Industrial Racks: 4 Heavy-Duty Listings Compared
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Industrial Racks: 4 Heavy-Duty Listings Compared
The person typing industrial rack usually wants heavy steel storage for a garage, shed or workshop, where bins, tools and bulky gear need to sit off the floor. This guide compares four listings on the figures each one states: size, shelf count, weight limits, material and mounting. Industrial racks carry large load figures, and the listings disagree on several of them. Those disagreements are shown as written, and no figure is extended beyond what the listing states.
Quick answer
- The highest stated figures are Metalkast’s 5,000 lb maximum, and WORKPRO’s 2,180 lb total. Both are listed as the unit’s capacity; neither listing explains how the total relates to each shelf.
- WORKPRO states 436 lb per shelf in a bullet, while VEVOR states 400 lb per shelf and 2,000 lb total.
- HOMEDANT’s listing gives no weight figure in the captured text, and its mounting is described as both wall mount and standing shelf.
- No listing here states anti-tip or wall-anchor hardware in the captured text.
Comparison table
| Listing | Size (as stated) | Shelves | Load figure(s) stated | Material and finish | Mounting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Metalkast B0DNDX5LFX | 18 D x 35 W x 71 H in | 5 | 5,000 lb maximum (title and spec table); 1,100 lb minimum-weight field | Powder-coated steel, wire shelves | Freestanding, floor mount, backless |
| HOMEDANT B0CDB2CJK3 | 28 in wide (title); other dimensions not stated | 5, adjustable | Not stated | Metal, white | Overview says wall mount; elsewhere standing and freestanding |
| WORKPRO B0F1CZD5B1 | 15.7 D x 35.4 W x 72 H in | 5 | 2,180 lb total; 436 lb per shelf (bullet) | Metal | Floor mount, garage use |
| VEVOR B0CC5G4M8F | 18 D x 35.43 W x 71.38 H in | 5, adjustable | 2,000 lb total; 400 lb per shelf (bullet) | SPCC carbon steel and MDF boards (overview); powder coated | Floor mount |
A cell that reads “not stated” means the listing text the research captured did not contain that figure.
Product-by-product specs
Metalkast Heavy-Duty Metal Garage Shelving (B0DNDX5LFX)
- The listing says: 18 inches deep, 35 inches wide, 71 inches high, five wire shelves, backless and freestanding.
- The title and spec table both say 5,000 lb capacity. A minimum-weight field in the spec table says 1,100 pounds. The listing does not explain the relationship between the two.
- The listing says: powder-coated black finish, rust-resistant coating, and a step-by-step assembly manual. It names warehouses, garages, sheds and workshops as suitable settings.
- Anti-tip hardware is not mentioned in the captured listing.
HOMEDANT 5-Tier White Garage Shelving Unit (B0CDB2CJK3)
- The title says 28 inches wide, with five adjustable tiers. No other dimensions are stated in the captured text.
- Mounting conflicts. The overview block says wall mount; other parts of the listing describe a standing, freestanding shelf. Both are shown.
- The listing says: tool-free boltless assembly, snap-together design, and that the shelves can be repositioned.
- Weight capacity: not stated in the captured text.
WORKPRO 5-Tier Heavy-Duty Garage Shelving (B0F1CZD5B1)
- The listing says: 15.7 inches deep, 35.4 inches wide, 72 inches high, five shelves, adjustable shelf height, floor mount.
- The listing gives 2,180 lb total capacity, and a bullet says each shelf supports 436 lb. The per-shelf figure is the one a reader should use for the top shelf, and the listing does not explain how the 436 lb and 2,180 lb figures relate.
- The captured listing says nothing about anti-tip parts.
VEVOR 5-Tier Adjustable Storage Shelves (B0CC5G4M8F)
- The listing says: 18 inches deep, 35.43 inches wide, 71.38 inches high, five adjustable tiers, floor mount.
- The bullet says 2,000 lb total load capacity and 400 lb per shelf.
- The overview block says SPCC carbon steel and MDF boards. MDF is a wood-fibre board, so check which parts are steel and which are MDF before loading heavy items.
- Anti-tip text is not stated in the captured listing.
