Metal Garage Shelves: 5 Listings Compared by Stated Capacity

Metal Garage Shelves: 5 Listings Compared by Stated Capacity

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you are looking for metal garage shelves, you want a rack that holds boxes, paint cans and tools without bending, and that fits your garage wall or floor. This guide compares five listings by what each one states: weight capacity per shelf and in total, size, mounting, and height adjustment. Where a listing is silent, the table says not stated. Every figure comes from the listing text read on 2026-10-28, and the numbers are the listings’ own.

Quick answer

  • The two VEVOR 5-tier units state the highest per-shelf figure in this set, 400 lbs per shelf and 2000 lbs total.
  • The Amazon Basics 4-shelf and 5-shelf units state 200 lbs and 350 lbs per shelf, with height adjustable in 1-inch increments.
  • The FLEXIMOUNTS 2-pack is the only wall-mounted option here. It states 600 lbs per shelf and 1200 lbs total for the pair.
  • None of the five listings states an anti-tip device, so check the maker instructions before you load upper shelves.

Comparison table

Sizes are each listing’s own dimensions, shown as width x depth x height.

Listing (ASIN) Shelves Per shelf Total Size, W x D x H Mounting Height adjustment
Amazon Basics 4-shelf steel (B09W2Y51TC) 4 200 lbs 800 lbs 23.2 x 13.4 x 48 in Floor, 4 leveling feet 1-inch increments
VEVOR 5-tier, 30 x 12 x 60 (B0CC5JXSVB) 5 400 lbs 2000 lbs 30 x 12 x 60 in Floor, rubber foot pads Adjustable, clip-in
VEVOR 5-tier, 36 x 18 x 71 (B0CC5G4M8F) 5 400 lbs 2000 lbs 35.43 x 18 x 71.38 in Floor not stated
Amazon Basics 5-shelf steel (B018YLFJX4) 5 350 lbs 1750 lbs 36 x 14 x 72 in Floor, 4 leveling feet 1-inch increments
FLEXIMOUNTS 2-pack bracket shelf (B0FXDXYWQZ) 2 600 lbs 1200 lbs (2-pack) 72 x 24 x 15 in Wall not stated

The five listings, one by one

1. Amazon Basics 4-Shelf Steel Wire Storage Shelves (B09W2Y51TC)

  • Material and finish: the listing says alloy steel, painted black.
  • Capacity: the listing says 200 lbs per shelf, evenly distributed, and 800 lbs total.
  • Size: the listing says 23.2 in W x 13.4 in D x 48 in H. Its variants run from 2 to 5 shelves and from 22.2 in to 60 in tall.
  • Stability: the listing says 4 leveling feet. Wheels and anti-tip are not stated.
  • Assembly: the listing says it assembles with no tools needed.
  • Rooms named: garage, laundry room, kitchen and playroom.

View on Amazon

2. VEVOR 5-Tier Storage Shelves, 30 x 12 x 60 in (B0CC5JXSVB)

  • Material: the listing says SPCC carbon steel with MDF boards and a powder-coated finish.
  • Capacity: the listing says 400 lbs per shelf and 2000 lbs total.
  • Size: the listing says 30 in W x 12 in D x 60 in H. A 12 x 36 x 72 variant is also listed.
  • Adjustment: the shelves are adjustable and clip into place.
  • Extras: 16 rubber foot pads, and the listing says the unit can be split into two separate storage racks.
  • Rooms named: bathroom, kitchen and laundry room. The title says garage storage, but the room field does not name the garage.

View on Amazon

3. VEVOR 5-Tier Storage Shelves, 36 x 18 x 71 in (B0CC5G4M8F)

  • Material: the listing says SPCC carbon steel and MDF boards, powder coated and scratch resistant.
  • Capacity: 400 lbs per shelf and 2000 lbs total, per the listing.
  • Size: the listing says 35.43 in W x 18 in D x 71.38 in H, the deepest floor unit in this set.
  • Assembly: press-to-assemble, with a rubber hammer and gloves included.
  • Rooms named: bathroom, garage and kitchen. Adjustment and wall mounting are not stated in this listing.

View on Amazon

4. Amazon Basics 5-Shelf Adjustable Steel Wire Storage Shelves (B018YLFJX4)

  • Material and finish: the listing says alloy steel, black.
  • Capacity: the listing says 350 lbs per shelf and 1750 lbs total.
  • Size: the listing says 36 in W x 14 in D x 72 in H.
  • Adjustment: each shelf adjusts in 1-inch increments, and the listing names 4 leveling feet.
  • Assembly: the listing says no tools are needed.
  • Rooms named: closet, garage and kitchen.

View on Amazon

5. FLEXIMOUNTS 2-Pack Garage Wall Shelving With 8 Hooks (B0FXDXYWQZ)

  • Material: the listing says alloy steel, painted, with 0.8 in x 0.6 in steel tubing in the bullets.
  • Capacity: the listing says 600 lbs per shelf and 1200 lbs total for the 2-pack.
  • Size: the listing gives one set of dimensions, 24 in D x 72 in W x 15 in H.
  • Mounting: wall mount, with a snap-in spring pin assembly that the bullets say needs no tools or welding.
  • Extras: 8 steel hooks for cords, hoses, tools and paint buckets.
  • Anti-tip: not stated. This is a wall-mounted bracket shelf, not a floor-standing rack.

