Spice Shelf Options for Cabinets and Counters
Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A spice shelf is a small rack that holds spice jars on a cabinet shelf, on a countertop or inside a door, with the labels turned toward you. The person typing spice shelf usually wants to know which size fits a specific cabinet, whether it needs tools, and what the listing says about weight. This guide compares nine spice shelves from listing data recorded on 2026-10-27. It uses only what those listings state, and it says where they stay silent.
Quick answer
- For a counter, the Oizeir (4 inches deep) and VenDotbi (8.74 inches square) listings state the smallest footprints. For an in-cabinet rack, the Zri Bamboo and Spicy Shelf listings give width ranges, so measure the opening before you compare the rest.
- For a cabinet that opens wide and has room for a sliding unit, the SpaceAid pull-out is the only slide-out in this set. Its bullets say it suits a cabinet about 12 inches tall and 10.60 inches deep.
- Only four listings state a weight figure: Spicy Shelf (35 pounds), PEEKUP (13 pounds per shelf), Moforoco (5 pounds shelf weight) and Zri Bamboo (14.4 ounces). Most of the rest do not state one.
- Two listings say no assembly is needed (Copco 3-Tier and Oizeir). The SpaceAid listing includes hardware and a screwdriver, which means it does need assembly.
How we chose
We worked from one source: the listing data recorded in research/spice-shelf.json on 2026-10-27. That file holds 12 products. We kept nine. We left out three for stated reasons. One is a cupcake display riser whose bullets describe display use rather than a spice shelf. One is a 3-tier listing whose bullets describe an ice cream scoop, so its data cannot be trusted for this page. One is a magnetic fridge rack whose mounting, shelf type and room fields hold the value “1” instead of a description, so its mounting method is not captured.
The listings are not the same kind of product. Some sit on a counter, some sit inside a cabinet, one is a pull-out, and one hangs over a door. We kept them in one set because each one answers the same question for a reader: how do I hold spice jars in a space that is already in my kitchen? We do not rank them. Each section below repeats only what the listing says and what it leaves out.
Comparison table (listing specs, checked 2026-10-27)
Each cell repeats a figure from the listing. “Not stated” means the listing does not give that figure.
| Product (ASIN) | Mounting (listing) | Shelves (listing) | Size (listing) | Weight (listing) | Material (listing) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zri Bamboo 3-Tier Expandable (B07R4H5J2C) | Countertop, under cabinet | 3 | 7.7 in D x 22.2 in W x 4.29 in H; expands to 12.70 to 22.20 in | 14.4 ounces | Bamboo |
| Spicy Shelf 3.0 (B0CN2L5GR8) | In cabinet | 2 | 10.5 in D x 33.5 in W x 16.76 in H; width 9.75 to 16.76 in | 35 pounds (listing gives both “maximum” and “minimum”) | “High-grade material” (not named) |
| Copco 3-Tier (B0036OQU56) | In cabinet, countertop | 3 | 15.16 in D x 9.06 in W x 3.54 in H | Not stated | Plastic |
| VenDotbi 3-Tier Bamboo (B0B5X3S3X8) | Tabletop | 3 | 8.74 in D x 8.74 in W x 3.35 in H; width 8.74 to 15.59 in | Not stated | Bamboo |
| SpaceAid Pull-Out (B0F8NGPH76) | In cabinet | 3 (title says 2-tier) | 10.6 in D x 7.6 in W x 9.6 in H | Not stated | Bamboo |
| Moforoco Over-the-Door (B0BX7PKKKQ) | Over the door | 9 | 4.9 in D x 15.3 in W x 74.8 in H | 5 pounds (shelf weight capacity) | Metal |
| PEEKUP Expandable 3-Tier (B0GK18YLP3) | Tabletop | 3 | 9.45 in D x 13 in W x 4.5 in H; width 13 to 21.5 in | 13 pounds per shelf (bullet) | Powder-coated metal |
| JinDoWin 3-Tier Bamboo (B0DGF3Q6XL) | In cabinet | 3 | 7.1 in D x 15.7 in W x 3.9 in H | Not stated | Bamboo |
| Oizeir Clear Acrylic 3-Tier (B0D7NZQ86G) | Countertop | 3 | 4 in D x 10.4 in W x 4 in H | Not stated | Plastic (clear acrylic per bullet) |
Product notes, one by one
Each product below uses the same three parts: the listing’s own figures, a line on when the product fits, and a line on its limit. Where a figure is missing, the note says so.
