Kitchen Rack Buying Guide: Stated Specs Compared
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A kitchen rack is a freestanding or countertop shelf that adds storage beside a counter, over a range or in a corner. This guide compares four kitchen racks by the figures their Amazon listings state: overall size, number of shelves, weight limits, outlets and mounting. None of the four listings states anti-tip hardware, and the SUPERJARE bakers rack does not state a weight limit. Check each figure against your own wall and floor space before you order.
Quick answer
- For a freestanding bakers rack with built-in outlets, the SUPERJARE listing is the only one here that states power outlets: 2 outlets with an air switch.
- For the highest stated per-shelf limit among the wire racks, both Amazon Basics listings say 350 lbs per shelf and 1750 lbs total.
- The NEAT rack with wheels says 80 lbs per shelf and 400 lbs total on wheels, and 2000 lbs total on its feet levelers. Read which mode you plan to use.
- No listing states anti-tip hardware. For any tall rack, follow the wall-anchoring advice in the section below.
What a kitchen rack has to hold up to
Kitchen racks carry very different loads. A bakers rack that holds a microwave, a coffee maker and small jars is a light job. A wire rack that holds canned goods, dry bags and a stock pot is a heavier one. The listings in this set mostly describe the first kind of use, with two exceptions that state heavy per-shelf figures. Before you compare anything else, decide which of those two jobs you have. Then match it to the stated per-shelf figure, not the total, because a total can be spread across many shelves.
Footprint matters as much as load. A rack that looks right online can block a range hood, a cabinet door or a walkway. Use the stated depth and width, and measure the actual gap between the counter and the cabinet bottom. Several listings give a depth that is larger than the depth of a standard counter, so check the number against your room.
Comparison table
The table uses only the columns that at least one listing states. “not stated” means the listing you read does not give that figure.
| Listing (ASIN) | Type | Dimensions (as the listing states) | Shelves | Weight capacity | Power outlets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUPERJARE bakers rack (B09PFY63JQ) | Freestanding bakers rack, rustic brown | 16.5 D x 23.6 W x 50.6 H in | 3 open tiers plus top, adjustable | not stated | 2, with air switch |
| Amazon Basics 5-shelf steel wire rack (B018YLFJX4) | Wire shelving, black | 14 D x 36 W x 72 H in (title gives 36 x 14 x 72) | 5 | 350 lbs per shelf; 1750 lbs total | not stated |
| Amazon Basics 5-shelf steel wire rack (B01M0A4B9M) | Tiered wire rack, chrome | 36 D x 14 W x 72 H in (spec table; the listing disagrees with B018YLFJX4) | 5 | 350 lbs per shelf; 1750 lbs total | not stated |
| NEAT by TRINITY 5-tier rack with wheels (B0FQ7V5C5H) | Wire rack with 2 locking and 2 non-locking wheels, black | 18 D x 36 W x 72 H in (table); bullet gives 36 W x 18 H x 72 H | 5 | 80 lbs per shelf and 400 lbs total on wheels; 2000 lbs total on feet levelers | not stated |
Product notes
SUPERJARE Kitchen Bakers Rack with Power Outlet
The listing says the rack has 2 power outlets with an air switch, and that the shelves install in pre-drilled holes at different heights. Its dimensions are 16.5 inches deep, 23.6 inches wide and 50.6 inches tall. The listing describes it as a kitchen rack that also works as a coffee bar, snack rack or study rack. The shelves are engineered wood, and the listing names rustic brown as the color. The listing does not state a weight capacity in the bullets we read, and the final bullet is cut off in the capture, so there may be more text we did not see. View on Amazon
Amazon Basics 5-Shelf Adjustable Heavy Duty Steel Wire Storage Shelves (black)
The listing says each shelf holds up to 350 pounds, evenly distributed, and that the total is 1750 pounds. It gives 14 inches deep, 36 inches wide and 72 inches tall, and it says the shelves adjust in 1-inch increments. The rack sits on four leveling feet and the listing says it needs no tools to assemble. The room list names closet, garage and kitchen. The listing does not state anti-tip hardware. View on Amazon
Amazon Basics 5-Shelf Adjustable Heavy Duty Steel Wire Rack (chrome)
This listing repeats the 350 pounds per shelf and 1750 pounds total figures. Its material line gives alloy steel 75 percent, plastic 15 percent and metal 10 percent, and it lists the origin as imported. The spec table gives 36 inches deep, 14 inches wide and 72 inches tall, which is the reverse of the black listing above. The bullets also mention 4 leveling feet. Anti-tip hardware is not stated in this listing. View on Amazon
NEAT by TRINITY 5-Tier Adjustable Wire Shelving Rack with Wheels
The listing says the rack has 5 adjustable shelves in 1-inch increments with slip sleeves, and that it has 2 locking and 2 non-locking wheels. It gives 80 pounds per shelf and 400 pounds total with the wheels, and 2000 pounds total with the feet levelers. The listing says it is NSF certified for food storage. Its dimensions are 18 inches deep, 36 inches wide and 72 inches tall in the table, and the bullet gives a different order of the same numbers. No anti-tip hardware is stated in this listing. View on Amazon
Where the listings disagree
The two Amazon Basics listings disagree about the depth and width. The black listing gives 14 inches deep and 36 inches wide. The chrome listing gives 36 inches deep and 14 inches wide in its spec table, while its title reads 36 x 14 x 72. Both say 350 pounds per shelf and 1750 pounds total, so the load figures agree and the footprint figures do not. Measure the space before you assume which way the rack sits.
The NEAT listing gives two capacity figures that look like a conflict but are not. The 400 pound total applies with the wheels, and the 2000 pound total applies with the feet levelers. The listing states both, and the difference is the mode, not a disagreement between sources.
