FLEXIMOUNTS vs StoreYourBoard Garage Wall Shelves: Up to 900 lbs vs 500 lbs Total Stated

FLEXIMOUNTS vs StoreYourBoard Garage Wall Shelves: Up to 900 lbs vs 500 lbs Total Stated

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon in this post use our homeshelving-20 tag.

FLEXIMOUNTS vs StoreYourBoard garage wall shelves is a choice between a 72-inch steel shelf that lists up to 900 lbs total and a 2 x 6 ft bracket shelf that lists 250 lbs per shelf and 500 lbs total. Both are wall-mounted racks sold for garage use, and both list powder-coated black finishes. The listings differ on the wall types they support, the depth of the shelf and whether a hook set is included.

Quick answer

  • Largest total load stated: FLEXIMOUNTS lists up to 900 lbs total. StoreYourBoard lists 500 lbs total, “when properly installed”.
  • Per-shelf load stated: StoreYourBoard lists 250 lbs per shelf. FLEXIMOUNTS does not state a per-shelf figure.
  • Wall limits: FLEXIMOUNTS cannot be mounted to a metal wall and needs wood studs at 16, 18 or 24 in spacing. StoreYourBoard’s listing does not say whether it can go on a metal wall.

The one-line answer

FLEXIMOUNTS suits a garage with wood stud walls that needs the highest stated total load and a one-person install with a template. StoreYourBoard suits a buyer who wants a deeper 24-inch shelf, six hooks and a per-shelf figure.

Comparison table

Only the specs that both listings state are compared side by side. Where a listing does not state a figure, the cell says “not stated”.

Spec FLEXIMOUNTS 12 x 72 in (B01LS016SK) StoreYourBoard 2 x 6 ft (B0FPST7ZVN)
Shelves 2 (two 1×3 ft shelves per tier, the listing says) 2 (the listing says)
Load per shelf Not stated 250 lbs
Total load Up to 900 lbs 500 lbs, when properly installed
Depth 12 in 24 in
Length 72 in 71 in
Height 6.1 in Not stated
Material Heavy gauge steel Alloy steel
Finish Powder coated, black Powder coated, black
Wall types Wood studs at 16, 18 or 24 in spacing; cannot be mounted to a metal wall Stud mount hardware and grade 5 lag bolts included; masonry guidance included; metal wall not stated
Hooks Not stated 6 (2 large, 4 small)
Anti-tip device Not stated Not stated
Weather and corrosion Water resistant (special feature) Rust proof, scratch resistant, weather resistant
Install One-person install; template and bubble level included Hardware included; install time not stated
Room Garage, kitchen Garage, laundry, living room, shed, workshop

Where the listings disagree

The two listings do not contradict each other on any figure that both state. The differences are between the products, and two points inside the listings need a closer look.

  • FLEXIMOUNTS shelf count: the title says “2-Pack” and the specs say “Shelves: 2”, with two 1×3 ft shelves per tier. The listing does not explain how the 2-Pack and the two shelves relate, so confirm the count before you buy.
  • StoreYourBoard load: the title says “Holds 500 lb” and the bullets say 500 lbs total, evenly distributed “when properly installed”. The listing does not state a load figure for a wall type other than the one it describes.

FLEXIMOUNTS 12 x 72 in Garage Wall Shelf (Classic Series)

The listing title reads: “12-inch-by-72-inch Wall Shelf Garage Storage Rack Wall Mounted Floating Shelves, 1x6ft, Black, 2-Pack, Classic Series”.

  • Material: heavy gauge steel, powder coated, black.
  • Shelves: two 1×3 ft shelves per tier, the listing says.
  • Weight capacity: up to 900 lbs total. The listing does not state a per-shelf figure.
  • Dimensions: 12 in D x 72 in W x 6.1 in H, from the specs table.
  • Mounting: wall mount. The listing says it fits wood studs at 16, 18 or 24 in spacing, that shelves install separately for 24 in studs, and that it cannot be mounted to a metal wall.
  • Installation: buckle design with velcro, screws included, and a template and bubble level included for one-person installation.
  • Special feature: water resistant.
  • Not stated: anti-tip device, hooks.

View on Amazon

StoreYourBoard Garage Wall Shelf, 2 x 6 ft (2 Pack)

The listing title reads: “StoreYourBoard Garage Wall Shelf, 2×6 ft, Holds 500 lb, 6 Hooks, 2 Pack”.

  • Material: alloy steel, powder coated, black. The listing also says rust proof, scratch resistant and weather resistant.
  • Shelves: 2, bracket shelf type.
  • Weight capacity: 250 lbs per shelf and 500 lbs total, evenly distributed when properly installed.
  • Dimensions: 24 in deep and 71 in long. The listing does not state a height.
  • Hooks: 6 included, 2 large and 4 small.
  • Mounting: wall mount, with stud mount hardware and grade 5 lag bolts included, and masonry guidance included.
  • Room: garage, laundry, living room, shed, workshop.
  • Not stated: anti-tip device, a metal-wall rating, and install time.

