Best Living Room Cabinets

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Living room cabinets are closed or part-open storage units that hold media, books, games, and everyday items out of sight. The six picks below come from the product data we hold for this keyword, and every size, material and weight limit is what the listing states. Widths run from about 12 inches to 30 inches, and heights from about 24 inches to nearly 67 inches, so the right cabinet depends on the wall space, the items you store, and how much weight the shelves must carry.

Quick answer

  • For a low sideboard or media cabinet, look for a width of about 22 to 30 inches and a stated load per shelf or in total.
  • For a tall narrow unit, choose a model that lists an anti-tip kit or anti-tip hardware, and check that the listing gives its height.
  • Decide between doors and open shelves before you compare sizes; several listings combine both.
  • Read the weight line. The listings here give different limits for the same unit, so check the figure that applies to your load.

How to choose a living room cabinet

Start with what you store. A cabinet for games, books and remotes needs enclosed doors and a drawer or two. A cabinet for decor needs an open top and a closed base so that the display area stays tidy. The HITNET listing describes a tabletop surface, an open compartment and two cabinets, which suits a mix of display and concealed storage. The TEENFON two-door, two-drawer listing describes a wide tabletop and two open shelves for decor, with a roomy base for larger items.

Next, measure the wall or floor space. The depth matters most in a living room that also holds a sofa or a walkway. A deep unit can crowd a seating area, while a shallow unit gives less room inside. The table in the sizing section gives each listing’s dimensions as stated, so you can compare them directly.

Then look at the door style. Several listings here describe flat-panel, slab, shutter or fluted doors. The style affects the look more than the function, but a flat or slab door is easier to keep clean, and a fluted or shutter door shows dust in the grooves. Choose the door that fits the room, not the one with the most decorative details.

Sizing and fit

The table lists each cabinet’s dimensions in the order depth by width by height, as the listing states, with its shelf or drawer count and its stated weight limit. Use it to check whether a cabinet clears a sofa, a wall outlet or a doorway.

Product D x W x H (inches, as listed) Doors and drawers Material per listing Weight limit per listing
Furinno Luder 2-tier bookcase with cabinet 9.3 x 21.8 x 27 2 doors, open shelf Engineered wood, FSC particle board 90 lb total; 20 lb top panel; 30 lb per shelf; 40 lb lowest shelf
REHOOPEX black storage cabinet 14.6 x 30.3 x 31.3 2 doors Engineered wood, 15 mm MDF per bullet 65 lb maximum in specs; bullet says 100 lb top
TEENFON storage cabinet with doors and drawers 11.4 x 23.6 x 49.6 2 doors, 2 drawers Engineered wood 180 lb overall
HITNET bamboo floor cabinet 11.81 x 23.62 x 31.69 2 doors, 2 tier cabinets, open top Bamboo 110 lb maximum
INNOD wall cabinet, natural oak 8 x 23.5 x 24.5 1 door, open and adjustable shelves Engineered wood, PB and MDF per bullet Not stated
TEENFON tall bathroom cabinet, green 11.8 x 11.8 x 66.9 2 doors, open shelves Engineered wood, particle board per bullet Not stated

Two rows need a closer look. The REHOOPEX listing gives two different top-load figures, 100 pounds in a bullet and 65 pounds in the specs. The TEENFON tall cabinet lists three shelves in its specs, while its bullets describe two adjustable shelves with five heights. In both cases, confirm the figure with the seller before you load the unit.

Materials and finish

Most cabinets here are engineered wood. The Furinno listing describes FSC particle board with a laminated finish in Metropolitan Pine. The REHOOPEX and TEENFON listings describe MDF or engineered wood with a painted or flat finish. The INNOD listing describes a glossy finish in natural oak with PB and MDF in the build. The HITNET listing is the only bamboo unit in the group, with a lacquered surface and magnetic door catches.

Engineered wood can take on moisture, so keep the cabinet out of direct water spray. The TEENFON tall cabinet lists a water-resistant surface, and the TEENFON two-door listing says the material withstands humidity. For the bamboo HITNET listing, the care line says to wipe with a damp cloth.

Who each option suits

A low two-door unit such as the REHOOPEX listing suits a living room that needs a sideboard or a place to store games. It is wide enough for a row of items and has a stated 65-pound maximum in the specs. A cabinet with a drawer, such as the TEENFON two-door, two-drawer listing, suits a room where remotes, cables and papers need a home.

A tall, narrow cabinet such as the TEENFON 67-inch listing suits a corner, a hallway or a spot beside a sofa. Because it is tall, check the anti-tip hardware and fix the unit to the wall if the listing advises it. The INNOD listing is a wall-mounted cabinet, which saves floor space in a small room.

