Mahancris shelf

MAHANCRIS Shelf Roundup: 7 Bookcases, Over-Toilet Racks and Shoe Racks Compared

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

If you typed mahancris shelf, you want to know which MAHANCRIS shelf, bookcase or over-toilet rack will hold your books or supplies, and whether it can be fixed to a wall. This roundup compares seven MAHANCRIS shelving units from our product set. Four are bookcases, two are over-toilet racks and one is a tall shoe rack. Most listings state a load per shelf in the bullets, and the specification fields often repeat that figure with a minimum or maximum label that does not match. Anti-tip kits appear in some listings and not others, which is the main safety difference in the set. This article uses the bullets first and marks each conflict.

By Ken, updated 20 October 2026

Quick answer

  • For a tall bookcase with an anti-tip kit named, the six-tier unit lists 22 lb per shelf and stands 62 inches tall on a 9.5-inch depth.
  • For a spinning corner display, the five-tier rotating bookshelf lists up to 44 lb per tier, but its shelf thickness field disagrees with its bullets, and no anti-tip device is named.
  • For over the toilet, the two-tier rack with fabric drawers names an anti-tip device, but it gives a 22-pound figure with no per-shelf load.
  • For a closet or entryway, the ten-tier shoe rack lists 44 lb per mesh shelf and 33 lb for the top panel, and it names no fixing.

What the load figures say

The table sets the bullet figure against the specification field for each unit. Where the two differ, this article uses the bullet figure, since the bullets are the only place a per-shelf load is described in full.

Listing Load in the bullets Load in the fields What this article uses
Six-tier bookcase, 62 in 22 lb per shelf 22 pounds maximum 22 lb per shelf
Five-tier bookcase, 51.6 in 22 lb per shelf 22 pounds maximum 22 lb per shelf
Five-tier bookcase with drawer 22 lb per shelf 22 pounds maximum and 22 pounds minimum 22 lb per shelf
Five-tier rotating bookshelf Up to 44 lb per tier 44 pounds maximum and 44 pounds minimum 44 lb per tier
Two-tier over-toilet rack None 22 pounds maximum 22 pounds, no per-shelf figure
Four-tier over-toilet rack None 22 pounds maximum and 22.7 pounds minimum Not settled
Ten-tier shoe rack 44 lb per mesh shelf, 33 lb top panel 44 pounds maximum and 33 pounds minimum 44 lb per mesh shelf, 33 lb top panel

The five-tier bookcase lists 22 lb on each shelf. Five shelves at 22 pounds would be 22 times 5, which is 110 pounds. No listing states a total, so that sum is arithmetic on the per-shelf figure and not a rating. The ten-tier shoe rack’s mesh shelves at 44 pounds would be 44 times 10, or 440 pounds, on the same basis. The listing gives neither total, and the top panel’s 33-pound figure is lower than the mesh shelves.

Height against base depth

Tall, narrow units tip more easily than short, wide ones. The KU page lists a heavy top and heavy objects in or on top of furniture among the factors that raise tip-over risk. A listing cannot show how a unit will stand on your floor, but its dimensions allow a rough check: height divided by base depth. A higher number means a taller unit on a narrower base.

Unit Height (in) Base depth (in) Height divided by depth
Six-tier bookcase 62 9.5 6.5
Five-tier bookcase 51.6 9.5 5.4
Five-tier bookcase with drawer 51.6 9.5 5.4
Five-tier rotating bookshelf 62.5 11.8 5.3
Two-tier over-toilet rack 42.1 9.4 4.5
Four-tier over-toilet rack 68.3 9.5 7.2
Ten-tier shoe rack 62.4 11.4 5.5

62 divided by 9.5 is about 6.5, and 51.6 divided by 9.5 is about 5.4. 62.5 divided by 11.8 is about 5.3. 42.1 divided by 9.4 is about 4.5, and 68.3 divided by 9.5 is about 7.2. 62.4 divided by 11.4 is about 5.5.

The four-tier over-toilet rack has the highest ratio in the set, about 7.2. The ratio is a rough geometric check, not a measure of stability. It ignores how weight sits on the shelves, the floor and the wall behind the unit, and no listing states a tip-over result. It does show where the fixing question is most open, and that is the rack whose listing names no anti-tip device.

Which listings name an anti-tip device

Anti-tip hardware is the main safety difference between these units, so the table records what each listing names and where.

