Best Wooden Rack For Spices
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A wooden rack for spices keeps jars visible and off the counter, and it can sit on a countertop, on a wall or inside a cabinet. This roundup compares four wooden spice racks from our product pack. For each one we give the wood type, the mounting the listing describes, the size it states and what it says about jar capacity. The pack also includes shoe racks and shelves that the listings do not describe as spice storage, so we left those out.
Quick answer
- Pick the mounting first. The Arflo and VessPure racks sit on a countertop, the TILZ GEAR rack can stand free or hang on a wall, and the OCG unit is a pull-out that installs inside a base cabinet.
- Check the jar fit. The Arflo listing says its grooves are 2.4 inches wide and hold up to 21 jars of 4 ounces. The VessPure listing says its grooves are widened but gives no jar count.
- Measure the cabinet for the pull-out. The OCG listing needs a cabinet opening of at least 6.5 inches wide and an interior depth of at least 23 inches.
- Note the wood. Three of the four are described as acacia or oak wood, and the TILZ rack is listed as wood in a brown oil-rubbed finish.
How to choose a wooden spice rack
Start with where the rack will live. A countertop rack needs a flat spot near the stove, and its footprint matters more than its height. A cabinet pull-out needs a base cabinet with the right opening and depth, and you should measure the cabinet before you order. A wall rack needs a clear wall space and a hanging method the listing supports.
Next, count your jars. Standard spice jars differ in diameter, and a rack with narrow grooves may not hold them. The Arflo listing gives its groove width and a jar count, which makes it the easiest of the four to plan around. The VessPure listing says its grooves are widened to hold more jars, but it does not state a count.
If you buy a rack to give as a gift, check whether the listing includes the spices. The TILZ GEAR listing includes 12 filled glass jars. The other three listings describe racks only, and they do not state that spices are included.
For a wall-mounted option in a different style, our best wooden door mounted spice rack roundup compares four door-mounted racks by fit, and our best spice racks roundup covers kitchen counters, walls and cabinets together.
Wood type and finish
Three of the four racks are described as acacia or oak. The Arflo rack is acacia wood, and its listing says the wood is 0.6 inches thick with one-piece side panels. The VessPure rack is also acacia, and its bullets describe a solid, thickened board with an integrated side panel. The OCG pull-out is described as solid wood in its bullets, while its spec table lists metal and oak. The TILZ GEAR rack is listed as wood with an oil-rubbed finish in brown.
Wood gives a warm look, but the listings differ on care. The VessPure bullets say the rack is easy to clean with a damp cloth. The other three listings do not state a cleaning method. If you want a rack that goes in a kitchen with frequent splashes, check the care line in the live listing before you buy.
Sizing and fit
The table below gives each rack’s stated size and mounting. Where a listing gives two figures for the same size, both are shown with their source.
| Rack | Wood | Mounting | Listed size (D x W x H) | Jars and contents |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TILZ GEAR 3-tier spice rack | Wood, brown oil-rubbed finish | Freestanding or wall mount | 3 x 8 x 8 in (spec); about 20 x 7 x 20 cm (bullet) | 12 glass jars with 12 spices, per the listing |
| Arflo acacia 3-tier spice rack | Acacia wood | Tabletop | 15.35 x 9.45 x 9.45 in | Up to 21 jars of 4 oz (113 ml) each, per the bullet |
| OCG 5-inch pull-out organizer | Metal and oak (spec); solid wood (bullet) | In cabinet, pull-out | 21.9 x 5 x 25.2 in | Not stated |
| VessPure 3-tier spice rack | Acacia wood (bullet) | Countertop | 9.4 x 15.6 x 9.3 in (spec); 39.5 x 24 x 23.8 cm (bullet) | Not stated |
The VessPure spec and bullet sizes agree once converted, so the table shows both. The OCG listing gives the width of the upper shelves as 5 inches and the base plate as 6.5 inches, which is why the opening figure matters more than the overall width.
Jar fit and capacity
The Arflo listing gives the most detail on jars. Its grooves are 2.4 inches wide, which the listing says is wider than many common racks. It says the rack holds up to 21 spice jars of 4 ounces, or 113 milliliters, each. The VessPure grooves are described as widened, and the listing says they hold a range of condiment containers, but it gives no count. The TILZ jars are 4.3 by 4.3 by 5.4 centimeters, each with a screw cap and a label. The listing says they can be washed and refilled.
The OCG pull-out is an organizer for spices, utensils and kitchen tools, and its bullets do not describe jar grooves. Its four removable stainless steel utensil holders are for tools, so the rack suits mixed storage.
Mounting: countertop, wall or cabinet
Countertop. The Arflo and VessPure racks are both listed as countertop racks. The Arflo listing says to assemble one side first and then stand the rack up. The VessPure listing includes screws, a screwdriver and all mounting accessories, and says it needs no extra tools.
Wall or freestanding. The TILZ GEAR rack is listed as freestanding or wall mounted. Its bullets describe an easel on the back, which lets it stand on a worktop, and they say it can be hung on a wall.
In a cabinet. The OCG unit is a pull-out that mounts to the floor of a base cabinet. The listing says it includes drawer slides, hardware and wood boards, and it uses anti-swing wheels to keep items in place. It needs a cabinet opening of at least 6.5 inches and an interior depth of at least 23 inches.