Zri Bamboo 3-Tier Expandable Spice Rack (B07R4H5J2C)
- The listing says: bamboo, 3 shelves, expandable to 12.70 to 22.20 inches long, 7.70 inches wide, 4.30 inches high.
- The listing says: mounting is countertop or under cabinet, and the recommended use is spices.
- The listing says: shelf weight capacity is 14.4 ounces. It does not say whether this is per shelf or total.
- The listing says: place it horizontally, because the shelf depth is 2.28 to 2.56 inches and jars fit that depth. Do not place it vertically.
- The listing says: wipe with a damp cloth and air dry, and never put it in a dishwasher or submerge it.
Skip if your jars are wider than the 2.28 to 2.56 inch depth the listing gives. Limitation: the listing does not say whether the 14.4 ounce figure refers to one shelf or the full unit.
Spicy Shelf 3.0 Expandable Cabinet Spice Rack (B0CN2L5GR8)
- The listing says: 2 shelves, 10.5 inches deep, 33.5 inches wide, 16.76 inches high. Width adjusts from 9.75 to 16.76 inches.
- The listing says: the minimum required door width is 9.75 inches, and the shelf depth is 10.25 inches.
- The listing says: weight capacity is 35 pounds. It gives this figure as “Weight Capacity Maximum” and as “Minimum weight,” and it does not explain the difference.
- The listing says: a grey rubber surface is meant to keep bottles from sliding. The item is 5 millimeters thick at the shelf.
- The listing says: hardware is included. The model number is SSD001.
Skip if your cabinet door opens to less than 9.75 inches, or if you need the 35 pound figure to mean a per-shelf load figure. Limitation: the listing’s item-type field says “Lazy Susan,” which does not match a stacked shelf, and the finish is given as both “Unfinished” and “Uniform Plastic-like Finish.”
Copco 3-Tier Spice Rack Organizer for Cabinet (B0036OQU56)
- The listing says: plastic, 3 tiers, 15.16 inches deep, 9.06 inches wide, 3.54 inches high. Each shelf is about 2.75 inches deep.
- The listing says: no assembly is required, and the unit fits in a cabinet or on a countertop.
- The listing says: a non-skid lining is built into each tier.
- The listing says: the item weighs 14.24 ounces.
- The listing says: the recommended uses are clothing, cosmetics, kitchen and spices. The model number is 2555-0188.
Skip if you need the wider size the bullet gives, because the bullet and the spec disagree. Limitation: one bullet says “15 W x 9 D x 3 H,” while the spec gives 15.16 inches deep and 9.06 inches wide. Measure your own space rather than rely on either.
VenDotbi 3-Tier Natural Bamboo Spice Rack (B0B5X3S3X8)
- The listing says: natural bamboo, 3 tiers, 8.74 inches deep, 8.74 inches wide, 3.35 inches high.
- The listing says: width expands from 8.74 to 15.59 inches, and the listing’s highlight says it fits cabinets from 8.7 to 15.6 inches.
- The listing says: the stepped design keeps labels visible, and two raised sides help keep jars from tipping over.
- The listing says: mounting is tabletop, and the package includes one spice rack.
- The listing says: the item weighs 0.58 kilograms. The model is listed as “spice-racks.”
Skip if you want a cabinet mount. Limitation: the listing gives tabletop mounting, so it does not say how the rack would sit inside a cabinet, and it does not state a weight capacity.
SpaceAid Bamboo Pull-Out Spice Rack (B0F8NGPH76)
- The listing says: bamboo, natural finish, 10.6 inches deep, 7.6 inches wide, 9.6 inches high. The unit is a sliding shelf mounted in a cabinet.
- The listing says: it suits a cabinet about 12 inches tall and 10.60 inches deep. Measure the interior first.
- The listing says: ball-bearing glides and full-extension rails let the rack slide out, and the bottom panel clears a cabinet lip.
- The listing says: all hardware is included, along with a screwdriver, and the rack needs assembly.
- The listing says: the item weighs 2.96 kilograms. The recommended use is food.
Skip if your cabinet is shorter than about 12 inches or shallower than about 10.6 inches, or if you need a rack that stays fixed in place. Limitation: the title says 2-tier while the spec field says 3 shelves. The listing does not state a weight capacity for the glides.