Mistakes to avoid

The most common mistake is buying by look and skipping the weight limit. Shelves can sag under a heavy load, so match the stated figure to the items. The Furinno listing states that the bookcase is not suitable to hold heavy weight, and the listing repeats the warning in its assembly bullet. Take that literally.

The second mistake is ignoring the assembly time. Several listings here need assembly. The TEENFON two-door listing says the unit takes about 30 minutes to put together, and the TEENFON tall listing describes its setup as simple and clear. Plan the time and check that the hardware bag is complete before you start.

The third mistake is treating a bathroom cabinet as a living room piece. The HITNET and TEENFON tall listings name the bathroom in their room lists, but both also name the living room. The Baztin medicine cabinet is listed for a bathroom and was left out of this roundup for that reason. For a wider look at living room shelving, the Living Room Wall Shelves and Bookcases: 6 Picks Compared post covers open options, and the Best Wall Hanging Shelves for Living Room guide shows how to fit wall units to a room.

The fourth mistake is skipping the anti-tip check on a tall unit. The TEENFON tall listing includes an anti-tip kit. The INNOD listing is wall-mounted, which avoids the issue entirely. Any freestanding tall cabinet can tip, so use the included hardware where the listing supplies it.

Roundup: six living room cabinets compared

1. Furinno Luder 2-Tier Bookcase with Cabinet, Metropolitan Pine

This unit combines an open top shelf with a two-door cabinet below. It measures 9.3 inches deep, 21.8 inches wide and 27 inches tall. The bullets say the top panel holds 20 pounds, each shelf holds 30 pounds, the lowest shelf holds 40 pounds, and the total is 90 pounds. The listing says the build is FSC-certified particle board with labeled parts and instructions. The room list names living room, bedroom, dorm and home office. It is a good fit for a small living room where books and a storage box need to sit side by side.

View on Amazon

2. REHOOPEX Black Storage Cabinet with Doors

This flat-panel cabinet is 14.6 inches deep, 30.3 inches wide and 31.3 inches tall. It has two doors with gold handles and two shelves inside, with a 45-pound limit on each shelf according to the bullets. The bullets describe a sideboard for a dining room or living room and say it can be used as a console table or a TV stand. The listing gives a 65-pound maximum in the specs and a 100-pound top capacity in a bullet, so confirm which figure applies. It suits a living room that needs a sideboard in a modern black finish.

View on Amazon

3. TEENFON Storage Cabinet with Doors and Drawers, White

This cabinet is 11.4 inches deep, 23.6 inches wide and 49.6 inches tall. It has a wide tabletop, two open shelves for decor, two drawers, and a roomy base for larger items. The listing says the interior shelves adjust to three heights and that the cabinet carries an overall load of 180 pounds. It also lists an 18-month warranty for quality problems in a bullet. The weight is 43 pounds. The listing names the entryway and home office among its room uses, and it fits a living room that needs closed storage with some display space.

View on Amazon

4. HITNET Bamboo Floor Cabinet with Double Doors and Open Shelf

This bamboo unit measures 11.81 inches deep, 23.62 inches wide and 31.69 inches tall. It has an open top shelf and a lower enclosed cabinet with two fixed shelves. The listing describes a lacquer-coated surface and a magnetic catch on the curved handle. The specs list a 110-pound maximum weight, four shelves and an anti-tip device in the box. The listing names living room, kitchen, entryway and bathroom among its room uses. It is the one bamboo cabinet in the group and suits a living room that wants a natural material.

View on Amazon

5. INNOD Wall Storage Cabinet, Natural Oak

This wall-mounted cabinet is 8 inches deep, 23.5 inches wide and 24.5 inches tall. It has one swing door with a fluted front, adjustable shelves and open shelving. The listing describes a curved profile and a hardware finish in chrome or nickel. The bullets say it is built from PB and MDF. The listing gives a weight of 22.3 pounds and names bathroom, entryway, hallway, kitchen and living room among its uses. It suits a small living room where floor space is tight and the wall above a sofa is free.

View on Amazon

6. TEENFON Tall Bathroom Cabinet, Green, Narrow

This narrow cabinet is 11.8 inches deep, 11.8 inches wide and 66.9 inches tall, and it has two doors that can be hung on either side. The bullets describe enclosed cabinets for small items, two open shelves for towels and tissue, and an anti-tip kit. The listing says the particle board has a water-resistant surface for humid rooms. It names the living room, entryway, kitchen and home office among its room uses. Its tall height makes it useful in a corner, though the specs and bullets give different shelf counts, so check before you buy.