Listing Anti-tip device in the bullets Anti-tip device in included components Wall fixing stated
Six-tier bookcase Yes, kit fixes it to the wall No, lists one bookshelf Yes, in the bullets
Five-tier bookcase Yes, kit fixes it to the wall No, lists one bookshelf Yes, in the bullets
Five-tier bookcase with drawer Yes, kit ensures secure wall mounting Yes, anti-tip kit listed Yes
Five-tier rotating bookshelf No No No
Two-tier over-toilet rack Yes, anti-tip device Yes, anti-tip device listed Not stated
Four-tier over-toilet rack No No No
Ten-tier shoe rack No No No

Four of the seven listings name an anti-tip device in their bullets. Two also list one among their included components: the five-tier bookcase with drawer and the two-tier over-toilet rack. For the six-tier and the plain five-tier bookcase, the included components field shows one bookshelf and no kit, so check the box contents before you assume the kit is there.

The bookcases: fix the tall units to a stud

The six-tier, the five-tier and the five-tier with a drawer are tall, narrow bookcases on a 9.5-inch depth. Their bullets say the anti-tip kit ensures the unit can be fixed to the wall, and the five-tier with a drawer lists its kit in the included components field too. Their bullets also say the back panel keeps small items from falling off the back.

The KU page says to secure all furniture and mirrors with anti-tip devices. It notes that the anchor may mean moving the furniture so it can reach a stud, and it prefers metal brackets to plastic, because plastic can become brittle. The 2015 CPSC evaluation says the wood screw usually supplied with an anchor kit must go into a stud. The 2016 CPSC staff briefing says tip restraints may only reduce, but not eliminate, the risk of tip-over, so a kit is a step and not a guarantee. Put the heaviest books on the lowest shelves, since the KU page also lists heavy objects on top of furniture as a factor.

The five-tier rotating bookshelf

The rotating bookshelf is 62.5 inches tall on an 11.8-inch square base. Its bullets give 360-degree rotation, four metal safety rails on each tier and up to 44 lb per tier. The 44-pound figure appears in the bullets and in the weight field, but the field labels it both a maximum and a minimum. Its shelf thickness field reads 6.25 inches, while the bullets give 5.9 inches per tier, so this article uses the bullet figure.

The bullets name no anti-tip device and no wall fixing, and the included components field lists an accessory kit, instructions and the rotating bookshelf. A spinning unit makes it easy to load one side more than the other, so keep the heaviest books on the lower tiers and spread the weight evenly. The listing does not say whether the turntable locks, and the pages we opened do not cover turntable locks. Check the turntable before you load it, and do not treat it as a fixed bookcase.

The over-toilet racks

The two-tier over-toilet rack measures 23.6 by 9.4 by 42.1 inches. Its two fabric drawers can be removed to make two open shelves, and its bullets describe guardrails on the surface and an X-shaped reinforcement. Its included components field lists an anti-tip device, and its bullets name the same device, so this is the one over-toilet unit whose listing includes the hardware. The weight field gives 22 pounds maximum and gives no per-shelf figure, so the load on each shelf is not stated. The listing names no toilet model, so the fit depends on your tank and the wall behind it.

The four-tier over-toilet rack is 68.3 inches tall on a 9.5-inch depth, which gives it the highest ratio in the set. Its bullets name four open shelves, two side hooks and protective bars on both sides and the back of each layer, and they describe an iron frame and P2 particle board with adjustable feet. Its included components field lists an assembly kit, instructions and the rack, with no anti-tip device. Its weight field reads 22 pounds maximum and 22.7 pounds minimum, so the figure is not settled. Of the seven units, this rack gives the least help on the fixing question, so anyone who buys it should plan a wall fixing of their own, using the KU and CPSC pages as the guide.

The ten-tier shoe rack

The shoe rack is 62.4 inches tall on an 11.4-inch base, a ratio of about 5.5. Its bullets say it holds 36 to 40 pairs, that each mesh shelf supports up to 44 lb, and that the top panel bears 33 lb. Its weight field reads 44 pounds maximum and 33 pounds minimum. The 33-pound figure matches the top panel in the bullets, so the minimum label should be read as the top panel’s figure and not as a floor for the whole rack. Its shelf thickness field reads 62.4 inches, which is the height and not a shelf thickness, so that field is set aside.

The listing names no anti-tip device and no wall fixing. The bullets say layers can be removed to fit boots or larger items, and that is the only load-related instruction the bullets give. A full rack of boots is heavy, and no total is stated, so keep the heaviest pairs on the lower shelves and plan a wall fixing before it is loaded.