View on Amazon

How we chose this pair

Both listings come from the wall-mounted garage shelving research pass, read on 2026-10-28. This pair was chosen because both are garage wall shelves that state a shelf count, a total load and a full depth and length. Those are the figures a buyer needs to set the shelves against a wall.

The research file holds five listings for this keyword, and this post compares only the two above. The three others are Cuguords (B0GFSQ681M), ThreeHio (B0GX6D12NL) and Jusgym (B0DR478JV6). They are not ranked. Cuguords states 250 lbs per shelf and 1,000 lbs total, but its table dimensions do not match its title. ThreeHio gives no weight capacity in the captured text. Jusgym states a per-bracket figure, 350 lbs, and a total of 1,400 lbs for four shelves, but it is a metal-grid unit for wood, concrete and brick walls. The research pass also skipped an Amazon Basics floor garage shelving unit, which is not wall-mounted, and did not read two other listings, B0G81CP97X and B0FXDXYWQZ.

Prices, star ratings, review counts and badges were not recorded in the research file, and this post does not use them.

What we could not verify

Neither listing states an anti-tip device. Neither states whether its load figure holds on every wall type: FLEXIMOUNTS limits its mounting to wood studs and rules out metal walls, while StoreYourBoard describes stud hardware and masonry guidance without a stated rating for a particular wall. The StoreYourBoard listing does not give a height. The FLEXIMOUNTS listing does not say how the 900 lbs total is split between its shelves. This post does not cover how to find studs, how to anchor into masonry, or how any listed load compares to a building code, because the two listings do not address those points.

Buying checklist

  • Find the wall type. FLEXIMOUNTS needs wood studs at 16, 18 or 24 in and cannot go on a metal wall. StoreYourBoard’s listing does not say whether it fits a metal wall.
  • Check the stud spacing against the spacing the listing names. The FLEXIMOUNTS listing names 16, 18 and 24 in.
  • Decide whether you need the per-shelf figure. StoreYourBoard states 250 lbs per shelf. FLEXIMOUNTS does not state one.
  • Measure the depth you need. FLEXIMOUNTS is 12 in deep and StoreYourBoard is 24 in deep.
  • Decide whether you need hooks. StoreYourBoard includes six. FLEXIMOUNTS does not state any.
  • Confirm the FLEXIMOUNTS shelf count against the 2-Pack wording before ordering.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Mounting FLEXIMOUNTS on a metal wall. The listing says it cannot be mounted to a metal wall.
  • Treating 900 lbs as a per-shelf figure. The FLEXIMOUNTS listing says “up to 900 lbs total” and gives no per-shelf number.
  • Assuming the StoreYourBoard 500 lbs applies to any wall. The listing says “when properly installed” and points to stud hardware and masonry guidance.
  • Using the StoreYourBoard 24-inch depth in a shallow bay. The FLEXIMOUNTS shelf is 12 in deep, half the depth.
  • Expecting hooks with FLEXIMOUNTS. The listing does not state any, and StoreYourBoard is the one that lists six.

FAQ

Which holds more total weight?

FLEXIMOUNTS lists up to 900 lbs total. StoreYourBoard lists 500 lbs total, when properly installed. Both figures are the listings’ own.

Does FLEXIMOUNTS state a per-shelf load?

No. The listing gives a total of up to 900 lbs and does not say how it splits across the shelves.

Can either shelf go on a metal wall?

FLEXIMOUNTS cannot. Its listing says it needs wood studs and cannot be mounted to a metal wall. The StoreYourBoard listing does not state a metal-wall rating.

Which one is deeper?

StoreYourBoard is 24 in deep and 71 in long. FLEXIMOUNTS is 12 in deep and 72 in long, per the specs table.

Are hooks included?

StoreYourBoard includes 6 hooks, 2 large and 4 small. The FLEXIMOUNTS listing does not state any hooks.

Which one is easier to install alone?

The FLEXIMOUNTS listing says one-person installation, with a template and bubble level included. The StoreYourBoard listing says hardware and masonry guidance are included but does not state an install time.

Bottom line

If your garage walls are wood studs and you want the highest stated total, the FLEXIMOUNTS listing points that way, with a one-person install. If you need a per-shelf figure, a 24-inch depth and hooks in the box, the StoreYourBoard listing is the one that states them. Confirm your wall type before you choose, because the FLEXIMOUNTS listing rules out metal walls.

Related guides

Sources

  • Amazon listing, FLEXIMOUNTS 12-inch by 72-inch Wall Shelf Garage Storage Rack, B01LS016SK, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LS016SK (read 2026-10-28, per research/wall-mounted-garage-shelving.json)
  • Amazon listing, StoreYourBoard Garage Wall Shelf, 2×6 ft, B0FPST7ZVN, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0FPST7ZVN (read 2026-10-28, per research/wall-mounted-garage-shelving.json)

Both listing pages are counted as two sources under the owner rule of 2026-10-19. No other pages were opened for this draft.

Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon links on this page use the homeshelving-20 tag.

Similar Posts