Anti-tip and wall anchoring
Each rack here is tall, between 50.6 and 72 inches, and none of the four listings says it includes anti-tip hardware. The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s February 5, 2026 news release (No. 26-259) advises anchoring furniture, including bookcases and dressers, to the wall to prevent tip-overs, and it points readers to anchorit.gov for instructions. We opened that release on 2026-10-28. A kitchen rack loaded on its upper shelves can tip the same way a bookcase can, so treat wall anchoring as part of the setup, not an extra. If the wall type is drywall, read the hardware notes that come with your anchor kit. Do not assume a generic anchor will hold the rated load of the rack.
How we chose
We used only the figures recorded in the research file for this keyword, read on 2026-10-28. We kept a listing when it is a freestanding rack, a countertop rack, or a wire rack that the listing names for kitchen use. We considered seven listings in total. We left out three: B0G62XVN23, a 2-tier pull-out cabinet organizer that installs inside a cabinet and is not a rack; B0GSQQ36CV, which the research file marks as not kitchen-specific; and B0DCV65S3N, a retail snack display stand. The four we kept are listed in the table. We did not rank them, because the listings state different kinds of figures and no single number settles the choice.
What we could not verify
- Weight capacity for the SUPERJARE bakers rack. The listing does not state one in the bullets we recorded.
- Anti-tip hardware for any of the four racks. None of the listings states it.
- Assembly time and tools for the SUPERJARE rack, apart from the bullet about pre-drilled holes.
- Which dimension is the true depth on the Amazon Basics racks. The two listings disagree, and we did not have a third source to settle it.
- Price, availability and seller terms. These are outside the scope of this guide.
Buying checklist
- Measure the gap between the counter and the cabinet, and the wall space behind the rack, before you order.
- Find the per-shelf figure in the listing and compare it to your heaviest item.
- If you want wheels, check whether the listing states the lower wheel-mode total as well as the feet-mode total.
- If you need outlets, the SUPERJARE listing is the only one here that states them.
- For food storage, check whether the listing states NSF certification. Only NEAT does.
- Plan a wall anchor for any tall rack, and read the anchor hardware notes for your wall type.
Mistakes to avoid
- Reading the two Amazon Basics dimension labels as the same. They disagree on depth and width, so measure the footprint before you buy.
- Using the 2000 pound NEAT figure for a rack with wheels. The listing gives 400 pounds total when the rack is on its wheels.
- Assuming the bakers rack has a weight limit. The listing we recorded does not state one.
- Skipping anti-tip hardware. None of the four listings states it, so plan the anchor yourself.
Keep reading
If you are choosing between a kitchen rack and open shelving, read our guide to free-standing wire shelves for the kitchen first, then compare the wall option in open shelves for a small kitchen. For spice storage on a rack, see spice shelves for the kitchen and a 3-tier spice shelf. If the rack will hold heavy items on a wire frame, the weight limit notes for wire shelving explain why a per-shelf figure matters more than a total. For a metal rack with more shelves, see our 5-shelf metal storage rack guide and 5-tier metal shelving. For a wall-mounted alternative to a freestanding rack, read shelf ideas for a small kitchen and floating shelves that can hold weight.
FAQ
Does the SUPERJARE kitchen bakers rack state a weight limit?
Not in the bullets we recorded. The listing says the rack has 2 power outlets with an air switch and adjustable shelves, but it gives no per-shelf or total weight figure in the text we read.
Which of these racks states the highest total weight?
The NEAT rack states 2000 pounds total, but only with its feet levelers. With the wheels, the listing says 400 pounds total. The Amazon Basics racks state 1750 pounds total for each of their two listings.
Do the two Amazon Basics listings disagree?
Yes, on the footprint. One gives the rack as 14 inches deep, the other as 36 inches deep in its spec table. Both state 350 pounds per shelf and 1750 pounds total.
Which rack states food-storage certification?
The NEAT listing says it is NSF certified for food storage. The other three listings in this guide do not state that certification.
Does any of these racks state anti-tip hardware?
No. None of the four listings we recorded says it includes anti-tip hardware. The CPSC’s February 2026 release advises anchoring furniture, including bookcases, to the wall, so plan an anchor for any tall rack.
Which rack is the best fit for a small kitchen?
The listings do not say which fits a small kitchen best. Choose by the stated depth and width, measure the gap at your counter, and check the per-shelf figure against your heaviest item.
Bottom line
Pick the rack whose listing states the per-shelf figure you need, then check its footprint against your counter and wall before you order, and plan a wall anchor for any tall unit.
Sources
- SUPERJARE Kitchen Bakers Rack, Amazon listing, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09PFY63JQ, opened 2026-10-28 (figures from research file kitchen-rack.json).
- Amazon Basics 5-Shelf Wire Storage Shelves (black), Amazon listing, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B018YLFJX4, opened 2026-10-28 (research file kitchen-rack.json).
- Amazon Basics 5-Shelf Wire Rack (chrome), Amazon listing, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M0A4B9M, opened 2026-10-28 (research file kitchen-rack.json).
- NEAT by TRINITY 5-Tier Wire Shelving Rack with Wheels, Amazon listing, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0FQ7V5C5H, opened 2026-10-28 (research file kitchen-rack.json).
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, “CPSC Urges Fans: Anchor TVs and Furniture Before Super Bowl LX,” news release 26-259, February 5, 2026, https://cpsc.gov/Newsroom/News-Releases/2026/CPSC-Urges-Fans-Anchor-TVs-and-Furniture-Before-Super-Bowl-LX, opened 2026-10-28.
Affiliate disclosure: the product links on this page are Amazon affiliate links, and we may earn a commission on purchases made through them.