Where the listings disagree

  • Six-tier bookcase: the bullets name an anti-tip kit, but the included components field lists only one bookshelf.
  • Five-tier bookcase: the bullets name an anti-tip kit, but the included components field lists only one bookshelf.
  • Five-tier bookcase with drawer: the material field says engineered wood only, but the bullets say a premium metal frame and robust particleboard. The mounting field says floor mount, but the installation field says wall-mounted. The bullets call it a small corner shelf, but the shape field reads rectangular.
  • Five-tier rotating bookshelf: the shelf thickness field reads 6.25 inches, while the bullets give 5.9 inches per tier. The weight field labels 44 pounds as both maximum and minimum.
  • Four-tier over-toilet rack: the finish type field says unfinished, but the furniture finish field says painted or coated white. The weight field gives 22 pounds maximum and 22.7 pounds minimum.
  • Ten-tier shoe rack: the weight field gives 33 pounds as a minimum, while the bullets give 33 pounds as the top panel’s figure. The material field says engineered wood and metal, while the bullets describe a metal frame.

Choosing by use

  • A tall bookcase for a living room or study, with the kit fixed to a stud: the six-tier bookcase.
  • A narrower bookcase for a small room, with five shelves instead of six: the five-tier bookcase.
  • A bookcase with a closed drawer at the bottom: the five-tier with drawer, because its included components field lists the anti-tip kit.
  • A spinning corner display: the five-tier rotating bookshelf, with the turntable checked before it is loaded.
  • A bathroom over the toilet: the two-tier rack with fabric drawers, which names an anti-tip device in its listing.
  • A closet or entryway shoe rack: the ten-tier rack, with a wall fixing you supply.
  • The four-tier over-toilet rack only if you accept that its listing names no anti-tip device and you plan the fixing yourself.

For small-room bookshelves from other brands, see bookshelf for a small room. For over-toilet shelves from other brands, see freestanding bathroom shelves over toilet. For a dorm-sized bookshelf comparison, see dorm room bookshelf.

How we chose

We kept units whose listings describe bookcases, bookshelves, over-toilet storage racks or a tiered shoe rack. We left out two kitchen islands, each a cart with a drawer, a towel bar and a wine rack. Their item type field reads kitchen island, and their open shelves belong to a cart, not a shelving unit. Seven units remain: four bookcases, two over-toilet racks and one shoe rack. We did not rank them by popularity. The product data is a local set of titles, bullets and specification fields and stores no price or rating, so this article does not judge value.

What we could not verify

  • The listings do not say how the 22-pound, 44-pound or 33-pound figures were measured, on what surface, or with what fixing.
  • The 22-pound figure is labeled as both a minimum and a maximum on two listings, so the listings do not settle which label they mean.
  • The pages we opened do not explain turntable locks, rotation loads or how a rotating base behaves under a full load.
  • No listing states a tip-over result. Only four of the seven name an anti-tip device in their bullets, and only two list one among their included components.
  • The claim that the ten-tier rack holds 36 to 40 pairs is the listing’s own count. The listing does not say what shoe size or weight it assumes.
  • The fit of the two over-toilet racks depends on your toilet tank and wall, and neither listing names a toilet model.
  • The data has no prices, delivery times or buyer feedback, so this article does not judge value or popularity.

1. MAHANCRIS Bookshelf, 6-Tier Bookcase, Standing Book Shelf for Small Space, Storage Shelf Organizer (Six-tier bookcase, rustic brown and black, 62 in tall)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Weight Capacity Maximum: 22 pounds
  • Installation Type: Freestanding with Wall-Mount Option
  • Included Components: 1 x Book Shelf
  • Product Dimensions: 9.5″D x 13″W x 62″H

Pros

  • The bullets give 22 lb on each shelf, and the weight field agrees at 22 pounds maximum.
  • The bullets say an anti-tip kit can fix the unit to a wall, and the back panel keeps small items from falling.

Cons

  • The included components field lists only the bookshelf, so the anti-tip kit in the bullets is not confirmed by that field.
  • At 62 inches tall on a 9.5-inch depth the ratio is about 6.5, which is high for the set.

Best for: a tall six-tier bookcase in a living room, bedroom or study with a stud behind the anti-tip fixing
Skip if: you cannot fix the anti-tip kit to a stud or your wall is hollow with no stud

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. MAHANCRIS Bookshelf, 5-Tier Bookcase, Standing Book Shelf for Small Space, Storage Shelf Organizer (Five-tier bookcase, rustic brown and black, 51.6 in tall)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Weight Capacity Maximum: 22 pounds
  • Included Components: 1 x Book Shelf
  • Product Dimensions: 9.5″D x 13″W x 51.6″H
  • Item Weight: 5.6 kg

Pros

  • The bullets give 22 lb per shelf, and the 13 by 9.5 by 51.6-inch size is listed.
  • The bullets describe a metal and engineered wood build with a back panel that is decorative and protective.

