How High Should Garage Shelves Be
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How high should garage shelves be? Treat it as two questions: how tall the unit is, and where each shelf surface sits compared with your own knee, waist and shoulder. The Edsal and Gladiator pages we opened list units from 60 to 90 inches tall. The reach references we found put the comfortable limit lower: 48 inches in the ADA Standards, 60 inches on a University of California chart, and shoulder height in a University of Oregon sheet. This guide lines those figures up and shows how to count the levels that fit under your own reach.
Quick answer
- Put the shelves you use most between knee and shoulder height. The Oregon sheet says to install shelving so common items sit between average waist and shoulder height.
- Treat the top level of a 72-inch unit as a step-stool level if it sits near the top of the frame. The reach references we found stop at 48 to 60 inches.
- Keep the lowest shelf off the floor. The CCOHS fact sheet from Canada’s occupational health and safety centre says not to store materials at floor level, and Penn State Extension says at least six inches off the floor for cleaning access.
- Count levels from bin height, and measure your own knee, waist and shoulder heights first.
The unit heights on offer
Manufacturers sell shelving in a handful of overall heights. The table lists those printed on the Edsal knowledge-base pages and spec sheets, on Gladiator’s collection pages, and on Sterilite’s tote rack page. A shelf unit’s top shelf cannot be higher than its overall height, and none of these pages prints the top shelf’s own height.
| Line | Overall heights listed (in) | Example models or names |
|---|---|---|
| Edsal Z-beam and boltless shelving | 60, 72, 86 | 30 × 12 × 60; 36 × 18 × 72; 48 × 24 × 72; 48 × 24 × 86 |
| Edsal welded storage racks | 72, 78, 84 | 77 × 24 × 72; 77 × 24 × 78; 84 × 24 × 84 |
| Gladiator heavy duty racks | 72, 90 | 48, 60 and 77 inch wide racks; a 90 × 90 inch mega rack |
| Gladiator EZ Connect racks | 60, 72 | 30, 36 and 48 inch wide racks |
| Sterilite 4 Tier Tote Rack | 57.5 | 27.625 × 25.5 × 57.5 |
Within a unit, Edsal says its shelves adjust in 1.5-inch increments on the Z-beam, boltless and welded lines. Gladiator’s pages say the four shelves of its heavy-duty racks can be arranged at various heights and that its EZ Connect shelves adjust to the height you need, without printing an increment. Edsal’s spec sheets for particleboard-deck units list a shelf thickness of 0.375 inch, and the sheets we opened for wire-deck units do not list one.
Reference heights from the sources
No page we opened gives one number for “the right height” of a garage shelf. What they give is a set of reference lines, and they do not agree. The table collects them with the inch figures where a page prints one. For adults of different heights, the knee, waist and shoulder lines move, which is why we ask you to measure yourself in the worked layout below.
| Reference | What it says about height | Figure in inches |
|---|---|---|
| ADA Standards, section 308.2.1 (unobstructed forward reach) | High reach maximum and low reach minimum above the floor | 48 maximum, 15 minimum |
| University of California, Irvine custodial storage shelf height chart | Do not stack items above this height if a step stool is not available. The chart rates above shoulder and below knee as high risk | 60 |
| University of Oregon shelving sheet | Common items between average waist and shoulder height; heavier and frequently used items in the knee-to-shoulder range; lighter items overhead | Not stated |
| University of British Columbia lifting guide | Strongest lifting zone between mid-thigh and waist height; only lighter items above shoulder level or below knee level | Not stated |
| Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) fact sheet | Store heavy and frequently used materials at waist height; do not store materials at floor level; leave the lowest or highest shelf unused if necessary | Not stated |
| Penn State Extension decluttering guidance (child care facilities) | All items, including storage containers, at least this far off the floor for easier floor cleaning | 6 minimum |
| OSHA grocery warehousing eTool | Keep the top of heavy product no higher than mid-chest; raise the bottom level so torso bending is not needed | Not stated |
The ADA numbers are an accessibility benchmark for reaching with a forward or side approach, and the page we opened does not say they apply to a home garage. The Irvine chart is written for custodial storage on a university campus, and the OSHA eTool is about warehouse racking. They are useful because they agree on the structure of the answer: a middle band for frequent and heavy items, and a high zone and a low zone for lighter and rarer ones.