View on Amazon

Where the listings disagree

No two listings in this set give different figures for the same product. The Amazon Basics 200 lbs and 350 lbs figures belong to two different units and do not conflict. The one mismatch is the room field on the VEVOR 30-inch unit, which names bathroom, kitchen and laundry room while its title says garage storage. The listing does not explain the gap, so treat the title as the listed name, not as proof of garage use.

How we chose

The criteria were plain: a metal shelving unit or wall shelf sold for garage or utility storage, a stated weight capacity, and listing text that gives size. We read five listings returned for the search metal garage shelves on 2026-10-28. None was left out as off-topic, because the wall-mounted FLEXIMOUNTS bracket is still a metal garage shelf product and is shown with that caveat. The table follows the research file order. It is not a ranking, and price, star ratings, review counts and badges were not recorded or used.

What we could not verify

  • Anti-tip devices: none of the five listings states one.
  • Wheels: none of the four floor units states wheels.
  • Coating durability in a damp garage. The listings use words such as powder coated and rust-resistant. This post repeats them only as the listings’ own wording.
  • Real-world capacity. Every figure is the listing’s own. This post adds no independent load figures.
  • Fit against your wall. The 36-inch VEVOR is 18 in deep, deeper than the 12 and 14 inch floor units above it in the table.

Buying checklist

  • Measure the wall or floor space, plus the height of any garage door track or light fixture.
  • Compare the per-shelf figure with your heaviest single item, not with the total.
  • Confirm the mounting type first. Floor units and the wall bracket install in different ways.
  • Check the adjustment step. The 1-inch and 1.5-inch increments fit different loads, and some listings do not state one.
  • Count the assembly tools. The VEVOR units include a rubber hammer and gloves, and the Amazon Basics units say no tools are needed.
  • Look for anti-tip wording in the listing. None of these five states it.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Dividing a total by the number of shelves to get a per-shelf figure. The VEVOR figures match (400 x 5 = 2000), but that match is only a check, not a rule to apply to other units.
  • Choosing the wall bracket for a floor job. The FLEXIMOUNTS listing describes wall mounting and a 15 in height, so it is not a free-standing rack.
  • Trusting the garage title alone. The 30-inch VEVOR room field does not name the garage.
  • Loading a shelf above its listed figure because the frame looks sturdy. The listings state only the figures they give.

FAQ

Are the VEVOR 5-tier units rated for 2000 lbs on each shelf?

No. The listing says 400 lbs per shelf and 2000 lbs total. Five shelves at 400 lbs add up to the total, so the two figures agree, but the listing does not say a single shelf can carry the full 2000 lbs.

Do the Amazon Basics units need to be fixed to the wall?

Neither listing states an anti-tip device or a wall-anchor part. Both list 4 leveling feet. Read the maker instructions before you decide whether a tall rack needs anchoring.

Which listing is the only wall-mounted option?

The FLEXIMOUNTS 2-pack. It lists 600 lbs per shelf, 1200 lbs total for the pair, and 8 steel hooks. Its 15 in height makes it a bracket shelf, not a floor rack.

Can the 30-inch VEVOR be used as two racks?

The listing says it can be split into two separate storage racks. The 36-inch VEVOR listing does not state that.

Do any of these need tools to assemble?

The Amazon Basics listings say no tools are needed. Both VEVOR listings are press-to-assemble and include a rubber hammer and gloves.

Which floor unit has the deepest shelf?

The 36 x 18 x 71 inch VEVOR, at 18 inches deep. The FLEXIMOUNTS bracket lists 24 inches, but it is wall-mounted and sits outside the floor-unit comparison.

Bottom line

Match the per-shelf figure to your heaviest item and confirm the mounting type before you buy. The two VEVOR 5-tier units state the highest per-shelf limit here at 400 lbs, but the 30-inch one lists bathroom, kitchen and laundry room rather than the garage.

Related guides

Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, this site earns from qualifying purchases made through the links in this post.

Sources

  • Amazon listing, Amazon Basics 4-Shelf Steel Wire Storage Shelves: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09W2Y51TC (read 2026-10-28)
  • Amazon listing, VEVOR 5-Tier Storage Shelves 30 x 12 x 60 in: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CC5JXSVB (read 2026-10-28)
  • Amazon listing, VEVOR 5-Tier Storage Shelves 36 x 18 x 71 in: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CC5G4M8F (read 2026-10-28)
  • Amazon listing, Amazon Basics 5-Shelf Adjustable Steel Wire Storage Shelves: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B018YLFJX4 (read 2026-10-28)
  • Amazon listing, FLEXIMOUNTS 2-Pack Garage Wall Shelving: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0FXDXYWQZ (read 2026-10-28)