Cons

  • Its included components field shows one bookshelf and no kit, so the bullets' anti-tip kit is unconfirmed.
  • No total is given for the five shelves, and the per-shelf sum would be arithmetic only.

Best for: a narrow living room or home office spot for books and decor
Skip if: you need a total load figure or cannot fix the anti-tip kit to a wall

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. MAHANCRIS Bookshelf, 5-Tier Bookcase with Drawer, Small Book Shelf for Small Space, Storage Shelf (Five-tier bookcase with drawer, rustic brown and black)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Weight Capacity Maximum: 22 pounds
  • Included Components: 1 x Accessory Kit, 1 x Anti-Tip Kit, 1 x Bookcase, 1 x Instructions
  • Installation Type: Wall-Mounted
  • Number of Drawers: 1

Pros

  • The bullets give 22 lb for each shelf, and the included components field lists an anti-tip kit.
  • The detachable drawer at the bottom adds closed storage, and the listed size is 13 by 9.5 by 51.6 inches.

Cons

  • The mounting field says floor mount, but the installation field says wall-mounted, so the mounting is not settled.
  • Its bullets say small corner shelf while the shape field says rectangular.

Best for: a small room that needs a closed bottom drawer under five open shelves
Skip if: you need a freestanding unit without a wall fixing, since the fields disagree on mounting

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. MAHANCRIS 5-Tier Rotating Bookshelf, Freestanding Corner Bookshelf, 360° Spinning Bookcase (Five-tier rotating bookshelf, rustic brown and black, 62.5 in tall)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Weight Capacity Maximum: 44 pounds
  • Product Dimensions: 11.8″D x 11.8″W x 62.5″H
  • Shelf Type: Spinning bookshelf
  • Included Components: 1 x Accessory Kit, 1 x Instructions, 1 x Rotating Bookshelf

Pros

  • The bullets give 360-degree rotation, up to 44 lb per tier and four metal safety rails on each tier.
  • The listed footprint is 11.8 by 11.8 inches, which suits a room corner.

Cons

  • The shelf thickness field reads 6.25 inches, while the bullets give 5.9 inches per tier, so the field is set aside.
  • The bullets name no anti-tip device or wall fixing, and the included components field lists no anti-tip kit.

Best for: a corner display of books or decor where each side turns into reach
Skip if: you need a fixed bookcase or a unit that must be anchored to the wall

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. MAHANCRIS Over Toilet Storage, 2-Tier Bathroom Organizer Shelf with 2 Fabric Drawers and Toilet (Over-toilet storage with two fabric drawers, black)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Weight Capacity Maximum: 22 pounds
  • Included Components: 1 x Accessory Kit, 1 x Over The Toilet Storage, Anti-Tip Device, User Manual
  • Number of Drawers: 2
  • Item Weight: 10.4 pounds
  • Product Dimensions: 9.4″D x 23.6″W x 42.1″H

Pros

  • The included components field lists an anti-tip device, and the bullets describe an X-shaped reinforcement for stability.
  • The fabric drawers can come out to make two open shelves, which gives two storage modes.

Cons

  • The weight field gives 22 pounds maximum, but no per-shelf figure appears, so the load on each shelf is not stated.
  • No toilet model is named, so the fit over your particular tank is unconfirmed.

Best for: a bathroom or laundry room with the space over the toilet measured and a wall for the anti-tip device
Skip if: you cannot fix the anti-tip device to a wall, or the space over your toilet is narrower than the 23.6-inch length

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

6. MAHANCRIS 10 Tier Shoe Rack Organizer for Closet, Holds 36-40 Pairs, Tall Metal Shoe Storage Shelf (Ten-tier shoe rack, rustic brown, 62.4 in tall)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Weight Capacity Maximum: 44 pounds
  • Number of Shelves: 10
  • Product Dimensions: 11.4″D x 29.5″W x 62.4″H
  • Minimum Required Door Width: 11.4 inches

Pros

  • The bullets say the rack holds 36 to 40 pairs, and each mesh shelf supports up to 44 lb with the top panel at 33 lb.
  • The bullets say layers can be removed to fit boots or larger items, which makes the rack adjustable.