Where the top shelf should be
Put the unit heights next to the reach lines. Even the shortest unit in the table, at 57.5 inches, is taller than the 48-inch ADA high reach, and a 72-inch unit stands 24 inches above it (72 − 48). Against the 60-inch line on the Irvine chart, a 72-inch unit is 12 inches over and a 90-inch unit is 30 inches over. The top shelf is lower than the top of the frame by an amount the sheets do not state, so the honest reading is conditional: if the top shelf of a 72-inch unit sits within 12 inches of the top, it is above the 60-inch line.
Our reading is that the top level of a tall unit belongs to light, seldom-used bins, and that you should reach it with a step stool. The Oregon sheet says to use a step stool or ladder and never to reach overhead, and the Edsal assembly manual says not to climb, stand on or use the unit as a ladder. Both statements point the same way. The Oregon sheet also puts lighter items overhead, and the University of British Columbia guide limits items above shoulder level to lighter ones.
A taller unit is not a bad choice for that reason. It adds storage in the zone for seasonal items. It does not add comfortable levels, and the top of a bin is higher than the shelf it stands on, which the next sections count. For unit dimensions across brands, see our guide to garage storage shelf dimensions and heights.
Where the bottom shelf should be
The low end has two rules. The CCOHS fact sheet says not to store materials at floor level, and it adds that you can leave the lowest or highest shelf unused if necessary. The OSHA eTool describes the same issue from the bending side: low racking forces workers to bend at the waist, and one fix it names is to raise the bottom level so loads sit where torso bending is not necessary. Separately, a University of California Agriculture and Natural Resources post advises keeping bins off the floor and away from walls to reduce clutter in storage areas.
Penn State Extension’s decluttering guidance for child care facilities is the one page that gives a number for the low end: all items, including storage containers, should be at least six inches off the floor for easier floor cleaning. That is a minimum for cleaning access in a child care setting, not an ergonomic setting for a garage. The Irvine chart does rate below knee as high risk for items used rarely, and the UBC guide reserves the below-knee zone for lighter items. The ADA low reach minimum of 15 inches describes where a person can reach, not where a shelf should sit. Above the six-inch minimum, the sources leave you to set the lowest shelf by your own knee height.
A worked layout for one person
To show the method, we use three body heights that are our own assumption for the example, measured from the floor: knee 20 inches, waist 40 inches and shoulder 55 inches. Replace them with your own numbers. Level 1 is set at knee height. The vertical spacing between shelf surfaces, the pitch, equals the bin height plus 1 inch of clearance, which is also our own assumption because none of the pages we opened states a clearance. The example uses the 27-gallon Industrial tote, which Sterilite lists at 15.5 inches tall, so the pitch is 16.5 inches.
| Level | Shelf surface height (in) | Where it falls in the example | Top of a 15.5-inch bin (in) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 20 | At knee height | 20 + 15.5 = 35.5 |
| 2 | 20 + 16.5 = 36.5 | Between knee and waist | 36.5 + 15.5 = 52 |
| 3 | 36.5 + 16.5 = 53 | Between waist and shoulder | 53 + 15.5 = 68.5 |
| 4 | 53 + 16.5 = 69.5 | Above the shoulder; needs a step stool | 69.5 + 15.5 = 85 |
Two points come out of the table. Level 3 has its surface below the shoulder, but the bin’s top sits 13.5 inches above the shoulder line (68.5 − 55 = 13.5), so a tall bin pushes the load higher than the shelf height suggests. The sources do not say whether to measure to the shelf or to the top of the load. Level 4 is above the shoulder in every reading and belongs to light, rarely used items.
The next table repeats the count for other Sterilite totes, using the same example: how many shelf surfaces fall between the knee line at 20 inches and the shoulder line at 55 inches, a span of 35 inches. The formula is the number of levels equals the whole number of (35 ÷ pitch), plus 1.
| Sterilite tote | Outside height (in) | Pitch with 1 in clearance (in) | 35 ÷ pitch | Levels from knee to shoulder |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 15 Gal. Industrial Tote | 11.875 | 12.875 | 2.72 | 3 |
| 12 Gal. Latch Tote | 13.875 | 14.875 | 2.35 | 3 |
| 27 Gal. Industrial Tote | 15.5 | 16.5 | 2.12 | 3 |
| 38 Gal. Industrial Tote | 15.875 | 16.875 | 2.07 | 3 |
| 50 Gal. Stacker Tote | 17.875 | 18.875 | 1.85 | 2 |
| 40 Gal. Wheeled Industrial Tote | 18 | 19 | 1.84 | 2 |
| 27 Gal. Stacker Tote | 19.375 | 20.375 | 1.72 | 2 |
The result is a trade. Bins about 16 inches tall or shorter give three levels in the example’s knee-to-shoulder band, while bins of about 18 inches or taller give two. The 27-gallon Industrial tote and the 27-gallon Stacker tote share a gallon label, yet they land in different rows because the Stacker is 3.875 inches taller. Sterilite’s page for the Stacker says the same-size lids on its 10, 19 and 27 gallon bins let them stack in the same footprint, so mixing heights within one family is possible.