Moforoco White 9-Tier Over-the-Door Pantry Organizer (B0BX7PKKKQ)
- The listing says: metal, white, 4.9 inches deep, 15.3 inches wide, 74.8 inches high, with 9 tiers.
- The listing says: it hangs over a door with no tools or drilling. The overall height after installation is 6.2 feet.
- The listing says: shelf weight capacity is 5 pounds. It does not say whether this is per shelf or for the whole unit.
- The listing says: the item weighs 8.8 pounds and carries a 2-year warranty.
- The listing says: the recommended use is cookware, and the room types are kitchen and laundry room. The bullets say the package may include an 8-tier box, but the item is the 9-tier unit.
Skip if your door is not a standard size, or if you need the shelves to bear heavy jars. Limitation: the 5 pound figure is ambiguous, and the recommended use is cookware rather than spices.
PEEKUP Expandable 3-Tier Metal Spice Rack (B0GK18YLP3)
- The listing says: black powder-coated metal, 3 shelves, 9.45 inches deep, 13 inches wide, 4.5 inches high. The width expands to 21.5 inches.
- The listing says: each shelf holds up to 13 pounds, and each tier is 2.95 inches deep.
- The listing says: the guardrails are slip-resistant, and the shelves wipe clean with a damp cloth.
- The listing says: mounting is tabletop, and the hardware is included. The model number is PE-SR0.
- The listing says: the room types are bathroom, kitchen and pantry.
Skip if you need a cabinet mount, because the listing gives tabletop mounting only. Limitation: the listing does not state whether the tool-free assembly applies to this model. Check the package before you buy.
JinDoWin 3-Tier Expandable Bamboo Spice Rack (B0DGF3Q6XL)
- The listing says: bamboo, 3 tiers, 7.1 inches deep, 15.7 inches wide, 3.9 inches high. It is expandable and collapsible.
- The listing says: mounting is in cabinet, and the item weighs 0.73 kilograms.
- The listing says: the recommended use is food. The model is SP1.
- Weight capacity: none given.
- The listing’s brand is JinDoWin, while the manufacturer field reads “JiDoWin.” Check the package spelling before you buy.
Skip if you need a stated weight figure or a countertop mount, because the bullets describe countertop display and the spec gives in-cabinet mounting. Limitation: the bullets also describe a can organizer for a pantry, which the spec does not mention.
Oizeir Clear Acrylic 3-Tier Spice Rack (B0D7NZQ86G)
- The listing says: plastic, transparent, 3 tiers, 4 inches deep, 10.4 inches wide, 4 inches high.
- The listing says: no assembly is required, and two racks are included in the pack.
- The listing says: mounting is countertop, and the deep shelf has a 360-degree ledge to hold items in place.
- The listing says: the item weighs 1.01 kilograms. The recommended uses are food, jars, bottles and cosmetics. The model number is 5713.
- Weight capacity: not in the listing.
Skip if you need a cabinet mount, or a rack deeper than 4 inches. Limitation: the listing gives countertop mounting only, and it gives no weight figure.
Buying checklist
- Measure the cabinet opening’s width, height and depth, and the door clearance if the door will close over the rack.
- Measure the diameter and height of your tallest jar. Compare it with the shelf depth the listing gives. The Zri Bamboo listing gives 2.28 to 2.56 inches, and the PEEKUP listing gives 2.95 inches per tier.
- Decide whether you need a counter, a cabinet or a door mount. Seven listings name one mount. Two name two options: Zri Bamboo and Copco 3-Tier.
- If weight matters, look for a stated figure. Only four listings state one, and the figures use different units and different meanings.
- Check whether assembly is needed. Two listings say no assembly is needed. One includes hardware and a screwdriver, which means you will assemble it.
- Read the care line. The Zri Bamboo listing says never to put it in a dishwasher or submerge it.
For cabinet layout questions and general shelf planning, see our guide to spice storage and our overview of spice shelves for the kitchen. If you want a single three-tier countertop rack instead, our guide to 3-tier spice shelves covers that shape. For a drawer rather than a shelf, see spice drawer organizers, and for a narrow cabinet see small spice cabinets. The kitchen spice shelf guide and the spice organizer for a shelf guide both answer the next question a reader usually has: what fits above the counter.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying by width alone. The Spicy Shelf listing gives a width range from 9.75 to 16.76 inches and a minimum door width of 9.75 inches. A width that fits the cabinet can still fail at the door.