Cons

  • The weight field reads minimum weight 33 pounds, which conflicts with the bullets' 44 lb per mesh shelf.
  • No anti-tip device or wall fixing is named, and at 62.4 inches tall on an 11.4-inch base the ratio is about 5.5.

Best for: a closet or entryway shoe rack in a small space where the unit can be fixed to a stud
Skip if: you cannot fix a 62-inch unit to a wall or want a rack with no tall profile

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

7. MAHANCRIS Over The Toilet Storage Rack, 4 Tier Bathroom Organizer Over Toilet, Freestanding Space (Over-the-toilet four-tier storage rack, white, 68.3 in tall)

Specs from the listing (checked ):

  • Weight Capacity Maximum: 22 pounds
  • Number of Shelves: 4
  • Product Dimensions: 9.5″D x 23.6″W x 68.3″H
  • Item Weight: 22 pounds
  • Installation Type: Freestanding

Pros

  • The bullets give four open shelves and two side hooks, with protective bars on both sides and the back of each layer.
  • The bullets describe an iron frame and P2 particle board with adjustable feet to protect the floor.

Cons

  • No anti-tip device appears in the bullets or the included components field, and its ratio of about 7.2 is the highest in the set.
  • The weight field reads 22 pounds maximum and 22.7 pounds minimum, so the figure is not settled.

Best for: a bathroom or laundry room where you can add a wall fixing of your own
Skip if: you cannot add a wall fixing, since the listing does not supply one

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

FAQ

How much weight can a MAHANCRIS bookshelf hold?

The bookcases list 22 lb on each shelf, and the rotating bookshelf lists up to 44 lb per tier. Plan with those per-shelf figures and keep the heaviest books on the lowest shelf. The listings give no total for the unit, so do not add the shelves together and treat the sum as a rating.

Do MAHANCRIS bookcases come with anti-tip kits?

Some do and some do not. The six-tier bookcase, the five-tier bookcase and the five-tier with drawer name an anti-tip kit in their bullets, and only the five-tier with drawer lists it in its included components. The KU page advises securing furniture with anti-tip devices, so check the box before you buy and fix the unit to a stud.

Is a MAHANCRIS over-toilet rack safe to use without a wall fixing?

The four-tier over-toilet rack names no anti-tip device, and its height-to-depth ratio is the highest in the set. The pages we opened say to secure furniture with anti-tip devices and to use a stud where you can. Plan a fixing before you use the rack. The two-tier over-toilet rack names an anti-tip device in its listing, which is the better starting point.

Which MAHANCRIS shelf fits a closet?

The ten-tier shoe rack is the closet unit in this roundup. It is 62.4 inches tall on an 11.4-inch base, and its bullets say it holds 36 to 40 pairs. The listing names no anti-tip device, so fix it to a wall or to a stud, and keep the heaviest pairs on the lower shelves.

Can I put a rotating bookshelf in a corner?

Yes, the rotating bookshelf has an 11.8-inch square base that suits a corner. Check the turntable before you load it, because the listing does not say whether it locks. Keep the heaviest books on the lower tiers and spread the weight, since no anti-tip device is named.

Bottom line

Choose a MAHANCRIS unit by the anti-tip kit it names as well as its load figure. Where the listing names a kit, fix the unit to a stud with it. Where it names none, as with the four-tier over-toilet rack and the ten-tier shoe rack, plan your own fixing before you load it, and put the heaviest items on the lowest shelf.

Sources

  • University of Kansas, Environment, Health and Safety, KU EHS April Safety Tip: Preventing Furniture and TV Tip-Overs, https://ehs.ku.edu/news/article/ku-ehs-april-safety-tip-preventing-furniture-and-tv-tip-overs (opened 2026-10-20)
  • Nationwide Children’s Hospital, Furniture and TV Tip-overs, https://www.nationwidechildrens.org/research/areas-of-research/center-for-injury-research-and-policy/injury-topics/home-safety/furniture-tip-overs (opened 2026-10-20)
  • U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, Preliminary Evaluation of Anchoring Furniture and Televisions Without Tools (2015), https://www.cpsc.gov/s3fs-public/pdfs/Tipover-Prevention-Project-Anchors-without-Tools.pdf (opened 2026-10-20)
  • U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, staff briefing package on furniture tipover (30 September 2016), https://www.cpsc.gov/s3fs-public/Staff%20Briefing%20Package%20on%20Furniture%20Tipover%20-%20September%2030%202016.pdf (opened 2026-10-20)

Similar Posts