Review: Arflo Acacia Wooden Spice Rack for Countertop
The Arflo rack is a three-tier countertop rack made from acacia wood. The listing gives its size as 15.35 inches by 9.45 inches by 9.45 inches and its weight as 1.55 kg. Its bullets describe a wood thickness of 0.6 inches, a corresponding wider width and one-piece side panels, which the listing says make the rack less prone to cracking than racks with perforated sides. The grooves on each tier are 2.4 inches wide, and the listing says that fits most common spice jars.
The bullets say each tier is spaced so the jars at the back stay easy to reach, and that every spice is visible at a glance. The spec table lists the style as Art Deco, and the listing names a kitchen or a gift as its use. The spec table lists the room as the kitchen, the mounting as tabletop and the indoor use. Its included-components field reads “Required accessories,” so check what is in the box before you assemble it. The listing also gives a model number and says the rack is for food.
The listing gives a 21-jar count, which is the clearest capacity figure in this roundup. If you want a close alternative with a tabletop mount, the VessPure rack is also acacia wood with a countertop mount, and its bullets describe a similar tiered layout. The TILZ GEAR rack is the alternative to choose if you want the jars and spices in one set.
Roundup: four wooden spice racks
1. TILZ GEAR Wooden 3-Tier Spice Rack with 12 Filled Glass Jars
A three-tier wooden rack that comes with 12 filled glass jars, which the listing says hold organic spices and herbs. The jars are labeled, have screw caps and can be washed out and refilled. The rack can stand on a worktop or hang on a wall, and the listing gives a size of about 3 by 8 by 8 inches. The listing says it suits a kitchen, a grilling station or a gift for a cook. The item weighs 65 grams.
2. Arflo Acacia Wooden Spice Rack for Countertop
A three-tier countertop rack in acacia wood with 2.4-inch grooves and a stated capacity of 21 jars of 4 ounces each. The listing measures 15.35 by 9.45 by 9.45 inches and describes one-piece side panels. The full review above covers this rack in more detail.
3. OCG 5-Inch Pull-Out Solid Wood Storage Organizer
A three-tier pull-out organizer for a base cabinet, sized 5 inches wide, 21.9 inches deep and 25.2 inches high. The listing says it stores spices, utensils and kitchen tools, and that it has a full-extension undermount slide and four removable stainless steel utensil holders. It requires a cabinet opening of at least 6.5 inches wide and an interior depth of at least 23 inches, and the listing says you should check the size before you buy. Its bullets describe the upper shelves as 5 inches wide and the base plate as 6.5 inches wide. The spec table lists the material as metal and oak, while the bullets describe solid wood.
4. VessPure 3-Tier Acacia Spice Rack Organizer
A three-tier countertop rack in acacia wood, sized 9.4 inches deep, 15.6 inches wide and 9.3 inches high. The listing says it comes with screws, a screwdriver and all mounting accessories, and that it needs no extra tools. Its bullets describe widened grooves that hold a range of condiment containers, and the listing says the rack can also hold essential oils and small daily items. It says the rack is easy to clean with a damp cloth. The listing does not state a jar count.
Mistakes to avoid
The most common mistake is buying a pull-out without measuring the cabinet. The OCG listing needs a 6.5-inch opening and a 23-inch interior depth. If your cabinet is narrower, a countertop rack is a better fit.
The second mistake is assuming a jar count the listing does not give. The Arflo listing states 21 jars, but the VessPure and OCG listings do not. Measure your jars, and check the groove width against the figure in the listing.
The third mistake is reading the wood type from the title alone. The OCG title says solid wood, the spec table says metal and oak, and the TILZ listing says wood. Read the material line in the spec table and the bullets before you choose, especially if you want a specific wood.
FAQ
Will a wooden spice rack hold standard spice jars?
The Arflo listing says its grooves fit most common spice jars and that it holds up to 21 jars of 4 ounces each. The VessPure listing says its grooves are widened to hold a range of condiment containers. The TILZ rack comes with its own 4.3-centimeter jars. The OCG listing does not state a jar count.
Can I put a spice rack in a drawer?
The OCG unit is designed for a base cabinet and needs a 6.5-inch opening and a 23-inch interior depth. The other three racks are countertop or wall racks, and the listings do not describe them as drawer organizers.
Is the wood solid?
The listings differ. The VessPure bullets describe solid, thickened acacia wood. The OCG bullets describe solid wood, while its spec table lists metal and oak. The Arflo listing describes high-quality acacia wood with one-piece side panels, but it does not use the word solid. The TILZ listing describes wood without a more specific grade.
Can the rack be cleaned with a damp cloth?
The VessPure listing says yes. Of the other three, the TILZ listing only says its jars can be washed. The TILZ jars can be washed out, according to their listing, and the Arflo and OCG listings say nothing about cleaning.
Which rack makes a good gift?
The TILZ GEAR rack is the clearest gift, because it includes 12 jars with spices and its listing calls it a great gift for a cook. The Arflo listing calls itself an excellent gift option, and the VessPure listing calls its rack an ideal gift choice. The OCG unit is a cabinet organizer and is not listed as a gift.
Bottom line
Choose a wooden spice rack by mounting first, then jar capacity, then wood type. If you have a countertop and need a jar count, the Arflo rack is the one with the clearest figures. If you have a base cabinet, measure the opening before you order the OCG pull-out. If you want jars and spices in one set, the TILZ GEAR rack is the simplest choice.
Related reading on this site: Best Spice Racks for Kitchen Counters, Walls and Cabinets and Wooden Door Mounted Spice Rack: 4 Picks Compared by Fit.