Fnbar corner floating shelves review

FNBAR Corner Floating Shelves Review

Source note: every specification in this review comes from the product data for this model.

Corners are the hardest spots to use in a living room. A rectangular shelf leaves a triangle of wall unused, and a bulky corner unit takes up floor space. The FNBAR Corner Floating Shelves are a set of two quarter-circle shelves designed to fill a wall corner. Each board measures 11.5 inches deep, 12 inches wide and 2 inches high, and the product data describes wall mounting with a set of guardrails along the front edge. This review turns the listed figures into practical decisions and sets out the checks to make before you buy. You can view the FNBAR corner shelves on Amazon to compare the photos with the details below.

What the set contains

The product data lists a set of two corner shelves, with mounting hardware and an installation guide in the package. The unit count and number of items are both two, and the set name reads “Set of 2.” The included components field names only the mounting hardware, so the box contents are the two shelves, the hardware and the instructions.

The naming in the data is worth noting before you shop. The product name reads “Floating Corner Shelf Organizer,” the model name reads “corner wall shelf,” the model number reads RL-03, and the brand is FNBAR. The manufacturer field reads RL. If you compare this set with other listings, use the model number and dimensions to match the right product.

Who these shelves suit

  • Anyone with an empty wall corner in a living room who wants storage that does not take floor space.
  • Buyers who want a rustic look. The style and finish fields both read rustic, and the color reads Rustic Brown, 2-pack.
  • People who want a shelf with a front edge that holds items in place. The guardrail is a listed feature.
  • Anyone who keeps media equipment nearby. The specific use listed is media accessories, and the feature bullets name speakers, lamps and game consoles for the built-in cord hole.

Who should look at other shelves

  • Anyone planning to hold heavy items. The listed maximum is 20 pounds.
  • Anyone who needs a wide shelf. Each board is 12 inches wide and 11.5 inches deep, so large objects will not fit.
  • Anyone who needs a door-width figure. The minimum door width is not stated in the listing.
  • Anyone who needs a low-profile board. The data lists a 2-inch height for each shelf, so check that figure against the space you have above and below the spot.

The data lists two vertical figures and they are not the same thing. The product dimensions read 2 inches high, and the shelf thickness field reads 0.49 inches. Use the 2-inch height when you plan clearance above and below the shelf, and treat the 0.49-inch figure as the thickness field the data reports.

Specifications in plain terms

| Listed detail | Listed value | What it means for you |

|—|—|—|

| Size per shelf | 11.5 in deep, 12 in wide, 2 in high | A quarter-circle footprint that fits a corner. Measure both walls. |

| Count | Two shelves; set of 2 | Use both corners or stack the pair on one wall if the space allows. |

| Weight capacity | 20 lb maximum | The only load figure given. Per-shelf or per-set split not stated. |

| Material | Wood; material type wood | A wood board. The data does not name the species. |

| Finish | Rustic; rustic finish; waterproof wood (furniture finish field) | A rustic look. The furniture finish field reads “Waterproof Wood,” which is a listed claim, not a test result. |

| Mounting | Wall mount; floating, wall mounted | Plan the fixings before you drill. |

| Bracket | Quarter-circle bracket shape; widened metal brackets | The bracket follows the shape of the board. |

| Guardrail | Black metal guardrail | Keeps items from sliding off the front edge. |

| Cord hole | Built-in rear cord hole | A path for cables behind the shelf. |

| Item weight | 3.5 lb | Light enough to hold in one hand while you mark the wall. |

| Included | Mounting hardware; installation guide | Hardware is in the box. Anchor details are not described. |

| Care | Wipe with damp cloth | The data gives one care instruction. |

| Warranty | Not stated in the listing | Check the seller page before you buy. |

Why the corner shape matters

A quarter-circle shelf fits into the angle where two walls meet. The data gives the footprint as 11.5 inches deep and 12 inches wide, so the shelf takes a square-ish corner rather than a long run of wall. The item size field reads “Corner Mounted,” which confirms that the product is designed for a corner position and not a flat wall.

Before you choose the height, measure the wall on each side of the corner. The product data does not list a minimum door width or a corner-specific clearance, so those checks fall to you. Mark the height first, then mark where the bracket meets each wall, and make sure the two marks line up.

The shape also changes how items sit. The data describes the shelf as a quarter-circle, with a black guardrail that the listing presents as the feature that keeps bottles, books and ornaments in place.

Load: what 20 pounds means here

The product data gives a maximum weight capacity of 20 pounds in two fields. The figure applies to the product as listed, and the data does not say whether it is per shelf or for the set. Plan for the lower reading, and keep each shelf to a load you could carry comfortably in one trip.

Items that suit this board are the ones the feature bullets name: bottles, books and ornaments. Keep the heaviest items on the lower board, and use the upper board for decorative pieces. The data says the brackets are widened, which the listing presents as “solid support with large load capacity.” Those words describe the bracket design. The 20-pound figure is still the limit to plan around.

The guardrail and the cord hole

Two features set this set apart in the product data. The first is the anti-drop guardrail. The data describes sleek black metal guardrails that prevent items from slipping off, and it says the frame keeps bottles, books and ornaments in place. Guardrails add a visible black edge to a wood finish, so decide whether that contrast suits your room before you buy.

The second feature is the built-in rear cord hole. The data says it helps manage cables for speakers, lamps and game consoles. That makes the shelf useful in a living room where the wall behind the corner holds electronics. Check the cable route before you drill, since the hole is for cables, not for mounting.

Finish, color and care

The finish is described as a rustic distressed wood grain. The data calls it a “classic rustic brown wood grain surface” with a farmhouse aesthetic, and it presents the texture as a feature that adds character to a blank corner. The color field reads “Rustic Brown-2pack,” and the finish types field reads rustic.