- Reading the 35 pound figure as a shelf load figure. The Spicy Shelf listing gives 35 pounds as both a maximum and a minimum, and it does not say which applies to a shelf.
- Trusting a single dimension in a bullet. The Copco bullet says 15 W x 9 D x 3 H, while the spec gives 15.16 inches deep and 9.06 inches wide.
- Counting shelves from the title. The SpaceAid title says 2-tier, while its spec says 3 shelves.
- Putting a horizontal rack in a vertical space. The Zri Bamboo listing says to place the rack horizontally and not vertically.
- Assuming a fridge or door unit suits spices. The Moforoco listing recommends cookware, and its shelves are rated at 5 pounds with no per-shelf or total statement.
If you are also planning a wall-mounted storage option for spices, see our guide to kitchen organizers for spices. For a deeper cabinet, our guide to tall spice cabinets covers a different type of unit.
What we could not verify
- We did not verify weight capacity for six of the nine products, because their listings do not state one.
- We did not verify whether any listing’s material claims hold beyond the wording on the page, including the “High-grade material” description for Spicy Shelf.
- We did not verify a cabinet size that is standard across kitchens. The listings give their own dimensions only, so measure your cabinet.
- We did not verify cleaning or material claims beyond the wording on each listing, such as “easy to wipe clean” or “rustproof.”
- The CPSC anchoring report we opened covers how furniture is anchored to walls. It does not cover counter or cabinet spice racks, so we do not cite it for this post.
Shelf depth and fit, in plain terms
A spice rack is only useful if the jars sit where you can read them. The listings give depth in three different ways. Zri Bamboo gives a shelf depth of 2.28 to 2.56 inches, which is a range for each shelf. PEEKUP gives 2.95 inches per tier. Spicy Shelf gives an overall depth of 10.25 inches. These figures do not describe the same thing, so you cannot compare them directly. For a counter rack, the overall depth matters most, because it decides whether the rack blocks the back wall or the edge of the counter. For an in-cabinet rack, the shelf depth decides whether a tall jar sits flat.
The width figures raise a similar question. Several listings give a range rather than one width. The range is useful only if your cabinet lies inside it. The VenDotbi listing gives 8.74 to 15.59 inches, and the listing says that fits cabinets from 8.7 to 15.6 inches. The Zri Bamboo range is much larger, from 12.70 to 22.20 inches. A wide range does not mean a wide cabinet is the right choice. Measure the opening, and then choose the rack whose range covers that number with room to spare.
Bottom line
Measure the space first, then choose the rack whose stated size and mount match it. A single rule decides most cases: if the listing does not state a weight, plan on carrying the spices, not the shelf.
FAQ
Will a spice shelf fit a standard kitchen cabinet?
The listings give their own sizes, not a standard cabinet size. Spicy Shelf gives a width range from 9.75 to 16.76 inches, and Zri Bamboo gives 12.70 to 22.20 inches. Measure your cabinet opening and compare it with the range that the listing gives.
Can I put a bamboo spice rack in the dishwasher?
No. The Zri Bamboo listing says to wipe it with a damp cloth, air dry it, and never put it in a dishwasher or submerge it.
How much weight does a spice shelf hold?
Only some listings say. Spicy Shelf gives 35 pounds, PEEKUP gives 13 pounds per shelf, Moforoco gives 5 pounds shelf weight, and Zri Bamboo gives 14.4 ounces. The rest do not state a figure, so do not assume one.
Do I need tools to install a spice shelf?
It depends on the model. Copco 3-Tier and Oizeir say no assembly is required. SpaceAid says it includes hardware and a screwdriver and needs assembly. For PEEKUP, the listing does not clearly state whether tools are needed.
What cabinet size does a pull-out spice rack need?
The SpaceAid listing says it suits a cabinet about 12 inches tall and 10.60 inches deep. Measure the interior before you buy, because the listing says to do so.
Why do depth figures differ between listings?
They measure different things. Zri Bamboo gives a shelf depth of 2.28 to 2.56 inches, PEEKUP gives 2.95 inches per tier, and Spicy Shelf gives an overall depth of 10.25 inches. Compare each figure with the part of the rack your jars will sit in.
Sources
- Amazon product listing data, as recorded in
research/spice-shelf.json, checked 2026-10-27. Covers the nine products named above; each listing’s specs and bullets are cited as the listing says.
Affiliate links: some links on this page go to Amazon, and we may earn a commission on qualifying purchases.