How tall a unit do you need?
Turn the same arithmetic around. The highest bin top equals the first shelf height, plus the pitch times the number of levels minus 1, plus the bin height. That must not exceed the unit’s overall height. With the first shelf at 20 inches, the 16.5-inch pitch and the 15.5-inch bin from the example, here is how many levels each listed unit height can hold.
| Overall unit height (in) | Levels of 15.5-inch bins that fit | Top of the highest bin (in) |
|---|---|---|
| 57.5 | 2 | 20 + 16.5 + 15.5 = 52 |
| 60 | 2 | 52 |
| 72 | 3 | 20 + 33 + 15.5 = 68.5 |
| 78 | 3 | 68.5 |
| 84 | 3 | 68.5 (a fourth level would reach 85) |
| 86 | 4 | 20 + 49.5 + 15.5 = 85 |
| 90 | 4 | 85 |
A 72-inch unit holds three levels and an 84-inch unit also holds three, which means the extra 12 inches buy nothing unless you change the first shelf height or the pitch. Only at 86 inches does a fourth level fit, and that level sits above the shoulder in the example. The calculation ignores shelf thickness and the frame at the top, which would reduce the count, and it assumes you can set the first shelf at 20 inches, which the spec sheets do not state.
If you want adjustable levels rather than a fixed count, our guide to adjustable height shelves covers units built around that. Our guide to a Gladiator 60 inch four-shelf welded steel unit covers one example of a four-shelf rack.
How we chose
This guide compares stated figures and does not rank shelves. We read the pages listed at the end of this guide on 2026-10-21. Unit heights come from Edsal’s knowledge-base pages and spec sheets, from Gladiator’s collection pages and from Sterilite’s product pages. Reference heights come from the ADA Standards, a University of California, Irvine chart, a University of Oregon sheet, a University of British Columbia guide, a CCOHS fact sheet and an OSHA eTool, and we say where each page’s context differs from a home garage. The worked layout uses body heights and a clearance that we labeled as our own assumptions, and each computed figure shows its inputs.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying a taller unit for more reachable levels. In the example, a 72-inch and an 84-inch unit both hold three levels of 15.5-inch bins.
- Setting the lowest shelf at the floor. The CCOHS fact sheet says not to store materials at floor level.
- Climbing the unit to reach the top level. The Edsal manual says not to climb, stand on or use the unit as a ladder, and the Oregon sheet says to use a step stool.
- Measuring only to the shelf. The top of a 15.5-inch bin on level 3 sits 13.5 inches above the example’s shoulder line.
- Using nominal heights for fit. Check the spec sheet, because sheets do not print top shelf height.
- Copying someone else’s body measurements. The three heights in our example are assumptions, and yours will differ.
What we could not verify
The pages we opened give no single recommended shelf height for a garage, and the only figure for the lowest shelf is Penn State’s six-inch minimum clearance from the floor. They do not print the height of an Edsal or Gladiator unit’s top shelf, the lowest shelf position, or the height of Gladiator’s heavy-duty racks beyond the 72 and 90 inch values in its filters. They do not state a clearance for sliding a bin in and out. The ADA, Irvine, OSHA and CCOHS pages are written for other settings than a home garage. We could not open Rubbermaid’s or IRIS’s product pages for bin heights, and we could not open BIFMA’s site, so none of those is used. The Sterilite pages do not say whether the listed height includes the lid. None of the pages covers wall-mounted shelves or ceiling storage heights.
Frequently asked questions
How high off the floor should the bottom garage shelf be?
Penn State Extension gives a minimum: at least six inches off the floor for easier floor cleaning, in guidance written for child care facilities. The CCOHS fact sheet says not to store materials at floor level, the UBC guide reserves the below-knee zone for lighter items, and the example in this guide starts at knee height.
How high can I reach without a step stool?
It depends on you. The ADA Standards give 48 inches for a high forward reach, the Irvine chart says not to stack above 60 inches without a step stool, and the Oregon sheet points to shoulder height for common items.
Is a 72-inch garage shelf too tall?
Not by itself. The top level of a 72-inch unit is above the 48-inch ADA reach and may be above the 60-inch Irvine line, so plan on a step stool for it and keep light, rarely used bins there.