The care instruction is to wipe with a damp cloth. The furniture finish field reads “Waterproof Wood.” That is a listed field value. The data does not describe how the finish was tested, so it is not a reason to place the shelf where it will sit in standing water. Dry any splashes, and keep the shelf away from a sink or tub, since the data gives no guidance for wet rooms.

Mounting and fit

The product data describes “widened metal mounting brackets” and says the set comes with all mounting hardware for quick wall installation. It also says the rustic vintage look blends with most home styles. The installation type reads wall mount, and the back style reads floating, wall mounted.

Work through these checks before you drill:

  • Wall type. The data does not describe the wall materials the hardware suits. Compare the hardware with your wall before you buy.
  • Corner geometry. Measure both walls from the corner point so you know the board’s footprint fits both sides.
  • Level line. Mark a level line first. Check the level mark twice before you fix the bracket.
  • Cord route. If you plan to use the rear hole, run the cable before you fix the bracket.
  • Clearance. Check the space above and below each board for lights, frames and furniture.

Assembly

The data says the set is “provided with mounting hardware and installation guide.” It does not state the number of steps, the tools needed or the assembly time. The assembly instructions description is short, so read the guide before you start. Lay out the two shelves, the hardware and the guide, and check the parts count against the data before you begin.

Uses in a living room and beyond

Living room corner. The room type field reads living room only, and it matches the specific use listed, which is media accessories. A corner beside a TV or sound system suits a speaker, a small lamp or a game console controller, with the cable routed through the rear hole.

Bathroom and bedroom. The feature bullets say the shelf maximizes corner space in the living room, bathroom and bedroom. The room type field does not include the bathroom or bedroom, so the data is the only source for those uses. Keep items light and dry in a bathroom, given the 20-pound listed limit and the wood finish.

Display. The data calls the shelf a storage organizer and a wall decor piece. Books, bottles and ornaments are the items named. Use the shelf for objects you want to see, with the guardrail keeping them in place.

Limits to weigh

  • The maximum load is 20 pounds, and the data does not split it by shelf.
  • The data does not state the minimum door width or a warranty.
  • The room type field lists only the living room, even though the feature bullets describe other rooms.
  • The product care line is limited to a damp cloth.
  • The data does not name the wood species.

Category comparison criteria

When comparing corner floating shelves, look at footprint, height, load rating, material, guardrails, included parts and the number of shelves per set. The data includes a different corner shelf set from the ROMGUAR CRAFT category research, and that product is not the FNBAR set. It helps show where the FNBAR figures stand.

The ROMGUAR listing is a set of four shelves with a 40-pound maximum. Its board measures 11.4 inches deep, 16 inches wide and 0.6 inches high, and its material is paulownia wood. The ROMGUAR data does not list a guardrail or a cord hole. The FNBAR set is two shelves with a 20-pound maximum, a 2-inch height, and a guardrail and cord hole listed as features. If you need a higher load, the ROMGUAR figures are the ones to compare. If you want a guardrail and a rear cord hole, the FNBAR data is the one that lists them.

Questions buyers ask

Is the shelf waterproof? The furniture finish field reads “Waterproof Wood.” The data does not describe how the finish was tested, so treat the field as a listed claim and keep the shelf dry.

Is there a warranty? Not stated in the listing.

What is the minimum door width? Not stated in the listing.

How many shelves are in the set? Two. The number of shelves field reads 2, and the set name reads Set of 2.

What color is it? Rustic Brown-2pack.

What is the care routine? Wipe with a damp cloth.

What is the model number? RL-03.

Checks to make before you buy

  1. Measure both walls at the corner, and confirm each side is at least 12 inches wide for the board.
  2. Confirm the height above and below the shelf, since the board is 2 inches high.
  3. Check that nothing sits behind the marked spot: pipes, cables or fixtures.
  4. Plan the load: 20 pounds maximum, with heavier items on the lower board.
  5. Decide whether you need the cord hole, and route the cable before you drill.
  6. Compare the rustic brown color with your room under your own light.

Buying the FNBAR corner shelves by situation

  • A living room corner beside a TV. The room type and media accessories fields point this way. Use the rear hole for the lamp cable and the guardrail for light items.
  • A corner that holds books and ornaments. The guardrail is the feature to check, since the data names books and ornaments as items it keeps in place.
  • A bathroom corner. The feature bullets mention the bathroom, but the room type field does not. Keep the load light and the finish dry.
  • A corner that needs a heavy load. The 20-pound listed maximum is too low for heavy items. Look for a higher rating before you buy.

Measure before you buy

| Check | How to measure | Listed figure to compare |

|—|—|—|

| Corner wall width | Measure each wall from the corner point | 12 in board width |

| Shelf depth | Measure from the wall outward along the board | 11.5 in deep |

| Shelf height | Measure the board edge from top to bottom | 2 in high |

| Board thickness | Measure the edge of a board | 0.49 in shelf thickness |

| Cord route | Measure the distance from the outlet to the rear hole | Not a listed figure |

| Load plan | Estimate the heaviest item you plan to place | 20 lb maximum |

Final verdict

The FNBAR Corner Floating Shelves suit a living room corner where you want a rustic wood shelf with a guardrail and a rear cord hole. The set includes two shelves and the mounting hardware, and the data lists a 20-pound maximum. They are not a fit for heavy loads, wide objects or a door-width check you cannot confirm. Measure both walls, plan the load and confirm the cable route before you drill. You can check the current FNBAR listing on Amazon for the details that apply to the set you are buying.

Similar Posts