Best Shelves for CDs and DVDs: 5 Options Compared
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The person typing best shelves for cds and dvds wants a shelf that keeps discs off the floor and in order, and wants to know whether the shelf will carry the weight and how it attaches to the wall or floor.
Best Shelves for CDs and DVDs: 5 Options Compared
The best shelf for CDs and DVDs depends on whether you want it on the wall or on the floor. Our research file holds five shelving products that could work: one set of wall-mounted floating shelves and four freestanding units. All five listings state a weight limit, but not in the same way. None of the listings says how many discs a shelf holds, so this guide gives no disc count.
Quick answer
- The BAYKA Rustic Brown Floating Shelves are the only wall-mounted option in the file. The listing says each shelf supports up to 22 pounds and does not say whether that figure assumes studs.
- The Amazon Basics 5-shelf steel wire unit gives the highest total figure in the file, 1,750 pounds, but its listing states 350 pounds per shelf. Read the per-shelf number for a disc collection.
- The FOTOSOK 6-tier bamboo shelf and the Amazon Basics unit are the tallest options at 63.4 and 72 inches. Neither listing mentions anti-tip hardware, so plan for it yourself before loading the top shelves.
- Measure one of your disc cases and compare it to the shelf depth and spacing in the listing before you buy. The listings do not give disc capacity.
Comparison table
Only figures the listings state appear below. “Not stated” means the listing does not give that figure.
| Shelf | ASIN | Type (as listed) | Mounting (as listed) | Product dimensions (as listed) | Weight limit (as listed) | Item weight (as listed) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BAYKA Rustic Brown Floating Shelves 22.5in, Set of 2 | B0DZWXJ9VZ | Bracket shelf, 2 shelves | Wall Mount | 6.7″D x 22.5″W x 1.1″H | 22 pounds per shelf (bullet); “Minimum weight: 22 pounds” (spec field) | 2.08 kg |
| Golpart Small Shelves Storage Wire Metal Adjustable Shelf Unit with Wheels | B0DYDXG7KC | Utility shelf, 5 shelves | Floor Mount | 11.7″D x 17.7″W x 57.2″H | 500 pounds, per shelf or total not stated | 11 pounds |
| FOTOSOK 6-Tier Bamboo Shelf with Adjustable Shelves | B09WKN7477 | Tiered shelf, 6 shelves | Floor Mount (Installation Type: Freestanding) | 10.2″D x 23.6″W x 63.4″H | 250-lb shelf capacity (Item Highlight), per shelf or total not stated | 8.5 kg |
| Amazon Basics 5-Shelf Adjustable Heavy Duty Steel Wire Storage Shelves | B018YLFJX4 | Wire shelf, 5 shelves | Floor Mount | 14″D x 36″W x 72″H | 350 pounds per shelf; 1,750 pounds total | 27.3 pounds |
| HIEEY 4 Tier Bathroom Shelf | B0C1RL8DHH | Tiered shelf, 4 shelves | Floor Mount (Installation Type: Floor Mounted) | 14″D x 8.7″W x 39.37″H | 40 pounds; bullet says “each”, spec field says “Maximum weight” | 1.35 kg |
The five shelves
1. BAYKA Rustic Brown Floating Shelves 22.5in, Set of 2
Spec block, as the listing says:
- Material: Engineered Wood (spec field). A bullet says “Made from strong MDF wood”.
- Mounting type: Wall Mount. Included components: Hardware.
- Shelf type: Bracket Shelf, 2 shelves, shelf thickness 1.1 inches.
- Product dimensions: 6.7″D x 22.5″W x 1.1″H.
- Weight: “Minimum weight: 22 pounds” (spec field); “each shelf supports up to 22 lbs” (bullet).
- Finish: Laminated. Color: B. Rustic Brown.
- Assembly: a bullet says a detailed instruction guide and a free level tool are included.
- Item weight: 2.08 kg.
The listing gives 22 pounds per shelf in its bullet and as a minimum weight in its spec field. The two wordings do not agree on whether that is a minimum or a maximum, so treat 22 pounds as the figure the bullet states and check it with the seller before you rely on it for a full load. The listing says the set fits “wood / brick wall / drywall wall / cement wall” and comes with accessories for each wall type. It does not say which accessory carries the 22 pounds, and it does not say whether the figure assumes a stud. The CPSC report we opened makes the stud point for furniture anchoring: a wood screw is usually provided and “must be installed in a stud.” That report covers furniture and televisions, not floating shelves, so use it as a caution, not as a rule for this product.