How many levels can I fit in a 72-inch unit?
In our example, three levels of 15.5-inch bins fit, with the first shelf at 20 inches and a 1-inch clearance. Taller bins fit fewer levels, and your first shelf height and clearance change the count.
Where should the heaviest bins go?
The UBC guide gives the strongest lifting zone as between mid-thigh and waist height, and the CCOHS fact sheet says to store heavy and frequently used materials at waist height. Both are height rules from the sources, and neither gives a weight limit.
Bottom line
Measure your knee, waist and shoulder, set the working levels between them, and count the top level of any unit above 60 inches as a step-stool shelf.
Sources
- Edsal knowledge base, MuscleRack welded steel storage racks: https://edsalmanufacturingcompany.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/153000070156-musclerack-heavy-duty-welded-steel-storage-racks (opened 2026-10-21)
- Edsal knowledge base, Z-Beam boltless shelving with particleboard decking: https://edsalmanufacturingcompany.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/153000070246-musclerack-heavy-duty-z-beam-steel-boltless-shelving-with-particleboard-decking (opened 2026-10-21)
- Edsal spec sheet, model UR482486BLK: https://edsalmanufacturingcompany.freshdesk.com/helpdesk/attachments/153001476419 (opened 2026-10-21)
- Gladiator heavy duty storage racks page: https://www.gladiatorgarageworks.com/collections/heavy-duty-storage-racks (opened 2026-10-21)
- Gladiator EZ Connect storage racks page: https://www.gladiatorgarageworks.com/collections/ez-connect-storage-racks (opened 2026-10-21)
- Gladiator shelving page: https://www.gladiatorgarageworks.com/pages/shelving (opened 2026-10-21)
- Sterilite 4 Tier Tote Rack: https://www.sterilite.com/product/4-tier-tote-rack/ (opened 2026-10-21)
- U.S. Access Board, ADA Standards, section 308 Reach Ranges: https://www.access-board.gov/ada/ (opened 2026-10-21)
- University of California, Irvine Environmental Health and Safety, Storage Shelf Height Chart (Custodial): https://www.ehs.uci.edu/safety/_pdf/storage-shelf-height-chart-custodial.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- University of Oregon, Shelving Safety sheet: https://safety.uoregon.edu/sites/default/files/safety_sheet_-_shelving_safety_final.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- University of British Columbia Human Resources, Lifting Guidelines: https://hr.ubc.ca/sites/default/files/2020-09/Lifting%20Guidelines.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety, MMH – Layouts for Storing: https://www.ccohs.ca/oshanswers/ergonomics/mmh/layoutstoring.html (opened 2026-10-21)
- OSHA eTool, Grocery Warehousing, Storage: https://www.osha.gov/etools/grocery-warehousing/storage (opened 2026-10-21)
- Edsal assembly manual, model MROP3618W5B: https://pdf.lowes.com/productdocuments/fe18e1bc-f07c-4345-84ce-7fe425fa1c7a/43253606.pdf (opened 2026-10-21)
- Sterilite 27 Gal. Industrial Tote: https://www.sterilite.com/product/27-gal-industrial-tote-2/ (opened 2026-10-21)
- Sterilite 15 Gal. Industrial Tote: https://www.sterilite.com/product/15-gal-industrial-tote/ (opened 2026-10-21)
- Sterilite 12 Gal. Latch Tote: https://www.sterilite.com/product/12-gal-latch-tote/ (opened 2026-10-21)
- Sterilite 38 Gal. Industrial Tote: https://www.sterilite.com/product/38-gal-industrial-tote-2/ (opened 2026-10-21)
- Sterilite 50 Gal. Stacker Tote: https://www.sterilite.com/product/50-gal-stacker-tote/ (opened 2026-10-21)
- Sterilite 40 Gal. Wheeled Industrial Tote: https://www.sterilite.com/product/40-gal-wheeled-industrial-tote/ (opened 2026-10-21)
- Sterilite 27 Gal. Stacker Tote: https://www.sterilite.com/product/27-gal-stacker-tote/ (opened 2026-10-21)
- University of California Agriculture and Natural Resources, indoor pests blog post: https://ucanr.edu/blog/pests-urban-landscape/article/unwanted-indoor-critters-theres-pest-notes (opened 2026-10-21)
- Penn State Extension, Better Kid Care, “Clean, Uncluttered Space”: https://extension.psu.edu/programs/betterkidcare/news/clean-uncluttered-space (opened 2026-10-21)
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.