How we chose
We started from the search term “industrial rack” and read five listings on 2026-10-28. The criteria were: the product is a heavy-duty storage rack a home reader could use in a garage, shed or workshop; the listing states at least a size or load figure; and the product is the one the keyword names. We did not rank these racks, and the order above is not a score. One listing, F&L Aluminum Parts B0F3LPR6B8, is an all-welded aluminum dunnage platform described for warehouses, restaurants and retail. It is a commercial platform rather than home shelving, and it was left out. That leaves four listings. We did not check price, ratings or availability, and none of those are reported here.
What we could not verify
- Whether any of these racks has anti-tip or wall-anchor hardware. None of the captured listings states it.
- Which Metalkast figure is the working load: the 5,000 lb maximum or the 1,100 lb minimum-weight field.
- HOMEDANT’s weight capacity and full dimensions, which the captured text does not state.
- Whether WORKPRO’s 436 lb per shelf matches its 2,180 lb total when all five shelves are loaded.
- Finish durability, assembly time and tool needs beyond what the listing states.
Buying checklist
- Measure the floor space and the ceiling height. The rated units here are 71 to 72 inches tall, so check clearance under a garage door or beam.
- Find the per-shelf figure before you load the top shelves. Where only a total is given, ask the seller or read the manual.
- Confirm the shelf material. VEVOR lists MDF boards; the others describe steel or wire.
- Plan for anti-tip on a tall rack. CPSC’s AnchorIt guidance says: “Existing furniture can be anchored with inexpensive anti-tip brackets.”
- Check whether you need wall mounting. HOMEDANT’s listing conflicts on this point.
Mistakes to avoid
- Using the total figure for a single shelf. WORKPRO’s 2,180 lb total and 436 lb per shelf are different limits. Load each shelf to its own figure.
- Taking the largest number. Metalkast’s 5,000 lb maximum sits beside a 1,100 lb minimum-weight field. Plan around the lower figure until the seller explains it.
- Assuming a wall mount. HOMEDANT’s overview says wall mount, while other sections describe a freestanding unit.
- Skipping the material line. VEVOR’s MDF boards are a different shelf material from the steel wire the other listings describe.
FAQ
Which industrial rack has the highest stated capacity?
Metalkast states 5,000 lb maximum in its title and spec table. WORKPRO states 2,180 lb total. The Metalkast listing also gives a 1,100 lb minimum-weight field, which the listing does not explain.
Do these racks need tools to assemble?
Metalkast includes a step-by-step assembly manual. HOMEDANT says tool-free and boltless. The captured text for WORKPRO and VEVOR does not state assembly tools, so check each listing.
Can I anchor an industrial rack to the wall?
None of the captured listings states wall-anchor hardware. CPSC’s AnchorIt page says existing furniture can be anchored with inexpensive anti-tip brackets. Use a bracket on any tall rack, and follow the manual’s instructions for wall and floor fixing.
Is a garage rack the same as a wall shelf?
No. These listings describe freestanding racks with floor mounts. HOMEDANT’s overview says wall mount, which conflicts with its other sections, so confirm the mounting before you buy.
What size should I measure for?
The listings give overall heights of 71 to 72 inches for three of the four units. HOMEDANT’s height is not stated in the captured text. Measure the clearance, including any door or beam, before ordering.
Why was the aluminum platform left out?
The F&L listing is a commercial dunnage platform described for warehouses and retail, with a single shelf and no stated dimensions. It is not a home shelving unit, so it does not belong in this comparison.
Bottom line
Pick the rack whose stated per-shelf figure and height fit the load and the space, and treat every conflicting number as unconfirmed until the seller answers.
Related guides
- Plano vs VEVOR standing shelf units
- Hyper Tough 5-shelf metal storage rack
- HOMEDANT 5-tier metal shelving
- Outnili vs STTORABOKS storage racks
- ClosetMaid wire shelf weight limit
- Hyloft ceiling storage unit
- Free-standing wire shelves for a kitchen
- Shelves for a small room
- Floating shelves that can hold weight
Sources
- CPSC, “AnchorIt!” campaign page, https://www.cpsc.gov/Safety-Education/Safety-Education-Centers/AnchorItgov (opened 2026-10-28)
- Amazon product listings for ASINs B0DNDX5LFX, B0CDB2CJK3, B0F1CZD5B1 and B0CC5G4M8F, read 2026-10-28 (captured in research/industrial-rack.json)
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links on this page are affiliate links.

