Amazon Basics vs VEVOR Metal Storage Shelves: 200 vs 400 lbs per Shelf, 800 vs 2,000 lbs Total Stated

Amazon Basics vs VEVOR Metal Storage Shelves: 200 vs 400 lbs per Shelf, 800 vs 2,000 lbs Total Stated

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon in this post use our homeshelving-20 tag.

Amazon Basics vs VEVOR metal storage shelves is a choice between a four-level steel rack and a five-level unit that lists twice the load per shelf. The Amazon Basics 4-shelf rack states 200 lbs per shelf and 800 lbs total. The VEVOR 5-tier unit states 400 lbs per shelf and 2,000 lbs total. Both are floor-standing racks sold for garage use, but the two listings describe their rooms differently and neither one states an anti-tip device.

Quick answer

  • Heavier bins and more levels: the VEVOR listing says 5 shelves, 400 lbs per shelf and 2,000 lbs total.
  • A shorter, lighter footprint with a stated height step: the Amazon Basics listing says 4 shelves, 200 lbs per shelf, 800 lbs total, 48 in high and height adjustment in 1-inch increments.
  • Not stated by either listing: anti-tip device, wheels, and wall mounting.

The one-line answer

The VEVOR suits a buyer who needs the most stated load and five levels of floor storage. The Amazon Basics rack suits a buyer who wants four levels, a 48-inch height and a listing that says no tools are needed to assemble it.

Comparison table

Only the specs that both listings state are compared side by side. Where a listing does not state a figure, the cell says “not stated”.

Spec Amazon Basics 4-Shelf (B09W2Y51TC) VEVOR 5-Tier (B0CC5JXSVB)
Shelves 4 (the listing says) 5 (the listing says)
Load per shelf 200 lbs 400 lbs
Total load 800 lbs 2,000 lbs
Product dimensions (D x W x H) 13.4 x 23.2 x 48 in 12 x 30 x 60 in
Height adjustment 1-inch increments Adjustable, clip-in; increment not stated
Material Alloy steel SPCC carbon steel and MDF boards
Finish Painted, black Powder coated
Feet 4 leveling feet 16 rubber foot pads
Mounting Floor mount Floor mount
Anti-tip device Not stated Not stated
Wheels Not stated Not stated
Assembly No tools needed Press-to-assemble; rubber hammer and gloves included

Where the listings disagree

The two listings do not contradict each other on any figure that both state. Two points inside the listings need attention, and both are shown here as stated.

  • Room: the VEVOR specs list “bathroom, kitchen, laundry room”, while its title says “Heavy Duty Garage Storage”. The Amazon Basics specs list “garage”, and its bullets add laundry room, kitchen and playroom. The listings disagree on the intended room for VEVOR.
  • Height: the Amazon Basics title and specs give 48 in high, but its variant list runs from 22.2 in to 60 in. The listing does not say which variant the 48-inch figure describes.

The per-shelf and total figures are consistent with the shelf counts in each listing. Four shelves at 200 lbs gives 800 lbs, and five shelves at 400 lbs gives 2,000 lbs. Both listings use that arithmetic, so the totals are not the only figure to read.

Amazon Basics 4-Shelf Steel Wire Storage Shelves

The listing title reads: “Steel Wire Storage Shelves for Garage, Adjustable Metal Shelving Unit, 200 lbs Per Shelf, 23.2″ W x 48″ H x 13.4″ D, Black”.

  • Shelves: 4 (the listing says), shelf type tiered.
  • Weight capacity: 200 lbs per shelf and 800 lbs total.
  • Dimensions: 13.4 in D x 23.2 in W x 48 in H.
  • Height: adjustable in 1-inch increments. Variant heights listed from 22.2 in to 60 in; variant shelf counts are 2, 3, 4 and 5.
  • Material: alloy steel in the specs; the bullets say durable steel construction.
  • Finish: painted, black.
  • Mounting: floor, with 4 leveling feet.
  • Assembly: the listing says it assembles quickly and easily with no tools needed.
  • Not stated: anti-tip device, wheels, wall mounting.

View on Amazon

VEVOR Storage Shelves 5-Tier Adjustable 2000 lbs

The listing title reads: “VEVOR Storage Shelves 5-Tier Adjustable 2000 lbs Shelving Unit 30″x12″x60″ | Heavy Duty Garage Storage Metal Utility Rack Shelf”.

  • Shelves: 5 (the listing says), shelf type tiered.
  • Weight capacity: 400 lbs per shelf and 2,000 lbs total.
  • Dimensions: 12 in D x 30 in W x 60 in H.
  • Height: adjustable and clip-in. The increment is not stated.
  • Variant sizes listed: 12 x 30 x 60 and 12 x 36 x 72.
  • Configuration: the bullets say the unit can be split into two separate storage racks.
  • Material: SPCC carbon steel and MDF boards; powder coated.
  • Feet: 16 rubber foot pads included.
  • Assembly: press-to-assemble, with a rubber hammer and gloves included.
  • Left unstated by this listing: any anti-tip device, wheel option, or wall-mount option.