View on Amazon

Review: TEENFON Storage Cabinet with Doors and Drawers in depth

The TEENFON two-door, two-drawer listing is the most complete in this group, so it makes a useful model for the choices a buyer faces with a living room cabinet. The unit is 11.4 inches deep, 23.6 inches wide and 49.6 inches tall. It is painted white, has a flat-panel door style and silver hardware, and the listing gives a weight of 43 pounds. The overall load is stated as 180 pounds, which is a single figure for the whole unit rather than a per-shelf limit.

The first bullet describes the cabinet as a way to clear clutter. It gives two drawers for odds and ends, a wide tabletop and two open shelves for decor, and a roomy bottom cabinet for larger items. That layout matches a living room where the cabinet must hold both display items and things you want out of sight.

The second bullet describes adjustable interior shelves. The listing says they move to three heights, which lets the owner store tall items or short ones. Adjustable shelves help when the contents change over time, such as when a box of games gives way to a stack of larger books.

The third bullet describes a farmhouse look with retro wood and barn-style doors. It says the cabinet can serve as a storage cabinet, a pantry, a bathroom cabinet, a bookcase or an entryway cabinet. The specs list the style as country and the finish as painted, so the look is consistent. Note that the listing lists the cabinet for multiple uses, so the shelf capacity should guide the choice more than the stated uses.

The fourth bullet makes a material claim. It says the cabinet is made of engineered wood that resists humidity. The specs confirm engineered wood as the material and list the top, back and frame as engineered wood as well. The listing does not give a per-shelf limit, so use the 180-pound overall figure as the guide.

The fifth bullet describes assembly. The listing says the parts are labeled and the instructions are straightforward, and that a typical build takes about 30 minutes. The specs list the installation type as freestanding and the base type as legs. Because it is freestanding, use the listing’s anti-tip guidance and fix the cabinet to the wall if the room layout allows.

The sixth bullet is the warranty. The listing offers an 18-month warranty for quality problems and a 24-hour response on dissatisfaction. Keep the order record and check the warranty terms before you assemble the unit, since a damaged part is easier to replace before the box is opened.

Two close alternatives from the same pack show different trade-offs. The HITNET listing is bamboo and adds an open top shelf with a 110-pound maximum, which suits a living room that wants a natural material. The Furinno listing is smaller, at 21.8 inches wide and 27 inches tall, with a 90-pound total capacity, which suits a narrow wall.

FAQ

What size is a typical living room cabinet?

The cabinets in this roundup range from 8 inches deep for the INNOD wall unit to 14.6 inches deep for the REHOOPEX sideboard. Widths run from 21.8 inches for the Furinno unit to 30.3 inches for the REHOOPEX cabinet. Heights range from 24.5 inches for the INNOD wall unit to 66.9 inches for the TEENFON tall cabinet. Measure your space before you choose a size.

How much weight can a living room cabinet hold?

The listings give different figures. The Furinno listing states 90 pounds total and 30 pounds per shelf. The HITNET listing states a 110-pound maximum, and the TEENFON two-door listing states an overall load of 180 pounds. The REHOOPEX listing gives a 65-pound maximum in the specs and a 100-pound top capacity in a bullet. The INNOD and TEENFON tall listings do not state a limit. If the limit is not stated, ask the seller before you load the shelves.

Is a wall-mounted cabinet better than a freestanding one?

A wall-mounted cabinet, such as the INNOD listing, frees up floor space and keeps the base clear for cleaning. A freestanding cabinet, such as the TEENFON two-door listing, does not need wall fixing and can be moved. Choose wall-mounted when floor space is limited and the wall is sound enough to take the weight.

Do living room cabinets need anchoring?

Some listings include anti-tip hardware. The HITNET and TEENFON tall listings both mention an anti-tip device or kit. Tall or top-heavy freestanding cabinets can tip, so check the listing and use the included hardware. If the listing does not include anti-tip hardware, anchor a tall unit to the wall where the room layout allows.

What finish works best in a living room?

The finish is a matter of taste. The REHOOPEX listing is black with gold handles, the TEENFON two-door listing is white, the INNOD listing is natural oak with a glossy finish, and the HITNET listing is natural bamboo. Choose the finish that matches the room, and check the care line for cleaning. Most listings advise a damp or dry cloth.

How long does assembly take?

The TEENFON two-door listing says the unit takes about 30 minutes to assemble with labeled parts and clear instructions. The Furinno listing says it is designed for easy assembly with instructions and labeled parts. The HITNET listing says the unit comes with assembly hardware and a manual that uses an Allen wrench. Set aside time for the build and check the hardware before you start.

Bottom line

Choose the cabinet by the job it must do and the weight it must carry. For a sideboard that holds a row of items, the REHOOPEX listing is the clearest fit. For closed storage with a drawer and some display space, the TEENFON two-door listing gives the most complete set of facts. For a natural material with a stated maximum, the HITNET listing stands out. Read the weight line in each listing, and confirm any figure that the listing gives twice.

Similar Posts