The listing’s own uses are “Books, Clothes, Kitchen Utensils, Plants, Toiletries”. Discs are not on that list.
Skip if you plan to fix the shelf into drywall without finding a stud, or you need the weight figure to be a total for the set rather than per shelf.
Limitation: the listing gives its material two ways (Engineered Wood and MDF), and the listing does not give a disc count for its 6.7-inch depth.
2. Golpart Small Shelves Storage Wire Metal Adjustable Shelf Unit with Wheels
Spec block, as the listing says:
- Material: Metal. Finish: Baked Paint. Color: White. A bullet says the shelf is “stainless steel mesh”.
- Shelves: 5, with adjustable spacing (bullet: “Adjustable shelf height”).
- Product dimensions: 11.7″D x 17.7″W x 57.2″H. The item depth field reads 12 inches.
- Weight: “Maximum weight: 500 pounds.”
- Included components: Caster. A bullet says the unit has 4 wheels.
- Item weight: 11 pounds.
- Assembly: a bullet says the installation manual is included.
- Care: “Wipe with Damp Cloth”.
The 500-pound figure is the largest single number on the Golpart listing, but the listing does not say whether it applies to each shelf or to the whole unit. Do not read it as 500 pounds on every shelf. The listing also does not mention anti-tip hardware, and it is 57.2 inches tall. The CPSC report we opened describes the usual anti-tip kit as “screws and fabric straps that affix the furniture to the wall”. The Golpart listing does not include one, so any tip restraint is a separate purchase or a separate job.
Skip if you need a per-shelf figure, or you want a unit that is fixed in place, since this one is listed with casters.
Limitation: the listing gives the material as metal in the spec field and as stainless steel mesh in a bullet, and the depth as 11.7 and 12 inches. We show both.
3. FOTOSOK 6-Tier Bamboo Shelf with Adjustable Shelves
Spec block, as the listing says:
- Material: Bamboo. Finish Type: Unfinished. Color: Natural. Shape: Trapezoid.
- Shelves: 6. Shelf thickness: 16 millimeters.
- Product dimensions: 10.2″D x 23.6″W x 63.4″H.
- Weight: the Item Highlight says “250-lb Shelf Capacity”.
- Mounting type: Floor Mount. Installation type: Freestanding.
- Adjustment: a bullet says each tier has three levels to move.
- Assembly: the listing says “Included”, and a bullet says installation takes about half an hour.
- Item weight: 8.5 kg.
The 250-pound figure appears only in the Item Highlight. The listing does not say whether it applies to each shelf or to the whole unit, and it does not say whether it assumes anything about the wall, because the unit is listed as freestanding. The listing also does not mention anchoring hardware. At 63.4 inches tall, this unit falls in the tall-unit group, where the CPSC report on anchoring furniture is relevant. A shelf of this height should not be loaded on its top levels until you have a tip-restraint plan.
The listing describes the shelves as having “extra crossbars” that “act as baffles to protect items from falling”. That is the listing’s own description. We have no source that shows how well it works with discs.
Skip if you want a unit with a stated per-shelf figure or a stated anti-tip kit, or you need the shelf to sit under 40 inches.
Limitation: the listing gives the mounting type as Floor Mount in one field and Freestanding in another. The bullets do not mention discs.
4. Amazon Basics 5-Shelf Adjustable Heavy Duty Steel Wire Storage Shelves
Spec block, as the listing says:
- Material: Alloy Steel. Finish: black powder coated. Back style: Backless.
- Shelves: 5. Shelf thickness: 1 inch. A bullet says the height adjusts in 1-inch increments.
- Product dimensions: 14″D x 36″W x 72″H. The item dimensions field reads 14.02 x 72.01 x 35.98 inches.
- Weight: “Maximum weight: 1750 pounds.” A bullet says “each shelf holds up to 350 pounds, evenly distributed; 1750 pound total weight capacity.”
- Included components: Casters, Leveling Feet.
- Mounting type: Floor Mount.
- Assembly: a bullet says it “Assembles quickly and easily; no tools needed”.
- Item weight: 27.3 pounds.
- Minimum required door width: 16 inches.
