilet Storage Shelves (vintage brown) 4 24 in 11 in 65.5 in 10 lb item weight; 35 lb per layer
OUTWOLF Over-the-Toilet Storage Rack (vintage brown) 4 24.4 in 13 in 64.6 in not stated
livnhood Ladder Shelf, 5-Tier (rustic brown and black) 5 12.98 in 10.35 in 72.3 in not stated

The three over-toilet racks are the tallest group, between 64 and 68 inches. The Costzon bookshelf is the shortest at 23 inches, and it is the only unit with a magazine role in its listing.

Materials and build

The Kalrin listing says it is built with P2 particleboard shelves and a sturdy metal frame, with an X-shaped crossbar and wall fixing nails. It includes three wooden adjustable shelves, a basket, hooks and a toilet paper holder. The specs list the material as metal.

The Costzon listing describes engineered wood with a trapezoidal frame and a wide base. Its bullets say the shelves have round edges and a splinter-free surface. It includes anti-slip foot pads and anti-toppling devices.

The Dataroad listing describes metal double-ended threaded studs and a height-adjustable crossbar. The specs list the material as metal and wood, and say the unit has adjustable and anti-tipping features.

The OUTWOLF listing says it has an all-carbon steel metal frame, three tiers of wooden panels and one mesh wire partition. It includes four retaining straps and four non-slip feet.

The livnhood listing describes premium solid wood boards and iron pipes, with the shelves fixed to the frame using screws. The listing says the metal frame is rust proof and that the wood and iron frame can be cleaned with a damp cloth.

Who each option suits

A living room or den that needs a rack for magazines and books suits the Costzon bookshelf. Its listing names magazine storage, and the five tiers suit a set of issues.

A bathroom with space over the toilet suits the Kalrin, Dataroad or OUTWOLF racks. Each lists a vintage brown finish, four shelves and a height near five and a half feet.

A wall with a clear space suits the livnhood ladder shelf. Its listing says it is wall mounted and can hold books, display items and plants.

Roundup: vintage-finish racks and shelves

The list below covers five products from the data that carry a vintage or rustic finish. Each entry states what the listing covers and what it does not.

1. Costzon 5-Tier Kids Bookshelf, Magazine Storage and Display Shelf (Brown)

This is the only listing that names magazine storage. It measures 36 by 15 by 30 inches overall, according to its bullets, and its specs give 10.5 inches deep, 22.5 inches wide and 23 inches high. The listing gives five shelves, a hidden back space, anti-slip foot pads and anti-toppling devices. It says it complies with ASTM and CPSIA standards. The room types include kids room, library and living room.

View on Amazon

2. Kalrin Over-the-Toilet Storage Rack, 4-Tier (Vintage Brown)

This rack has three open shelves, a storage basket, three removable hooks and a toilet paper holder. The listing says the particleboard shelves hold up to 30 pounds per layer, and the specs give 120 pounds for the unit. It measures 23.82 inches wide, 9.84 inches deep and 68.11 inches high, with casters included. The listing gives a one-year satisfaction warranty.

View on Amazon

3. Dataroad Over-the-Toilet Storage Shelves, 4-Tier (Vintage Brown)

This rack measures 24 inches wide, 11 inches deep and 65.5 inches high. The bullets give up to 35 pounds per layer, three open shelves, a basket, three hooks and a toilet paper holder. The listing says the unit has adjustable feet pads and a height-adjustable crossbar that fits inlet pipes of different heights. It assembles without tools by twisting the pipe, according to the listing.

View on Amazon

4. OUTWOLF Over-the-Toilet Storage Rack, 4-Tier (Vintage Brown)

This rack measures 24.4 inches wide, 13 inches deep and 64.6 inches high. The listing describes an all-carbon steel frame, three wooden shelves and one mesh wire partition. It includes four retaining straps, four non-slip feet, adhesive pads and zip ties, and the listing says no drilling is required. The bottom two tiers and the support rods each give 2 inches of adjustment.

View on Amazon

5. livnhood Ladder Shelf, 5-Tier Wall-Mounted Bookshelf (Rustic Brown and Black)

This ladder shelf is wall mounted and has five shelves. The listing gives a total height of 72.3 inches and says each shelf measures about 15.35 by 11.42 inches, with 13.31 inches between shelves. It is made of solid wood boards and iron pipes, with a rust-proof metal frame. The listing says it suits living rooms, bedrooms, studies and bathrooms.

View on Amazon

Review: Costzon 5-Tier Kids Bookshelf in depth

The Costzon unit is the only product in this set that names magazines, so it is the reviewed pick for a magazine display. Its title describes a 5-tier wooden kids bookshelf with magazine storage and display.

The specs give a width of 22.5 inches, a depth of 10.5 inches and a height of 23 inches. The bullets give an overall size of 36 by 15 by 30 inches, which differs from the specs, so check the size on the product page. The item weighs 38.5 pounds, which makes it heavy enough to stay in place without anchoring for most rooms.

The listing says the open tiers can hold picture books, comics and oversized storybooks, and that it can be used as a magazine holder and toy organizer. The hidden back space is listed for extra toys. The specs list the material as engineered wood and the finish as a rustic brown wood finish.

Safety is a main point in the listing. It says the unit has anti-slip foot pads and anti-toppling devices, a trapezoid frame and a wide base. The bullets say the round edges and splinter-free surface are designed for children. The listing states ASTM and CPSIA compliance.

Assembly is described as needing the included instructions, and the specs say the assembly instructions are provided. The listing says it wipes clean with a cloth.

Two close alternatives from the set are worth comparing. The Kalrin rack is taller and has a basket, and the livnhood ladder shelf is wall mounted with five shelves. For a magazine display in a living room, the Costzon is the closest listed match.

FAQ

Is there a true vintage magazine rack in this set?

No. None of the products is listed as a magazine rack. The Costzon bookshelf names magazine storage, and the other products are shelves or racks with a vintage or rustic finish.

Which product has a vintage finish?

Three racks carry the vintage brown label: Kalrin, Dataroad and OUTWOLF. The livnhood ladder shelf is listed as rustic brown and black, and the Costzon unit is listed as a rustic brown wood finish.

How much weight can these racks hold?

The Kalrin listing gives 120 pounds for the unit and 30 pounds per layer. The Dataroad listing gives 35 pounds per layer. The Costzon and livnhood listings do not state a limit, and the OUTWOLF listing does not state one either.

Do the over-toilet racks need drilling?

The OUTWOLF listing says no drilling is required and that adhesive pads and zip ties are included. The Kalrin and Dataroad listings describe wall fixing nails or a crossbar that fits the pipes, so check the install steps before you start.

Can a wall-mounted ladder shelf hold magazines?

The livnhood listing says it can hold books, plants, photo frames and cups. It does not say it holds magazines, so check the shelf size against your issues.

Which product is the tallest?

The livnhood ladder shelf is the tallest at 72.3 inches, followed by the Kalrin rack at 68.11 inches, the Dataroad at 65.5 inches and the OUTWOLF at 64.6 inches.

Bottom line

If you want a shelf for magazines in a room, choose the Costzon, the only product whose listing names magazines. If you want a vintage brown rack for a bathroom, compare the Kalrin, Dataroad and OUTWOLF on height, width and listed load. If you want a wall look, the livnhood ladder shelf is the wall-mounted option. Measure the space and check the weight limit before you order, and confirm the size on the product page where the specs and bullets differ.

Similar Posts