View on Amazon

How we chose this pair

Both listings come from the metal storage shelf research pass, read on 2026-10-28. This pair was chosen because both listings state a shelf count, a per-shelf load, a total load and a full set of dimensions, and both are sold for floor-standing garage use. Those four figures are what this comparison needs.

The research file holds five listings for this keyword. This post leaves out three of them: Tujurich (B0GTZM529Y), UEAKPIC (B0GSQQ36CV) and IZEUK (B0F8HMF9N1). They are not ranked, and the reason is that they do not state the same set of figures. Tujurich states a per-shelf load only in its title and no total. IZEUK states a per-shelf load and no total. UEAKPIC states both totals and per-shelf figures, but its specs table gives a shelf count of 1 while its bullets describe five tiers, so its figures cannot be used side by side without a caveat. The research pass also skipped a VIPEK clothes rack and a wall-mounted garage shelf as off-topic.

Prices, star ratings, review counts and badges were not recorded in the research file, and this post does not use them.

What we could not verify

Neither listing states an anti-tip device, so this post cannot say whether either unit stays upright when loaded to its stated limit. Neither listing states wheels or wall mounting. The Amazon Basics listing does not say whether its 2-to-5-shelf variants keep the 200 lbs per shelf rating. The VEVOR listing does not give its height adjustment increment. The sources we opened are the two listing pages and nothing else, so this post does not cover the manufacturers’ own installation guidance, floor-loading advice, or anything about the steel grades beyond what each listing states.

Buying checklist

  • Decide the number of levels you need. The listings state 4 and 5 shelves.
  • Measure the floor. The Amazon Basics unit is 13.4 in deep and 23.2 in wide; the VEVOR unit is 12 in deep and 30 in wide.
  • Check the height. The Amazon Basics title gives 48 in, and its variants go up to 60 in. The VEVOR unit is 60 in.
  • Decide whether you need the per-shelf figure or the total. Heavy paint cans or tool totes point to the per-shelf number, which is 200 lbs against 400 lbs.
  • Check the floor surface and the feet. Amazon Basics includes 4 leveling feet, and VEVOR includes 16 rubber foot pads.
  • Plan for anchoring. Neither listing states an anti-tip device or a wall mount, so decide how you will keep a tall rack stable.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Reading 2,000 lbs as a per-shelf figure. The VEVOR listing says 400 lbs per shelf and 2,000 lbs total.
  • Buying the 48-inch height without checking the variant. The Amazon Basics listing gives 48 in in its title, but its variants run from 22.2 in to 60 in.
  • Assuming the VEVOR is a garage-only unit. Its specs list bathroom, kitchen and laundry room, even though its title says garage.
  • Assuming either rack is stable without anchoring. Neither listing states an anti-tip device.
  • Expecting wheels. Neither listing states wheels, so plan on lifting or sliding the unit.

FAQ

Which of these two holds more weight per shelf?

The VEVOR listing says 400 lbs per shelf. The Amazon Basics listing says 200 lbs per shelf. Both figures are stated in the listings.

Which one is taller?

The VEVOR unit is listed at 60 in high. The Amazon Basics title gives 48 in, although its variants list heights up to 60 in, so the variant you choose sets the height.

Can I build either one without tools?

The Amazon Basics listing says no tools are needed. The VEVOR listing says it is press-to-assemble and includes a rubber hammer and gloves.

Does the VEVOR total of 2,000 lbs add up?

Yes, with the shelf count the listing states. Five shelves at 400 lbs each is 2,000 lbs. The listing does not say how the load is divided if the unit is split into two racks.

Do either of these have an anti-tip device or wheels?

Neither listing states an anti-tip device or wheels.

Which is better for a small garage?

The listings do not rank the two for a small garage. The stated depths are 13.4 in for Amazon Basics and 12 in for VEVOR, and the stated widths are 23.2 in and 30 in. Compare those figures to your own space.

Bottom line

If you need five levels and the listing’s 400 lbs per shelf, the VEVOR is the one whose stated figures point that way. If you want four levels, a 48-inch height and a no-tools build, the Amazon Basics listing fits. Check the anti-tip and anchoring question yourself, because neither listing answers it.

Related guides

Sources

  • Amazon listing, Amazon Basics 4-Shelf Steel Wire Storage Shelves, B09W2Y51TC, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09W2Y51TC (read 2026-10-28, per research/metal-storage-shelf.json)
  • Amazon listing, VEVOR Storage Shelves 5-Tier Adjustable 2000 lbs, B0CC5JXSVB, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CC5JXSVB (read 2026-10-28, per research/metal-storage-shelf.json)

Both listing pages are counted as two sources under the owner rule of 2026-10-19. No other pages were opened for this draft.

Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon links on this page use the homeshelving-20 tag.

Similar Posts