This is the one listing that gives both a per-shelf and a total weight figure, so it is the clearest of the five on weight. Use the 350-pound figure for any single shelf and treat 1,750 pounds as the total for the unit. The listing does not say whether the unit needs a wall anchor or a stud, and the listing does not mention anti-tip hardware. The unit is 72 inches tall, which is the tallest unit in the file. The CPSC report we opened gives an example of an anti-tip system as “two screws with a short strip of woven synthetic fiber strap”, so a unit this tall should be treated as a tip-restraint job, not a freestanding one.
Skip if you want a finished look or a fixed, wall-attached shelf. The listing describes casters and leveling feet, so it is designed to move.
Limitation: the item dimensions field (14.02 x 72.01 x 35.98 inches) does not match the product dimensions field (14 x 36 x 72 inches). We quote the product dimensions field and show the conflict here.
5. HIEEY 4 Tier Bathroom Shelf
Spec block, as the listing says:
- Material: Plastic. Finish Type: Painted. Color: White-4 Tier.
- Shelves: 4. Shelf type: Tiered Shelf.
- Product dimensions: 14″D x 8.7″W x 39.37″H.
- Weight: “Maximum weight: 40 pounds.” A bullet says “maximum load to 40lbs each”.
- Mounting type: Floor Mount. Installation type: Floor Mounted. A bullet says it is “very easy to install without any extra tools”.
- Item weight: 1.35 kg.
- Care: “Wipe with Dry Cloth”.
- A bullet states an 18-month warranty. We do not rely on it here.
The listing gives 40 pounds in two places, and the two do not agree on scope. The spec field says “Maximum weight” with no per-shelf wording. The bullet says “each”, which would mean 40 pounds per shelf. The listing does not resolve this, so the safe reading is that 40 pounds is the figure to check with the seller before you load the shelves. The listing also contains other inconsistencies: its Number of Items field reads 30 while its Number of Packs field reads 1, and its Shelf Thickness field reads 14 inches, which matches the depth. We do not use either field.
This is the lightest and narrowest unit in the group, at 8.7 inches wide. That width matters for disc cases, which the listing does not measure. It is a plastic floor unit with four shelves, and the listing does not mention anti-tip hardware.
Skip if you want a wood look, or you need one per-shelf figure that the listing states without conflict.
Limitation: the listing’s uses are “Bathroom, Laundry, Kitchen” and do not mention discs, and its bullet mentions “plastic baskets”, which may not match a shelf-only product.
How we chose
- Research file date: the keyword search in the research file was checked on 2026-10-13. Product listings were checked on 2026-10-11 and 2026-10-13.
- Products considered: 12. Products kept: 5. Products left out: 7.
- Criteria for keeping a product: it is a shelf, a shelving unit, or a tiered shelf that could hold discs, and its listing gives a weight limit or enough dimensions to read.
- Left out because they are not disc-storage shelves: a shower niche (Tile Redi USA Niche Single Recessed Shower Shelf), a shower foot rest with a shelf (Bakala Corner Shower Foot Rest), a suction-cup shower caddy (VOLPONE Corner Shower Caddy), a countertop coffee station organizer (KLM Countertop Coffee Station Organizer), a stackable closet basket set (Hencawima 6 Pack Stackable Storage Closet Shelf Organizer), and two countertop spice racks (DEWOHNEN Kitchen Countertop Organizer, Memanque Tiered Spice Rack Organizer).
- We did not rank the five. The file has no ranking data, and this guide uses no prices, ratings or review counts.
What we could not verify
- How many CDs or DVDs any of the five shelves holds. None of the listings states a disc count.
- Whether any of the five is designed for discs. None of the listings lists discs among its uses.
- Whether the BAYKA set needs a stud. The listing does not say.
- Whether the Golpart and FOTOSOK weight figures are per shelf or total. The listings do not say.
- Whether any of the three tall units (Golpart, FOTOSOK, Amazon Basics) needs an anti-tip kit. None of the listings mentions one.
- The two sources we opened do not cover disc storage, wall types beyond drywall, or the performance of any specific shelf. The CPSC report is a 2015 preliminary study of anchoring furniture and televisions, and it does not cover these listings.
- The sources do not give a weight limit for any single disc case or a load test for discs.
Buying checklist
- Count the discs you plan to store, then measure one case and compare it with the depth in the listing.
- Check whether the weight figure is per shelf or total before you load the top shelves.
- For a wall shelf, find a stud and mount into it. The BAYKA listing does not say whether its 22-pound figure assumes one.
- For any unit taller than about 57 inches, plan a tip-restraint kit before you fill the top shelves. None of the tall listings includes one.
- Check the material and mounting type in the listing against what you will receive, because two of the five listings give conflicting values.
- Confirm what is in the box. The HIEEY bullet mentions plastic baskets, and the Golpart listing includes casters.
Mistakes to avoid
- Reading the Amazon Basics 1,750-pound figure as a shelf limit. The listing states 350 pounds per shelf and 1,750 pounds total.
- Treating the Golpart 500-pound figure as per shelf. The listing does not say which it is.
- Mounting the BAYKA shelves into drywall without a stud. The listing does not state a stud assumption, and the CPSC report says a wood screw “must be installed in a stud” for furniture anchoring.
- Filling the top shelves of the FOTOSOK unit, which is 63.4 inches tall, without a tip-restraint plan. The listing does not mention one.
- Using the HIEEY 40-pound figure as a per-shelf limit without checking. The spec field and the bullet use different wording.
- Using the item dimensions field on the Amazon Basics listing without checking it. It gives 72.01 and 35.98 inches for height and width, which do not match the product dimensions field.
FAQ
Can these shelves hold CDs and DVDs?
The listings do not state a disc count, and none lists discs among its uses. Measure a few of your cases and compare them to the depth and spacing in the listing before you buy.
Are floating shelves a good choice for DVDs?
The BAYKA set is the only floating option in the file. The listing states 22 pounds per shelf. It does not say whether that figure assumes a stud, so find one before you mount it.
Do I need to anchor a tall shelving unit?
The CPSC report we opened covers anchoring furniture, and its typical anti-tip system uses screws and straps that attach the furniture to the wall. None of the tall listings in this guide includes one, so plan for it separately.
What is the difference between per-shelf and total capacity?
Per-shelf capacity is the limit for one shelf. Total capacity is the limit for the whole unit. The Amazon Basics listing gives both, 350 pounds per shelf and 1,750 pounds total. The Golpart and FOTOSOK listings give one figure without saying which it is.
Which option is narrowest?
The HIEEY 4 Tier Bathroom Shelf is the narrowest in the file, at 8.7 inches wide. Its listing gives a 40-pound figure whose scope is unclear, so check it with the seller.
Why does this guide not rank the five shelves?
The file has no ranking data, so the table shows only what each listing states.
Related guides
If you are deciding how much weight a shelf can carry, read our guide to floating shelves that can hold weight. For more on wall-mounted options, see decorative floating wall shelves for the living room and floating corner shelves for the living room. For wire units and their limits, read the ClosetMaid wire shelf weight limit guide and free-standing wire shelves for the kitchen. For metal units in the garage, see Hyper Tough 5-shelf metal storage racks and Homedant 5-tier metal shelving. For tall bookcases and ladder-style units, see Lavish Home 5-tier ladder bookshelves and the Nathan James Theo 6-shelf bookcase. For small-closet layouts, read closet organizing ideas for small spaces.
Bottom line
Measure your discs against the stated depth, confirm whether each weight figure is per shelf or total, and plan a stud or a tip-restraint kit before you load a wall or tall unit. The listings do not give disc capacity, so that check is yours to make.
Affiliate note: home-shelving-guide.com may receive a commission on the Amazon links in this guide, at no added cost to you.
Sources
- Amazon product listings, five ASINs in our research file (B0DZWXJ9VZ, B0DYDXG7KC, B09WKN7477, B018YLFJX4, B0C1RL8DHH), read from the research file dated 2026-10-11 and 2026-10-13. Product URLs: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DZWXJ9VZ, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DYDXG7KC, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09WKN7477, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B018YLFJX4, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0C1RL8DHH. Listing data opened 2026-10-11 and 2026-10-13.
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, “Preliminary Evaluation of Anchoring Furniture and Televisions Without Tools,” CPSC/EXHR/TR-15/001, May 2015. https://www.cpsc.gov/s3fs-public/pdfs/Tipover-Prevention-Project-Anchors-without-Tools.pdf. Opened 2026-10-28.




